F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Cannot read coding data after dealer visit
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-23-2014, 11:54 AM   #1
scrunner63
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Cannot read coding data after dealer visit

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I took my 328i in for routine service. I need to recode my parameters. Almost all of the CAFD files will not read the coding data & give the following error
"File for CAFD xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx not found (C012).

I can read some of the files...I suspect the dealer accessed some of the files & changed them. Currently have Esys 3.24.2 & PsDz ver. 4.80 -- psdzdata 51.3

Any ideas?

Last edited by scrunner63; 08-23-2014 at 12:06 PM.
scrunner63 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 04:05 PM   #2
capt_slow
Private First Class
 
capt_slow's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CA & MN

Posts: 105
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Likely the dealer updated your car's programming and your older psdzdata is too old. 51.3 works with F020-13-11-504 and earlier.

Check your I-Step, if it's newer you should PM Shawn for the new files.
__________________
2014 328i xDrive, Mineral Grey, Black Sensatec, Lighting Pkg., DHP, Driver Assist Pkg., Nav, Park Assist, ACC, Alarm
capt_slow is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-23-2014, 04:08 PM   #3
Kafkaesque320
Lieutenant
 
Kafkaesque320's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 320i 8spd ZSP, Stage 1
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: El A

Posts: 472
iTrader: (0)

Should have told them to not do any software updates, etc.
__________________
2014 Black 320i | Sport AT | Sport Package| Misc. Coding | Moonroof | BMS Stage 1 +3psi
Kafkaesque320 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 08:57 AM   #4
f30GTR
Private First Class
 
f30GTR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 AW F30 335i M-Sport MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys I ran into the same issue but thankfully I found this thread and Shawn provided me with the latest version of PSZData 54.3. Here is my issue. I went to the dealer to get my mppk installed and my i-step got upgraded to 14-7-503 which apparently i can code with the newest PSZData but not really. Esys lets me read and code to the car but none of the changes stick. I've coded NTB, KOMBI, REM and the modules will reboot but none of the changes stick. One more thing that I've noticed is my BMW online is gone after my visit to the dealer. Also when I go to ConnectedDrive I can't make any calls for assistant because it says my subscription has expired. I am not sure how both issues might be related and if it's an easy fix on my part. I don't feel like going back to the dealer and driving an x3 again. My back still hurts from those benches.
f30GTR is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 09:21 AM   #5
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,970
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The reason your changes are not sticking is because you are incorrectly hitting the CODE button instead of Code FDL.

Your Connected Drive is an entirely different issue. Go to iDrive Screen and update your Services and it should start working again.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 09:30 AM   #6
f30GTR
Private First Class
 
f30GTR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 AW F30 335i M-Sport MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
The reason your changes are not sticking is because you are incorrectly hitting the CODE button instead of Code FDL.

Your Connected Drive is an entirely different issue. Go to iDrive Screen and update your Services and it should start working again.
Ahh, thanks Shawn. I know it was midnight when I was trying to put my changes back on but I didn't realize it was such a oversight.
f30GTR is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 08:26 PM   #7
scrunner63
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United States

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Thanks to Shawn I'm back in business with the updated files. I specifically told the dealer not to apply any software updates. They reset the brake pad mileage & performed the brake fluid flush. The end result was updated STEP files.

Now that I've gone through the process, I'll know what to do the next time I visit the dealer...first visit in 8 months of ownership.

The newly added Sport+ tranny coding is awesome!
scrunner63 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 09:53 PM   #8
f30GTR
Private First Class
 
f30GTR's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 AW F30 335i M-Sport MT
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago

Posts: 146
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scrunner63 View Post
Thanks to Shawn I'm back in business with the updated files. I specifically told the dealer not to apply any software updates. They reset the brake pad mileage & performed the brake fluid flush. The end result was updated STEP files.

Now that I've gone through the process, I'll know what to do the next time I visit the dealer...first visit in 8 months of ownership.

The newly added Sport+ tranny coding is awesome!
Hey scrunner can you tell the version of i-step you got? I just coded my car back to where I want it but when I coded Kombi bmw_logo to m_performance the m550d shows up. Actually I coded all options like m3 and m235 and they come up but no m performance. Weird.
f30GTR is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      Yesterday, 11:55 PM   #9
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,667
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by f30GTR View Post
Hey scrunner can you tell the version of i-step you got? I just coded my car back to where I want it but when I coded Kombi bmw_logo to m_performance the m550d shows up. Actually I coded all options like m3 and m235 and they come up but no m performance. Weird.
I've seen this recently too. Newer software seems to map the m_performance setting to m550d and no amount of tweaking seems to be able to bring back the //MPerformance logo.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 06:42 AM   #10
Halsifer
First Lieutenant
 
Halsifer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 BMW 335i xDrive M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

Posts: 314
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
I've seen this recently too. Newer software seems to map the m_performance setting to m550d and no amount of tweaking seems to be able to bring back the //MPerformance logo.
Aww man, seriously? Looks like I'm requesting to never update my car, haha.
__________________
2014 BMW 335i xDrive Alpine White ---- M-Sport/Premium/Cold Weather/Technology/HK/Driver Assist+/Active High Beam/8AT Sport
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
2011 Ford Mustang 3.7L V6 [Sold]
2003 BMW e46 325i [Sold]
Halsifer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST