F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Transfer audio files from F10 HD to F30 HD
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-14-2012, 02:29 AM   #1
Robin_NL
S0THPAW
Robin_NL's Avatar
Netherlands
82
Rep
4,696
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M , Assetto Corsa
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Netherlands, Europe

iTrader: (0)

Transfer audio files from F10 HD to F30 HD

All the audio files on my harddisk in my current F10 I want to transfer to my new F30 when it has arrived.

I think this is possible in an easy way?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 02:43 AM   #2
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Your F10 Owners Manual should show you how to backup your music collection on USB

I would think you can then just load that USB onto the F30
It definitely works between F10 and F10, so would think it would work with the F30
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 03:35 AM   #3
Robin_NL
S0THPAW
Robin_NL's Avatar
Netherlands
82
Rep
4,696
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M , Assetto Corsa
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Netherlands, Europe

iTrader: (0)

Thanx E90Fleet, I 'll take a look at it.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 04:18 AM   #4
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

What is the capacity of F30 HD ( non-NAV Screen ) ?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 04:19 AM   #5
bl@ster
First Lieutenant
bl@ster's Avatar
15
Rep
357
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
What is the capacity of F30 HD ( non-NAV Screen ) ?
I'd like to know this too. Just searched the manual and came up empty.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 05:32 AM   #6
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
What is the capacity of F30 HD ( non-NAV Screen ) ?
Its the standard Toshiba 80GB Automotive Hard Drive that BMW uses in other models

12GB is set aside for Music
The rest goes to the Operating System,Navigation, Voice Control, ect
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 05:41 AM   #7
bl@ster
First Lieutenant
bl@ster's Avatar
15
Rep
357
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Can we swap it out with a larger drive?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 05:49 AM   #8
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl@ster View Post
Can we swap it out with a larger drive?
No, i have not seen anyone being able to do this
You need a Automotive rated drive and one that fits in the slot.

The programming on the system is also set for this particular drive.


Just plug in a large USB drive in the glovebox for extra space
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 06:42 AM   #9
Rdx
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Same operation OS, same HDD, same capacity (IF! both are PRO NAVI). You should be able to do that in the same way you've uploaded it to the HDD (as E90Fleet mentioned, with your backup function).
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 08:06 AM   #10
Robin_NL
S0THPAW
Robin_NL's Avatar
Netherlands
82
Rep
4,696
Posts

 
Drives: AW 1M , Assetto Corsa
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: The Netherlands, Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdx View Post
Same operation OS, same HDD, same capacity (IF! both are PRO NAVI). You should be able to do that in the same way you've uploaded it to the HDD (as E90Fleet mentioned, with your backup function).
>80% is uploaded from CDs, so when I have to do that again, I 'll be busy for a long time. I'd better use a usb stick then. Which port or where it's located I'll figure out.(under amrest? If any? Or glovebox?)
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 09:26 AM   #11
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

Thanks but are you sure if this also applies to Non-NAV Small Standard Screen ? I heard that with the small non nav screen you can't save music to car's hard drive.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 09:58 AM   #12
Rdx
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Hood View Post
>80% is uploaded from CDs, so when I have to do that again, I 'll be busy for a long time. I'd better use a usb stick then. Which port or where it's located I'll figure out.(under amrest? If any? Or glovebox?)
Ah sorry. Did not knew that. You can only upload and download music to/from the main system HDD with the USB connector in your glovebox.

The glovebox USB can be used to store car profiles too. That is kind of a funny feature (you can create a profile online with your personal settings, download it and put it on an USB stick).

Edit addition to that mentioned above, ALL new F series have the glovebox USB. This way down or upgrading from series isn't a problem anymore (even the F20 has it). But, again, you need pro navi afaik to store music.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
Thanks but are you sure if this also applies to Non-NAV Small Standard Screen ? I heard that with the small non nav screen you can't save music to car's hard drive.
This doesn't apply to the small navi screen afaik. The small screen uses a little flash memory to store map data instead of a HDD.

Last edited by Rdx; 02-14-2012 at 10:05 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 10:08 AM   #13
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

Thank you then I ll just use my iPhone for music . One last question ;
Do you know about the "6NH" Option ?
Does it let me connect my iPhone with original apple usb cable and then see my playlists and tracks on iDrive ? Also at the same time can I use bluetooth for calls ?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 10:28 AM   #14
Rdx
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
Thank you then I ll just use my iPhone for music . One last question ;
Do you know about the "6NH" Option ?
Does it let me connect my iPhone with original apple usb cable and then see my playlists and tracks on iDrive ? Also at the same time can I use bluetooth for calls ?
I can understand, I use my iPhone all the time for music. I've ordered an F30 with iPhone dock-adapter because I just like to have music on one place. I buy music with iTunes, it's on my Phone, so why do I need something else for it?

The 6HN is required for bluetooth calls. All new F series are equipped with bluetooth standard (EU regulations, thats the 6NH option).

Regarding your question if you need the Y-cable or just can use the iPhone cable; I'm not sure. I've drove a basic-bluetooth F10 a month ago, I was able to use my iPhone adapter cable for playing music. So, I would say yes but I wasn't informed about the options that car has (Something in me is telling me you need option 6NL for that).

I'm not helping you with this I think, haha. I'm sorry.

Edit: http://www.f30post.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=179
He says you can use USB for music

Last edited by Rdx; 02-14-2012 at 10:34 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 10:46 AM   #15
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

Thank you. I have been wondering about this for a long time and got mixed up with all the options. I have already ordered my F30 last week with option 6NH. They say it will go into production in March and be delivered around May. What about your production and delivery dates to Netherlands ? Is there any way we can track the process ?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 12:09 PM   #16
Rdx
Private
0
Rep
96
Posts

 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
Thank you. I have been wondering about this for a long time and got mixed up with all the options. I have already ordered my F30 last week with option 6NH. They say it will go into production in March and be delivered around May. What about your production and delivery dates to Netherlands ? Is there any way we can track the process ?
Mine goes in production in March and will be delivered in the beginning/mid of April. I was not able to track it, but after all, it is just a little 2 months waiting for me.

The delivery date in The Netherlands is now around end May/June for almost all models because of populair demand. After the introduction the sales go up big time.
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 01:57 PM   #17
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdx View Post
Regarding your question if you need the Y-cable or just can use the iPhone cable; I'm not sure. I've drove a basic-bluetooth F10 a month ago, I was able to use my iPhone adapter cable for playing music. So, I would say yes but I wasn't informed about the options that car has (Something in me is telling me you need option 6NL for that).
To use the Original Apple USB cable and not the Y-Cable the car needs to be equiped with a combox.

In the USA the F30 does not come standard with it (6NH)
6NH needs the Y cable

Option 6NL (Assist with enhanced Bluetooth and USB) and also 609 (navigation) add combox

With combox the USB connection from the Iphone/Ipod will work
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 01:59 PM   #18
justinnum1
Brigadier General
63
Rep
4,007
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i Msport
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Can i just plug a USB thumb drive with songs on it into the usb thing in the center console? i dont have nav
__________________
F30 335i Msport Estoril Blue/Black leather sport auto. black grills, Performance Exhaust, HK,
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 02:08 PM   #19
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by justinnum1 View Post
Can i just plug a USB thumb drive with songs on it into the usb thing in the center console? i dont have nav
Yes
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 02:09 PM   #20
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

I have already ordered last week with 6NH. I think it sucks that I have to use the Y cable because the sound will be transferred by AUX right ? So the sound quality will suck ?
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 02:21 PM   #21
E90Fleet
Major General
South Africa
157
Rep
8,098
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: South Africa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Can I. View Post
I have already ordered last week with 6NH. I think it sucks that I have to use the Y cable because the sound will be transferred by AUX right ? So the sound quality will suck ?
Never heard many complaints about the Y-Cable audio quality on the E90
You should be fine.
But you probably wont have album cover display
__________________
Nominated: Member of the Year, Most Contributing Member


BMW if you are reading, I need a job
Appreciate 0
      02-14-2012, 02:32 PM   #22
Can258
Private First Class
Can258's Avatar
Turkey
4
Rep
150
Posts

 
Drives: F30 & E53
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

I read this somewhere and I am totally confused :

If your car was production before 9/2010: it will come with a Y cable, because it would require that to connect your ipod to the usb&aux port. If it doesn't, make sure to ask the dealer for one as it should be included if you had ipod/usb option in the car.

If your car was produced 9/2010 and newer: it will not come with a Y cable. To connect the ipod to the USB port, all you require is a regular ipod cable you would use to connect the ipod to the computer. The cable which your ipod came with to connect to your computer will do just fine.

If you don't have a spare ipod USB cable right now, you COULD for the meantime use the Y cable you use in the Z4 to connect your ipod to the car, just connect both USB and AUX input like you do in your Z4, until you can get a new ipod/USB cable from the apple store/local Electronics store. A basic ipod - usb computer connector will suffice.

Also this :

"
Originally Posted by 3284me
2011 models don't need the Y adapter. Just use the white cable supplied with your iPod.
I have thoroughly tested this and 3284me is 100% correct. In my 2011 328i vert, plugging in the white cable from my iPod/iPhone into the USB port works EXACTLY the same as the BMW Y cable which I also have, that plugs into the USB and miniplug aux port. DO NOT buy the Y cable. If they give it to you, accept it with smiles, use it if you want, or use your apple cable."

I can vouch for this information, as my February 2011 production car has the ipod/usb connection in it and I was able to connect my ipod and my friend's iphone using a regular white iphone/ipod usb cable that I got from apple when I bought an ipod, and it worked just fine. It showed my playlists and music information in the idrive. :-)
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST