F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Enabling 606 Business Navi on HU_ENTRYNAV
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-16-2014, 09:55 AM   #1
muzo178
Swiss Army Knife
muzo178's Avatar
Turkey
1
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Istanbul

iTrader: (0)

Enabling 606 Business Navi on HU_ENTRYNAV

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Would it be possible to enable 606 Business Navigation on a brand new F36 with the new HU_ENTRYNAV unit?

The car has the new HU_ENTRYNAV unit but 606 Business Navigation options was not purchased. Any way to enable it with FSC codes, etc? And maybe even BMW Apps?
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2014, 12:26 PM   #2
Aritaurus
Major
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
61
Rep
1,252
Posts

Drives: 2016 328i xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
You can check with bimmertech and see if they can get them for you but it will be very expensive; probably upwards of USD$1000.

Your other option would be the load the FSC codes from another vehicle that has this this option and use an emulator to enable it via hardware. This will cost you about $150 but you will need to revert everything back to factory whenever you take the car back in for service.
__________________
2016 328i xDrive LCI
Black Sapphire Metallic | M Sport Package | Premium Package Essentials | Lumbar Support
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2014, 03:08 PM   #3
muzo178
Swiss Army Knife
muzo178's Avatar
Turkey
1
Rep
21
Posts

Drives: F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Istanbul

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus
You can check with bimmertech and see if they can get them for you but it will be very expensive; probably upwards of USD$1000.

Your other option would be the load the FSC codes from another vehicle that has this this option and use an emulator to enable it via hardware. This will cost you about $150 but you will need to revert everything back to factory whenever you take the car back in for service.
Thanks for the information. I'll check with bimmertech and see what they can do.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2015, 06:58 PM   #4
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Long time ago... Did you manage to enable navigation on your Entrynav_HU?

I have the same HU at a 2015 F34 and am very interested to get this feature to work...
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2015, 11:31 AM   #5
Halsifer
Captain
Halsifer's Avatar
United_States
114
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i xDrive M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Long time ago... Did you manage to enable navigation on your Entrynav_HU?

I have the same HU at a 2015 F34 and am very interested to get this feature to work...
Only way is to buy a new headunit, costing in the thousands to replace.
__________________
2014 BMW 335i xDrive Alpine White ---- M-Sport/Premium/Cold Weather/Technology/HK/Driver Assist+/Active High Beam/8AT Sport
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
2011 Ford Mustang 3.7L V6 [Sold]
2003 BMW e46 325i [Sold]
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2015, 02:48 PM   #6
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, but in another retrofit thread some members like kitster wrote that it should be possible as it is the same hardware/HU...

Just to make sure: We're talking about the new 3/2004 and later HU Entrynav and not the former HU Entry ->Champ2.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2015, 02:55 PM   #7
Halsifer
Captain
Halsifer's Avatar
United_States
114
Rep
630
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i xDrive M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Cruz, California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Thanks, but in another retrofit thread some members like kitster wrote that it should be possible as it is the same hardware/HU...

Just to make sure: We're talking about the new 3/2004 and later HU Entrynav and not the former HU Entry ->Champ2.
Can you link that thread? I'd like to get a better idea to try and help ya.
__________________
2014 BMW 335i xDrive Alpine White ---- M-Sport/Premium/Cold Weather/Technology/HK/Driver Assist+/Active High Beam/8AT Sport
2010 Audi A6 3.0T [Sold]
2011 Ford Mustang 3.7L V6 [Sold]
2003 BMW e46 325i [Sold]
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2015, 03:49 PM   #8
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halsifer View Post
Can you link that thread? I'd like to get a better idea to try and help ya.
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...921688&page=53
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 10:45 AM   #9
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Any news or progress in this project?

Since the new 2015 Radio Prof. is also HU Entrynav (like new Navi Business)
and even can be retrofitted to the big 8,8" screen (Ive already done it),
Im still curious whether navigation can also be enabled at this HU?

The HU hardware seems to be very similar, if not the same, but it has no GPS plug and
of course no FSC files stored. Maybe both could be retrofitted and navi enabled?

If I had FSCs therefore, Id give it a try using emulator...
Any advise, ideas...?
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 11:16 AM   #10
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
725
Rep
9,511
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post

If I had FSCs therefore, Id give it a try using emulator...
Any advise, ideas...?
I have donated to your cause.

PM sent.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 03:27 PM   #11
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Great, many thanks Shawn!!

Formerly I have already tried to VO code the HU with 606, but an error showed up and there was no new CAFD written to the HU + also the original CAFD was gone.
Somehow the HU doesn't like the 606 code. Any idea on this? Maybe it has to be flashed?
I could also try just FDL coding as there are a lot of navi related options?
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 03:30 PM   #12
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
725
Rep
9,511
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Great, many thanks Shawn!!

Formerly I have already tried to VO code the HU with 606, but an error showed up and there was no new CAFD written to the HU + also the original CAFD was gone.
Somehow the HU doesn't like the 606 code. Any idea on this? Maybe it has to be flashed?
I could also try just FDL coding as there are a lot of navi related options?
I would expect 606 version has different firmware, so ENTRY_NAV would need ot be flashed with 606 in FA.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 06:17 PM   #13
TePee
Private First Class
4
Rep
128
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: @home

iTrader: (0)

Will it be possible to flash only the HU or will probably other ECUs be involved? I'd prefer to avoid flashing as far as possible, if not at all

And will it be neccessary and possible to flash back everything when I will have service at BMW? Hmm...
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2015, 06:35 PM   #14
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
725
Rep
9,511
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Will it be possible to flash only the HU or will probably other ECUs be involved? I'd prefer to avoid flashing as far as possible, if not at all

And will it be neccessary and possible to flash back everything when I will have service at BMW? Hmm...
Should be no more than just HU.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2016, 01:02 PM   #15
d16 cmg
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: f30 08/2014
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: motherwell

iTrader: (0)

hu_entrynav

Hi ,
I have HU_ENTRYNAV also and was wondering if this ever worked ?? If so what would i have to do to get nav enabled?

Many thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      Today, 03:05 PM   #16
kucsi
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: F21 118i LCI
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

TePee,

you have retrofitted the big screen? any chance that you created a step-by-step guide? did you need coding as well? I assume yes.

Also, what about the split screen that is on NBT? is it functional on entrynav with 8,8" screen?

thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
Any news or progress in this project?

Since the new 2015 Radio Prof. is also HU Entrynav (like new Navi Business)
and even can be retrofitted to the big 8,8" screen (Ive already done it),
Im still curious whether navigation can also be enabled at this HU?

The HU hardware seems to be very similar, if not the same, but it has no GPS plug and
of course no FSC files stored. Maybe both could be retrofitted and navi enabled?

If I had FSCs therefore, Id give it a try using emulator...
Any advise, ideas...?

Last edited by kucsi; Today at 03:12 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST