F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Activating Connected Drive, Live & Internet on a retrofitted NBT EVO
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-06-2016, 05:20 AM   #1
Osmansky
Private First Class
3
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: BMW 316i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Activating Connected Drive, Live & Internet on a retrofitted NBT EVO

Hi Peeps,

Anybody has any luck activating Connected Drive, Live & Internet on a retrofitted NBT EVO. so far hardware activation is not working as per my understanding BMW changed the activation method.

Any help would be appreciated
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2016, 06:27 AM   #2
Osmansky
Private First Class
3
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: BMW 316i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

really, no single reply?? nobody has faced this issue?
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2016, 11:13 AM   #3
sandwi54
Captain
sandwi54's Avatar
147
Rep
773
Posts

Drives: F80, F36, F15 50i
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California

iTrader: (1)

Don't you need the FSC code?
__________________
2017 M3 YMB DCT
2016 435i GC EBII (wife's)
2015 X5 50i (family car)
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2016, 04:10 PM   #4
TePee
Second Lieutenant
19
Rep
243
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

NBT Evo uses a different Telematic Communication Box (ATM/TCB2) with OABR communication to the HU.

I guess you don't have it as you retrofitted your NBT Evo. Thus the mentioned features can't work.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2016, 04:16 PM   #5
Osmansky
Private First Class
3
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: BMW 316i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

What i know is that hardware activation works no more, as bmw moved tge actuvation to its servers not on the unit itself. And i also heard some progress has been made on hacking this server. I was kind of hoping that someobody already had a sloution.

Not sure if FSC codes will work with a retrofitted KIT
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2016, 04:51 PM   #6
TePee
Second Lieutenant
19
Rep
243
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

Yes there is probably the problem with BMW server, you have to be white listed there as I read.

But did you read my post above? I assume that you donīt even have the communication hardware which is essential...
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2016, 04:36 AM   #7
Osmansky
Private First Class
3
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: BMW 316i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Yes there is probably the problem with BMW server, you have to be white listed there as I read.

But did you read my post above? I assume that you donīt even have the communication hardware which is essential...

Actually i am not sure, I have it but my supplier says it does and then only problem is the server issue
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2016, 05:37 AM   #8
TePee
Second Lieutenant
19
Rep
243
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

If you don't have stock NBT Evo, you can't have it!

You may have the normal TCB1, but this is not compatible with NBT Evo. NBT Evo uses ATM/TCB2 which is wired completely different (OABR Ethernet instead of USB cable).

Even if you retrofitted TCB2, such a used module can't be activated for your car, you would need a new TCB2.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2017, 02:52 PM   #9
MachOne
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW 330xd 2009
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

Not possible you say?

Why services are active here, moreover, in a E series

Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 10:28 AM   #10
bimmercoders
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
bimmercoders's Avatar
United_States
143
Rep
1,456
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA & Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachOne View Post
Hi,

Not possible you say?

Why services are active here, moreover, in a E series

They probably installed an ATM module from a donor vehicle.
Appreciate 0
      01-23-2017, 03:58 PM   #11
TePee
Second Lieutenant
19
Rep
243
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmercoders View Post
They probably installed an ATM module from a donor vehicle.
Exactly.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST