F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Possible to get without iDrive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-29-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
anon1M
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 97 Civic DX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Possible to get without iDrive

Is it possible to get a 2012 335i without iDrive anymore?

Not that I would necessarily want to do that, but curious if that option is available.

All the technology and iDrive stuff seems to make driving very complicated.

The shifter seems a lot more complicated as well. Thoughts on that?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
bcl0328
Major
38
Rep
1,160
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abingdon, MD

iTrader: (0)

there is nothing complicated about iDrive. it has no effect on driving at all. you can switch modes by the button next to the shifter. so if you don't get nav or anything just don't use it. after a while you can learn it i guess because there is some things you can customize with it. really nothing hard about it. the shifter is just up and down motion. that is simple too.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 04:36 PM   #3
Raspartan
Captain
Canada
16
Rep
693
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anon1M View Post
Is it possible to get a 2012 335i without iDrive anymore?

Not that I would necessarily want to do that, but curious if that option is available.

All the technology and iDrive stuff seems to make driving very complicated.

The shifter seems a lot more complicated as well. Thoughts on that?
Having driven my new 335i for 5 days now I can talk about the shifter. It's not really complicated but rather a matter of getting used to doing one thing differently, which I will explain.

The motion required to shift the car into R or D is the same as that of any other automatic transmission, and even less error prone in my opinion. To get to D you pull back, to get to R you push forward and there are really no other motions to remember.

The one difference is that when you put in park you have to push the P button instead of shifting the lever. That's it.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 04:44 PM   #4
anon1M
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 97 Civic DX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Ah. Thanks.

Yeah, it seems like its just a matter of getting used to it.

My buddy just got a F30 335i. The iDrive appeared complicated to me, and I wasn't really sure what to do with the shifter.

I guess I'll just have to spend more time in his car ;-)
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 04:47 PM   #5
Raspartan
Captain
Canada
16
Rep
693
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by anon1M View Post
Ah. Thanks.

Yeah, it seems like its just a matter of getting used to it.

My buddy just got a F30 335i. The iDrive appeared complicated to me, and I wasn't really sure what to do with the shifter.

I guess I'll just have to spend more time in his car ;-)
I know the feeling. When I sat in the car for the test drive I stared at the shifter like an idiot until the CA put it in gear for me. After only a few days it's second nature except for the Park button which still costs me a second or two while I remember what it is I'm supposed to be doing. I come from a series of manual cars though, in my defence.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 06:10 PM   #6
ramonE90-NL
Private First Class
Netherlands
4
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F30 320iA
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The netherlands

iTrader: (0)

When you turn off the engine it automaticly goes into P. So no need to push the button. Only when you leave the engine running
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 07:13 PM   #7
micknugget
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
215
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328 Red
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramonE90-NL View Post
When you turn off the engine it automaticly goes into P. So no need to push the button. Only when you leave the engine running
That's a bad habit to get into in a car with start-stop. Really bad!
__________________
2012 328i Base, Auto, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2012, 07:29 PM   #8
Ryan9095
Captain
Ryan9095's Avatar
16
Rep
616
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

No; iDrive is officially standard on the F30.

The shifter is the same one I used to have on my 09' 650i. It takes a little while getting used too but I personally like it better than the shifter on my E92.
__________________
2015 BMW 428i Luxury Line Convertible - Imperial Blue/Saddle Brown
2013 Maserati GranTurismo Sport- Nero Carbonio/Cuoio
2014 BMW 650i Coupe - Alpine White/Black Nappa loaded
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST