F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Problem after retrofitting backup camera on F30
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-11-2015, 03:59 AM   #1
Coolala
Private
China
0
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

Question Problem after retrofitting backup camera on F30

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hi,

Ive encountered a problem below. See if you have any idea about this.

I completed retrofit backup camera to my F30 with NBT last week. Code 3AG was added, NBT and REM were VO coded afterward.

Everything looks well. The red and green guide line for turning can be shown, the obstacle warning color box can function normally. The brightness an contrast functions on the interface work perfectly.

There was a small problem. Everytime when I change to use R gear, the screen will not go the rearview video mode automatically. I need to press iDrive button once (press the R icon on the screen interface) in order to go to rearview video mode. Otherwise, it just stay in the parking emulation image mode.

I have completed quite several backup camera retrofits on my friends' F20/F30 cars (with earlier or later production date) already and none of them have such problem. They all can switch to rearview video mode automatically when switch to R gear.

Someone told me I need to do the firmware update on NBT and REM as it is something about compatibility of the ECU firmware.

Any idea?
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2015, 04:47 PM   #2
moaad
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: e53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

I have the same problem. And I have cic.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2015, 01:45 PM   #3
blackhawk_down2002
New Member
1
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ansbach, Germany

iTrader: (0)

When I completed this F30 backup camera retrofit I had the same problem. This did require an update to the firmware.

Even after the update, it still would not go into the camera mode automatically in reverse. I ended up contacting the guys at Bimmer-Tech who sold me the reverse kit and they were able to do the coding over the internet to make the the screen activate automatically.

I am sure that the feature is hidden in the coding because he did not flash my ECU to activate this, but I could not see what module or what code he was looking at during the internet link.

If you are decent with esys you should be able to play around to find the right code to activate this feature.
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2016, 10:21 PM   #4
Coolala
Private
China
0
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

I'm glad to tell that I fixed the problem completely. You should use esys to clear all hidden warning in the ECUs. Then after driving for a while, it will resume normal. My car can now switch to camera video mode immediately after shift to R. No firmware update is necessary.
Appreciate 0
      01-10-2016, 09:16 AM   #5
moaad
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: e53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

can you explain what you change to make it work. because I still have this problem.
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 02:04 AM   #6
Coolala
Private
China
0
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by moaad View Post
can you explain what you change to make it work. because I still have this problem.
What I did:
1. Clear all hidden error logs
2. Disconnect and reconnect battery (not sure if this is related)
3. Drive for a while
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 06:56 AM   #7
moaad
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: e53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

what did u use for erase the hidden errors? inpa or ista?
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2016, 04:00 AM   #8
Coolala
Private
China
0
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: China

iTrader: (0)

ISTA... you can use esys as well
Appreciate 0
      Today, 08:26 AM   #9
moaad
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: e53
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: belgium

iTrader: (0)

can you explain what you change to make it work. because I still have this problem.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
backup camera retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST