F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Upgrade/Retrofit to iDrive 5 + Apple CarPlay
Vorsteiner
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-21-2017, 07:11 PM   #1
Lonz
New Member
United Kingdom
4
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2016 435d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK

iTrader: (0)

Lightbulb Upgrade/Retrofit to iDrive 5 + Apple CarPlay

Hi all - not a regular poster but a long time lurker. I've been doing a lot of searching on here but quite confused with all the acronyms and process to get a definitive answer to my question.

I've recently bought a 2016 plate 435d that appears to have one of the older versions of the iDrive (listed view rather than tiled). I'm looking at the possibility of upgrading to a more recent software, with the ultimate intention of getting Apple CarPlay after that.

I've done some searches on here and it seems to be relatively easy to install CarPlay onto a car that has iDrive 5 or above, even by going down official routes as purchasing it from ConnectedDrive online.

I suppose my direct question would be: is it possible to upgrade the software to iDrive 5 with my current set up then, from there, install the Apple CarPlay?

I currently have "NCTevo_E15413A" hardware installed which it seems is crucial for some of the potential steps someone can and can't take:


http://imgur.com/IGaApbK
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2017, 11:15 AM   #2
VVlasy
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: 440xi GC
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Prague

iTrader: (0)

If you really want iDrive 5 in your idrive 4.2 car, I would advise against upgrading your existing unit. you will experience reboots since it has lower RAM than the stock iDrive 5 Units.

If you upgrade to iDrive 5 either your unit, or by buying a unit with iDrive 5 stock, you will lose online services (can be enabled, requires new communication unit from the same car as NBT head unit)

If you upgrade your unit to iDrive 5 you will also lose navigation.

I also considered upgrading to iDrive 5, but after reading up on it on some forums dedicated to "hacking" cars. I have, for now, decided to stay with what I have now.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2017, 02:22 PM   #3
Lonz
New Member
United Kingdom
4
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2016 435d
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by VVlasy View Post
If you really want iDrive 5 in your idrive 4.2 car, I would advise against upgrading your existing unit. you will experience reboots since it has lower RAM than the stock iDrive 5 Units.

If you upgrade to iDrive 5 either your unit, or by buying a unit with iDrive 5 stock, you will lose online services (can be enabled, requires new communication unit from the same car as NBT head unit)

If you upgrade your unit to iDrive 5 you will also lose navigation.

I also considered upgrading to iDrive 5, but after reading up on it on some forums dedicated to "hacking" cars. I have, for now, decided to stay with what I have now.
This is what confuses me quite a bit. Are the NBTevo units not the exact same ones as used for the iDrive ?5?
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2017, 03:45 PM   #4
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
240
Rep
1,567
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonz View Post
This is what confuses me quite a bit. Are the NBTevo units not the exact same ones as used for the iDrive ?5?
There are different hardware versions. All of the ID4 NBT EVO's are HW1.0 to HW2.X and all of the ID5 NBT EVO's are HW3.X.

Most ID4 NBT EVO's have the GPS Aerial port whereas all ID5 NBT's don't have the GPS port and use ATM only.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 2:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2017, 03:26 PM   #5
alexlaba
Registered
Belgium
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

i have heard from my bmw dealer that bmw is working on a update for some of the idrive 4 user to idrive 5. but you will have to pay for it. when it is comming, they did not know. but they would inform the people with id4 that came in consideration.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2017, 03:36 PM   #6
Evil_ss
Private First Class
21
Rep
170
Posts

Drives: 328 M
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Brisbane Australia

iTrader: (0)

Can someone explain why older versions can't update to ID5, like older iPhones can upgrade to the latest iOS?
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2017, 05:56 PM   #7
VVlasy
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
49
Posts

Drives: 440xi GC
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Prague

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexlaba View Post
i have heard from my bmw dealer that bmw is working on a update for some of the idrive 4 user to idrive 5. but you will have to pay for it. when it is comming, they did not know. but they would inform the people with id4 that came in consideration.
I highly doubt this. People also claimed that iDrive 4.2 users would be able to get CarPlay, which is untrue as well...
Appreciate 0
      12-29-2017, 02:12 PM   #8
birte
New Member
0
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2012 5 Series
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: LAX

iTrader: (0)

check out navtool, they make carplay interfaces for BMW www.navtool.com
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2017, 08:25 AM   #9
MarkoSK
Second Lieutenant
42
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_ss View Post
Can someone explain why older versions can't update to ID5, like older iPhones can upgrade to the latest iOS?
ID5 requires newer hardware (more memory, faster CPU, etc.). People that flashed ID5 over ID4 had their units reboot randomly because of this.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2017, 10:10 AM   #10
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
240
Rep
1,567
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoSK View Post
ID5 requires newer hardware (more memory, faster CPU, etc.). People that flashed ID5 over ID4 had their units reboot randomly because of this.
You also won't be able to VO code the unit as the HWIDs don't match and will have to set every single parameter by FDL coding which can be tedious.

We've tried doing this earlier and stopped since these units are very unstable and will never work like a full fledged ID5 version.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 2:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST