F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK - Off Topic > iOS 11 experiences
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-19-2017, 04:08 PM   #23
Danny Fireblade
Village idiot
England
409
Rep
895
Posts

Drives: Women crazy with lust
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Ive just downloaded it and there doesn't seem too much different, but the subtle changes I can see look pleasing to the eye.
Appreciate 1
      09-19-2017, 04:10 PM   #24
ajfoggy
Brigadier General
ajfoggy's Avatar
England
1007
Rep
3,309
Posts

Drives: C63s - S205 - Brilliant Blue
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Warrington

iTrader: (0)

Watch out for this as well, I have handful of apps that don't work anymore

https://www.macrumors.com/2017/09/18...t-app-support/
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 04:12 PM   #25
Danny Fireblade
Village idiot
England
409
Rep
895
Posts

Drives: Women crazy with lust
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, if an app runs 32 bit, instead of 64 bit, then it won't work.

If you look under settings, general, about, applications, then that will tell you which ones won't work.
Appreciate 1
      09-19-2017, 04:29 PM   #26
bodtwo
Lieutenant
148
Rep
470
Posts

Drives: F31 335D
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sheffield

iTrader: (0)

Seems pretty unimpressive so far on an iPad Pro, don’t have my pen with me so maybe that will be the wow factor. App side by side works, will see what that offers.

If anything, some things have gone backwards eg when you go to the widget screen previously there were two columns, now only seems to be one. Hopefully operator error.

Keyboard now seems very busy, drag for alt character is interesting but android keyboards with finger drag rather than touch would have been nice.

As ever apple marketing is a wonderful, wonderful thing.
__________________
Received F31 335D EBII - with lots of toys, may need more.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 04:52 PM   #27
dbramley
320d M-Sport
England
50
Rep
300
Posts

Drives: BMW 320si
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hartlepool, UK

iTrader: (0)

Again only a very small update and nothing really different. App Store looks different. Control centre different, not sure for the better.

Think Apple have lost their way a bit over the last few years and just play it safe.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 04:52 PM   #28
SkyJawa
Major General
SkyJawa's Avatar
England
1137
Rep
5,435
Posts

Drives: M140i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer456 View Post
So I just installed it on my iphone and ipad and IOS11 is a small and mainly mediocre update!
Fixed that for you
__________________
M140i
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 05:23 PM   #29
gr4z
Lieutenant Colonel
gr4z's Avatar
United Kingdom
361
Rep
1,869
Posts

Drives: 440i GC MPPSK
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Stamford

iTrader: (0)

Not a developer just involved in IT and been testing ios11 for work and general beta use.

Early betas were crap but they usually are. Last few betas have been fine and the GM code was released about a week ago.
__________________
Current: F36 440i Gran Coupe, MSport+, ACC, HUD, Sunroof, MPPSK
Previous: 2014 330d Saloon F30, 2013 Audi S4 Avant, 2011 Mercedes C350
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2017, 11:34 PM   #30
planemad
Captain
United Kingdom
233
Rep
920
Posts

Drives: 2017 Range Rover 4.4 TDV8
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: The Democratic Peoples Republic Of South East England

iTrader: (0)

I think the new keyboard is great, sliding down for alt text is very efficient.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 02:42 AM   #31
37psi
Brigadier General
37psi's Avatar
United Kingdom
701
Rep
3,609
Posts

Drives: F32 - 435d X Drive M Sport AT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

No issues with i Drive here. NBT.
It has made my archaic iphone 6s actually run faster which is good.
I hope to have the iphone X pretty soon.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 05:31 AM   #32
SkyJawa
Major General
SkyJawa's Avatar
England
1137
Rep
5,435
Posts

Drives: M140i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (1)

My 6 has got even slower with it, its getting pretty poor lately at responsiveness.
__________________
M140i
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 08:58 AM   #33
dopper99
Major General
dopper99's Avatar
England
1758
Rep
9,768
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

All new features here. Seems quite a few things have changed........

https://www.macrumors.com/roundup/ios-11/
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 10:45 AM   #34
MrChumley
Major
357
Rep
1,114
Posts

Drives: F33 440i convertible
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajfoggy View Post
My phone is on 11.0 (15A372) which i believe to be the GM, I have deleted the beta profiles and restarted, should the phone now pick up the public release?

The reason i'm doing this is because the Watch is not showing the availability of the iOS4 watch software. Which i'd like to update. The watch has also had the beta profiles removed.

Any ideas?
Seed GM 15A372 is now the release build so you don't need to do anything unless you've restored an iOS 10 backup.

Not sure about the watch - you may need to go to software update in the watch app to pick up OS4.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 10:47 AM   #35
ajfoggy
Brigadier General
ajfoggy's Avatar
England
1007
Rep
3,309
Posts

Drives: C63s - S205 - Brilliant Blue
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Warrington

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrChumley View Post
Seed GM 15A372 is now the release build so you don't need to do anything unless you've restored an iOS 10 backup.
Did wonder that. but watch still wouldn't update to iOS4, had to remove the profile.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 10:48 AM   #36
Kev312
Second Lieutenant
Kev312's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
204
Posts

Drives: 2012 BMW 320i
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Midwest

iTrader: (0)

The AR games are great on 11!
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 10:49 AM   #37
MrChumley
Major
357
Rep
1,114
Posts

Drives: F33 440i convertible
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajfoggy View Post
Did wonder that. but watch still wouldn't update to iOS4, had to remove the profile.
See my edit above - does that sort it or have you already sorted it?
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 10:56 AM   #38
ajfoggy
Brigadier General
ajfoggy's Avatar
England
1007
Rep
3,309
Posts

Drives: C63s - S205 - Brilliant Blue
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Warrington

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrChumley View Post
See my edit above - does that sort it or have you already sorted it?
Yeah it is sorted now, I had to remove the profile from phone and watch though to get it to show as an update in the watch phone app. all sorted now. Cheers!
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 11:00 AM   #39
MrChumley
Major
357
Rep
1,114
Posts

Drives: F33 440i convertible
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajfoggy View Post
Yeah it is sorted now, I had to remove the profile from phone and watch though to get it to show as an update in the watch phone app. all sorted now. Cheers!
You're welcome
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2017, 08:52 PM   #40
Christine22
New Member
United_States
3
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 428i Coupe
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Gilbert, AZ

iTrader: (0)

I upgraded yesterday, and the only difference I've noticed regarding my car is that iDrive now displays the contact photo of the person I'm on the phone with during a Bluetooth call, which is pretty cool.
Appreciate 1
      09-20-2017, 09:24 PM   #41
simon.
Colonel
United Kingdom
531
Rep
2,160
Posts

Drives: F48 25D mSport
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Milton Keynes

iTrader: (0)

Updated last night, looks pretty good, nicely refreshed & works well on my 6 thus far. Now to decide if I want the 8plus I have on reserve for pick up Friday.
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2017, 04:22 AM   #42
teaston
General
teaston's Avatar
United Kingdom
3975
Rep
21,438
Posts

Drives: 335d M Sport Plus
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Norfolk 'n' Good

iTrader: (1)

I?ve found a big problem with it, it doesn?t copy and paste mobile phone numbers properly! It adds 3 extra digits into the middle of the number as well as a % symbol!! At least it does when copying from an email into a calendar event!

Edit: Also it seems to change punctuation marks to ? symbols, as shown in my text above! Also it did the same to a £ sign in an email I sent yesterday!! FFS!
__________________
Current: LCI F30 335d M Sport Plus in BSM/CR
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2017, 04:58 AM   #43
JD6
Brigadier General
938
Rep
3,179
Posts

Drives: F30 335d MS+ ACS springs MPSS
Join Date: May 2014
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
I?ve found a big problem with it, it doesn?t copy and paste mobile phone numbers properly! It adds 3 extra digits into the middle of the number as well as a % symbol!! At least it does when copying from an email into a calendar event!

Edit: Also it seems to change punctuation marks to ? symbols, as shown in my text above! Also it did the same to a £ sign in an email I sent yesterday!! FFS!
Looks like I should hold off leaving iOS 10 until 11.0.1 or probably 11.0.3 by the time they have debugged the minor update! Cheers
Appreciate 1
      09-21-2017, 06:13 AM   #44
MrChumley
Major
357
Rep
1,114
Posts

Drives: F33 440i convertible
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: East Midlands

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaston View Post
I?ve found a big problem with it, it doesn?t copy and paste mobile phone numbers properly! It adds 3 extra digits into the middle of the number as well as a % symbol!! At least it does when copying from an email into a calendar event!

Edit: Also it seems to change punctuation marks to ? symbols, as shown in my text above! Also it did the same to a £ sign in an email I sent yesterday!! FFS!
Mmm, there?s some kind of unicode issue going on. It?s converting spaces to %20 (browsers do this as well because internet addresses can?t have spaces).

If you tap the number, it will still dial correctly as the phone app just ignores spaces and %20s.

I?ll send a bug report.
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST