F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Tune2Air WMA1000 - So Dissapointing!
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-19-2014, 02:11 AM   #1
Chuckbuster
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2014 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia


Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Tune2Air WMA1000 - So Dissapointing!

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hi everyone, after reading this thread here I went ahead and bought the WMA1000 and the Tune2Air Y cable for BMW to use in my 2014 F30 (yes, sadly without the extended bluetooth functionality).

From the above thread and other forums I was under the impression that, once set up, the Tune2Air would replicate the functionality that you have when plugging the phone in via USB (i.e. Album art, and full control from steering wheel, iDrive, etc).

However, all I can get is the music coming through via Aux...no album art and I have to control everything from the phone itself.

Is this correct?
Have I done something wrong?
Appreciate any help!
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2014, 05:36 PM   #2
Chuckbuster
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2014 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia


Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Wondering if anyone here has experience with this device and can tell me if this is the correct behaviour? Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2014, 05:59 PM   #3
FC4
Captain
12

 
Drives: 435i
Join Date: May 2014
Location: US


Posts: 937
iTrader: (0)

I have it. Works perfectly. I only listen to Spotify and Pandora in the car and I control it from the buttons on the dash or steering wheel.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2014, 11:02 PM   #4
Chuckbuster
New Member
0

 
Drives: 2014 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia


Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Any info or tips on how you set it up?
It just seems so strange that it doesn't work for me (i'm pretty tech savvy and had no problems pairing the phone with car and Tue2Air)...but its just coming through as "AUX".
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2014, 04:55 AM   #5
Vitoco
Captain
Sweden
8

 
Vitoco's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 328i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sweden


Posts: 808
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckbuster View Post
Any info or tips on how you set it up?
It just seems so strange that it doesn't work for me (i'm pretty tech savvy and had no problems pairing the phone with car and Tue2Air)...but its just coming through as "AUX".
Well what do you except? It apparentely hooked in through AUX pnly, what signals can be sent other than the audio?..
__________________
Glacier Ag. F31 328iA M Sport oct. 2012
| Sport Automatic | Adap. M Susp. | Pano. Moonroof | 20" ATS Racelight Grey w. Michelin PSS| M Sport brakes | Harman Kardon | Elec. Seats | PDC F&R | ACC Stop&Go | 335i MPE | Perf. Parts |
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2014, 05:55 AM   #6
HFW003
Major
Australia
11

 
HFW003's Avatar
 
Drives: Havana 328 Modern Line
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newcastle, Australia


Posts: 1,178
iTrader: (0)

Why don't you code so you have EBT?
__________________
2013 Havana 328 Modern Line with Xenons,HK stereo, Sports seats, Sunroof, Pro Nav, VSS, adaptive suspension, 19" 401's and other bits and pieces.
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2014, 07:00 AM   #7
smithe90
I've been around
United_States
16

 
smithe90's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 F30 328
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY


Posts: 707
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to smithe90
You might be able to code your car for enhanced bluetooth if you have NBT navi or a combox.
__________________

2014 F30 328i XDrive - Premium, Cold Weather, Nav, Apps. BSM On Black. M Perf Exhaust

RETIRED - 2007 328xi - M3 LCI Rep Front, LCI Hood, M3 Trunk Lip, 18' F30 397 Rims, Muffler Delete, ECS Geomet Rotors, Brushed Steel Vinyl, Full CIC Retrofit, MULF2 Retrofit
Appreciate 0
      11-20-2014, 10:59 AM   #8
fg9ze
New Member
1

 
Drives: 2014 BMW 320i
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: VA


Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckbuster View Post
Wondering if anyone here has experience with this device and can tell me if this is the correct behaviour? Thanks!
I had this bluetooth dongle before getting BT audio coded in my car. It worked well during that time. Song information was displayed in iDrive and I was able to change songs through iDrive as well. At times, iDrive would not display the correct song that was playing through the speakers. Other than that, no issues.

If only AUX is being displayed, you may have forgotten to connect the USB as well. Verify that the Y-cable is connected to both AUX and USB. Afterwards, connect the Y-cable's 30-pin connector to the Tune2air dongle. Also make sure the USB and AUX are connected properly. When I first set up the dongle, sound would not play through the speakers. I then realized the AUX cable was not fully inserted in the port. If you already have it set up this way, you may have a defective Y-Cable or Tune2Air dongle.

Hope this helps.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST