F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Speed limit info, acoustic warning sound?
RW Carbon
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-29-2012, 02:46 PM   #1
Nero7
Second Lieutenant
 
Nero7's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Question Speed limit info, acoustic warning sound?

I read on a swedish BMW forum that if you have "Speed limit information" (se pic below) and when you exceed the speed limit you hear a acoustic warning sound, is this true? If it's true then I dont want this in my car.
Attached Images
 
__________________

/// M-Sport 328i // Packages -- Adaptive Drive-- Drive Comfort -- Function -- Visibility // 19" 403M // M-Sport Brakes // Harman Kardon // Head Up Display ///

Last edited by Nero7; 03-01-2012 at 02:53 AM.
Nero7 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 04:41 PM   #2
shoptb
Captain
 
shoptb's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 328i MSport EBII 8A
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus OH

Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nero7 View Post
I read on a swedish BMW forum that if you have "Speed limit information" (se pic below) and when you exceed the speed limit you hear a acoustic warning sound, is this true?
I would imagine that you can deactivate the warning. However, I've been unable to find any configuration information on this option in the 2012 F30 owner's manual. Anyone have this option on their 2012 yet?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
'13 F30 328i, 8SA, EBII, ZMM, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP, ZDA, ZCW, ZDH
shoptb is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 04:51 PM   #3
Rdx
Private
 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

It doesn't give a acoustic warning sound. The acoustic warning sound is a 'special' option you can set in the iDrive. If I'm correct the E90 has this iDrive option currently too.
Rdx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
Nero7
Second Lieutenant
 
Nero7's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden

Posts: 250
iTrader: (0)

Ok, nice to hear that you can deactivate the warning
__________________

/// M-Sport 328i // Packages -- Adaptive Drive-- Drive Comfort -- Function -- Visibility // 19" 403M // M-Sport Brakes // Harman Kardon // Head Up Display ///
Nero7 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 05:10 PM   #5
robbieracer
Private
 
Drives: 2014 535d
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

It's no big deal, you can set it to whatever speed you want. I was playing around with this while my wife was driving the car last weekend. It was at 71 mph, I then changed it to 60 mph and a warning light and beep came on, I then set it to 85 mph.
robbieracer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 05:37 PM   #6
svache
Lieutenant Colonel
 
svache's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 1,881
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieracer View Post
It's no big deal, you can set it to whatever speed you want. I was playing around with this while my wife was driving the car last weekend. It was at 71 mph, I then changed it to 60 mph and a warning light and beep came on, I then set it to 85 mph.
Is this the speed limit info that reads the speed signs on the street?
__________________
F30 328i Luxury w/ Mojave metallic, beige interior (timeline)


Note: Many PM me for links to the software needed to code. Please note that I do not have download links to this software. Your best bet is using the search function in the coding thread
svache is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 05:45 PM   #7
robbieracer
Private
 
Drives: 2014 535d
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento, CA

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

The car we were test driving didn't have the "speed limit info" option that displays the actual speed limit on the head-up display. I was just messing around with the iDrive/NAV and found it in there and played around with it a little. Even if the car had that option I'd imagine you could still set it to any max speed you want and it wouldn't alarm until you hit that set point.
robbieracer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 09:30 PM   #8
shoptb
Captain
 
shoptb's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 328i MSport EBII 8A
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus OH

Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieracer View Post
The car we were test driving didn't have the "speed limit info" option that displays the actual speed limit on the head-up display. I was just messing around with the iDrive/NAV and found it in there and played around with it a little. Even if the car had that option I'd imagine you could still set it to any max speed you want and it wouldn't alarm until you hit that set point.
You're talking about the 'Limit' function that's been available on BMWs since the 1980s. The Speed Limit Info is a new function for the 3ER in the F30 that uses the front-mounted camera to read the actual speed limits from posted signs on the roadway. That's what is displayed in the original post, not the 'Limit' function in the On-Board Computer.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
'13 F30 328i, 8SA, EBII, ZMM, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP, ZDA, ZCW, ZDH
shoptb is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 10:07 PM   #9
svache
Lieutenant Colonel
 
svache's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 1,881
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieracer View Post
The car we were test driving didn't have the "speed limit info" option that displays the actual speed limit on the head-up display. I was just messing around with the iDrive/NAV and found it in there and played around with it a little. Even if the car had that option I'd imagine you could still set it to any max speed you want and it wouldn't alarm until you hit that set point.
That's the thing, they're talking about the auto recognized street signs, if that causes any sound signals, not the manually enabled speed limit info

Hopefully it is indeed possible to either set the speed limits up until when you want to hear no sound, or if to turn the sound on/off or something. I cannot imagine it is not possible but, then again, you never know lol
__________________
F30 328i Luxury w/ Mojave metallic, beige interior (timeline)


Note: Many PM me for links to the software needed to code. Please note that I do not have download links to this software. Your best bet is using the search function in the coding thread
svache is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-29-2012, 11:55 PM   #10
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

Posts: 3,451
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdx View Post
If I'm correct the E90 has this iDrive option currently too.
Yes it does. Used it once on my E90. The Merc actually limits your top speed selected.
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
David328M-Sport is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 03:56 AM   #11
Rdx
Private
 
Drives: F30 320i
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NL

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by svache View Post
That's the thing, they're talking about the auto recognized street signs, if that causes any sound signals, not the manually enabled speed limit info

Hopefully it is indeed possible to either set the speed limits up until when you want to hear no sound, or if to turn the sound on/off or something. I cannot imagine it is not possible but, then again, you never know lol
The case is; it doesn't make any sounds.

The iDrive option does. Sorry for the confusion
Rdx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 07:19 AM   #12
svache
Lieutenant Colonel
 
svache's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hawaii

Posts: 1,881
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdx View Post
The case is; it doesn't make any sounds.

The iDrive option does. Sorry for the confusion
That's ok, thanks
__________________
F30 328i Luxury w/ Mojave metallic, beige interior (timeline)


Note: Many PM me for links to the software needed to code. Please note that I do not have download links to this software. Your best bet is using the search function in the coding thread
svache is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2012, 08:31 AM   #13
PrinceBarin
Major
 
Drives: 430D
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Birmingham, UK

Posts: 1,265
iTrader: (0)

My Audi has something similar. It's good for reminding you if your speed has crept up on long motorway/highway journeys. It doesn't stop me going past the pre-set limit though.
PrinceBarin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2012, 07:09 AM   #14
riku2
Registered
 
Drives: f10
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: finland

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

I have the speed limit info system in my F10, but the speed limit warning you set in i-drive is quite separate to it and doesn't depend on the speed limit the speed limit info system has captured from the camera/navigation system.

it would make much more sense if the speed limit warning was based on the speed limit the camera system found (eg you are x km/h over the posted limit and you choose what "x" is). They should have made these two parts of the software talk to each other then it would be more useful.

However considering how innacurate the speed limit info system is (accurate about 70% of the time in Finland) then the warnings would not be that reliable (mistakes are made both in over and under estimating the posted speed limit).
riku2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2012, 07:18 AM   #15
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

Posts: 3,451
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rdx View Post
If I'm correct the E90 has this iDrive option currently too.
You are, it does, I never use it.
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
David328M-Sport is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2012, 02:50 PM   #16
crowed
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Sorry to bump this old thread up-- but a quick question on the 'Speed Limit Info' option.

Does BMW ONLY rely on the cameras to pick up speed limits, or does it use some historical data from the navigation like other GPS (i.e. my Garmin, without cameras, still displays speed limits for every road I am on.) I think it would be more useful if the cameras are used to only UPDATE this info, in case the historical data is incorrect.

Best,
crow
crowed is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2012, 03:03 PM   #17
RobUK
Major
 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK

Posts: 1,095
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The Speed Limit display (8TH) option in my F30 uses both the camera mounted in the rear view mirror to detect speed limit signs (as well as temporary speed limit signs and variable speed limit signs on gantries), and the information stored in the satnav (in the UK this option can only be chosen in combination with satnav).

As to the audible warning, this can be set to either a specific speed, e.g. 75mph, or the current speed of the vehicle, or whatever the speed limit is as detected by the Speed Limit display, or it can be switched off altogether.

In the few miles I've done I'd say the Speed Limit display is accurate most of the time, plus it picks up changes within a few yards.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
RobUK is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-05-2012, 04:11 PM   #18
crowed
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobUK View Post
The Speed Limit display (8TH) option in my F30 uses both the camera mounted in the rear view mirror to detect speed limit signs (as well as temporary speed limit signs and variable speed limit signs on gantries), and the information stored in the satnav (in the UK this option can only be chosen in combination with satnav).

As to the audible warning, this can be set to either a specific speed, e.g. 75mph, or the current speed of the vehicle, or whatever the speed limit is as detected by the Speed Limit display, or it can be switched off altogether.

In the few miles I've done I'd say the Speed Limit display is accurate most of the time, plus it picks up changes within a few yards.
Thanks for the clarification! Does the nav-screen also show the speed limit info for the road you are currently on, or does it only appear on the HUD? I was wondering if I needed to get the 'Speed Limit Info' option to display data stored in the navigation. I don't really care about having it pop-up on the HUD if it will show up in the nav screen anyway
crowed is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 01:28 PM   #19
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowed View Post
Thanks for the clarification! Does the nav-screen also show the speed limit info for the road you are currently on, or does it only appear on the HUD? I was wondering if I needed to get the 'Speed Limit Info' option to display data stored in the navigation. I don't really care about having it pop-up on the HUD if it will show up in the nav screen anyway
Anyone able to comment on this???

I'm curious whether it displays in both places - i.e. does it display speed limit info in HUD AND on the Nav Screen, or just in one place?
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19 M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 02:40 PM   #20
RobUK
Major
 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK

Posts: 1,095
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The current speed limit can be displayed in the HUD and/or in the Black Panel Display. I haven't seen an option to display the speed limit in the navigation display though.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
RobUK is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 02:41 PM   #21
crowed
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 123
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinf79 View Post
Anyone able to comment on this???

I'm curious whether it displays in both places - i.e. does it display speed limit info in HUD AND on the Nav Screen, or just in one place?
I spoke with a couple of F30 owners and they said it does not show up in the NAV-- however, you can choose to have speed limit info show up on the HUD or the instrument cluster (under odometer), or both. It's too bad, since a lot of users who are coming from portable GPS systems are used to seeing it directly on their navigation screen, and it would save people the hassle of getting the Driver Assistance plus package JUST for speed limit info, since many do not want the lane departure warning.

-crow
crowed is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-11-2012, 03:05 PM   #22
martinf79
Captain
 
martinf79's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by crowed View Post
I spoke with a couple of F30 owners and they said it does not show up in the NAV-- however, you can choose to have speed limit info show up on the HUD or the instrument cluster (under odometer), or both. It's too bad, since a lot of users who are coming from portable GPS systems are used to seeing it directly on their navigation screen, and it would save people the hassle of getting the Driver Assistance plus package JUST for speed limit info, since many do not want the lane departure warning.

-crow
In Canada, we can get the Speed LImit Info option (8TH) as a stand alone option for $350. Since I have more time now before picking up my car (November build), I'm tempted to get the HUD + Speed Limit Info (would be an $1850 total option), but everyone seems to rave about HUD.
__________________

2013 335i ///M-Sport | MPPK ON ORDER | AW | BD Leather | 19 M3 ZCP Wheels | M-Sport Brakes | Adaptive M-Suspension | Variable Sport Steering | Premium Package | Enhanced Bluetooth | Sirius | BMW Apps | Heads Up Display | Speed Limit Info | M Performance Grill | Front/Rear Painted Reflectors | Coded
martinf79 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST