F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Retrofitting Instrument Cluster 6wa
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2016, 05:51 AM   #1
Bmwespendn
Enlisted Member
Bmwespendn's Avatar
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320DT E91 Msport 2011
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Retrofitting Instrument Cluster 6wa

Iam gonna retrofit instrument cluster on my F30.
I have just buy'ed a used cluster.
What do i need? What is the most fibre everybody is talking about?
I have CIC Prof HU.

Espen
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2016, 07:51 PM   #2
Level3
1/2 Asian Sensation
Level3's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW 328i
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I could be wrong but I don't think 6wa can interface with a cic unit. I don't think there is a most connection on cic unit for them to talk to each other.
__________________
2008 135i - 2013 BMW 328i
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2016, 03:21 AM   #3
tomsab0
Private First Class
5
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 320xd GT
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

6wa needs a Most Connection from HU to Kombi. Also the old VIN needs to be deleted from eprom; Therefore Special Equipment is needed...
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2016, 03:57 AM   #4
knightsabers
Major
knightsabers's Avatar
Australia
242
Rep
1,319
Posts

Drives: Audi R8 v10 Spyder
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
This is the most cable you will need but I think it's only compatible with the NBT unit.

The MOST cable is the orange one with the Red LED lights

Name:  01458633454.jpeg
Views: 790
Size:  274.9 KB

Name:  01458633456.jpeg
Views: 797
Size:  155.9 KB

Name:  01458633458.jpeg
Views: 807
Size:  184.1 KB

Name:  01458633459.jpeg
Views: 810
Size:  317.2 KB

After which should join the NBT headunit to the instrument cluster.
Name:  041.jpg
Views: 797
Size:  75.8 KB
__________________

Last edited by knightsabers; 03-22-2016 at 04:02 AM.
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2016, 06:07 AM   #5
Bmwespendn
Enlisted Member
Bmwespendn's Avatar
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320DT E91 Msport 2011
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

I do have most fibre from combox right? So i have most fibre output on my cic?
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2016, 12:38 PM   #6
Bmwespendn
Enlisted Member
Bmwespendn's Avatar
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320DT E91 Msport 2011
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

How does the most input looks like behind the HU?
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2016, 07:43 AM   #7
knightsabers
Major
knightsabers's Avatar
Australia
242
Rep
1,319
Posts

Drives: Audi R8 v10 Spyder
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmwespendn View Post
How does the most input looks like behind the HU?
Here's some pics behind the HU & Cluster

Name:  IMG_4166.jpg
Views: 687
Size:  166.6 KB
Original Green Cable

Name:  IMG_4168.jpg
Views: 692
Size:  76.2 KB
Removed the Green Cable

Name:  IMG_4178.jpg
Views: 695
Size:  194.2 KB
Inserted MOST cable

Name:  IMG_4181.jpg
Views: 682
Size:  92.3 KB
Behind the Cluster

Name:  IMG_4196.jpg
Views: 693
Size:  130.0 KB
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2016, 01:35 PM   #8
Bmwespendn
Enlisted Member
Bmwespendn's Avatar
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320DT E91 Msport 2011
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

I do have output in my cic 😁👍 Is the red laser gonna activate when i code the cic?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2016, 08:47 AM   #9
Bmwespendn
Enlisted Member
Bmwespendn's Avatar
1
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: Bmw 320DT E91 Msport 2011
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Where have u puted the green cable ?
I have buy'ed a used cluster, how do i do the steps?
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2016, 10:07 AM   #10
knightsabers
Major
knightsabers's Avatar
Australia
242
Rep
1,319
Posts

Drives: Audi R8 v10 Spyder
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmwespendn View Post
I do have output in my cic 😁👍 Is the red laser gonna activate when i code the cic?
The red laser will light up automatically if correctly connected. Make sure it's correctly connected
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2016, 10:10 AM   #11
knightsabers
Major
knightsabers's Avatar
Australia
242
Rep
1,319
Posts

Drives: Audi R8 v10 Spyder
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sydney

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmwespendn View Post
Where have u puted the green cable ?
I have buy'ed a used cluster, how do i do the steps?
Hmm, good question. I forgot what I did with it. First off since it's used you might need to get the seller to clear the previous vehicles VIN from the cluster. Don't have much steps, just unscrewed the 4 screws insider the cluster and removed the iDrive Head unit to access the harness & routed the MOST cable from the cluster to the Headunit. Then it's all coding from there
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2016, 08:35 AM   #12
Alano_Mpower
Banned
15
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: Bmw 435i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmwespendn View Post
Where have u puted the green cable ?
I have buy'ed a used cluster, how do i do the steps?
were did you buy the cluster from ??
Appreciate 0
      11-02-2016, 02:40 PM   #13
gup
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: f20
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: gr

iTrader: (0)

Hello
I have a F20 and searching desperately for the Most Optic Fabric.
Please tell me where I can order 1?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2016, 12:27 PM   #14
bimmer001
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: bmw F30
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: vietnam

iTrader: (0)

Hello . at one clock as your cluster M I installed it, now I have coded it like ?? you please help me. thank you very much
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2016, 06:11 AM   #15
beanbaguk
Lieutenant
beanbaguk's Avatar
Spain
72
Rep
433
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 320d M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Costa del Sol

iTrader: (0)

I've always wondered if there is a complete retrofit guide to doing this?

I'm hopefully about to upgrade my CHAMP2_HU to an NBT in the coming weeks so I may have the opportunity to upgrade my clocks.

The one thing I've heard is the donor 6WA must have a lower mileage than the one you are replacing. If this is the case, I'm in luck as my car has rather high mileage due to my 200km daily commute!

However, I digress. If anyone can point me towards a guide, that would be great.

Thanks!
__________________
Current car: 2013 BMW F31 320d M Sport w/Bavsound S1 and Bimmer-Tech Premium Audio PP82DSP, M Performance Exhaust, M Performance Diffuser
Previous cars: 1989 BMW E30 316i, 1998 BMW E36 323i Coupe M Sport, 2009 BMW E87 116d.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST