F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > F30/F20 TPMS Retrofit
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-19-2015, 02:05 AM   #1
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
10
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

F30/F20 TPMS Retrofit

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hi,

Is there anyone retrofitted TPMS (RDC) with successful story and don't mind to share? I can't find something about this retrofit in this group.

Any help gratefully appreciated!

Appreciate 0
      03-19-2015, 09:41 PM   #2
lukash
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Czech Republic

iTrader: (0)

I'm no expert but was just looking it up for my car too and found this:

http://www.bimmerretrofit.com/store/...product_id=110

and a story here: http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/elebest...trofitted.html

-Lukas
Appreciate 0
      03-20-2015, 01:58 AM   #3
Coolala
Private First Class
Japan
10
Rep
112
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Osaka

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukash View Post
I'm no expert but was just looking it up for my car too and found this:

http://www.bimmerretrofit.com/store/...product_id=110

and a story here: http://www.bmw-sg.com/forums/elebest...trofitted.html

-Lukas

Looks good but actually I'm looking for DIY information/story instead of finding a shop to retrofit this for me.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2016, 04:25 AM   #4
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

Hello everyone,
i have tried to retrofit the TPMS on my car bmw F32, production 11/13 (i have RPA).

I have bought:
4 sensors for wheel ref number: 6855539 and install it.
1 control module TPMS 6855180


i have created and installed harness like this
pin 1 to pin 51 A173*8B
pin 2 to Fusible F147 ( I don't have F132)
pin 3 to pin 52 A173*8B
pin 4 to ground

I have installed TPMS and i have seen ECU RDC with Esys.

I have VO coded 2VB and coded ICM, KOMBI, HU NBT, DSC.
i drive with my car, tpms says that TPMS resets and afterthat on NBT, it says that tpms is not working.

I think i have to reset the 4 sensors with rheingold but i don't know how to do.

Do you have any idea?

Last edited by gribouille1210; 05-05-2016 at 06:06 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2016, 06:06 AM   #5
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

up
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2016, 12:01 PM   #6
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

So, now that my account is unlocked, I can help you finally.
I retrofitted the tpms on my F30 from 02/2014 successfully.
I tried many things.
But on the end only one combination worked.
I installed the control unit 6876227 together with the sensors 6856227.
The connection of the cables and the codings are the same for me.
In my attempts I also tried the sensors 6855539, but it also didn't work.
These sensors are for cars after 03/2014.
I hope this is helpful.
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2016, 05:22 PM   #7
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

Thanks you So much.
Do you go to BMW for activate the 4 sensors ? Or it activates alone when we drive or we make a reset on idrive?
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2016, 10:10 PM   #8
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

It activates alone after a little drive.
You only have to reset the tpms in the iDrive.
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2016, 03:16 AM   #9
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

About the control unit i have bought:
Do you think i have to buy a new one like yours ?

Best regards
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2016, 01:42 PM   #10
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gribouille1210 View Post
About the control unit i have bought:
Do you think i have to buy a new one like yours ?

Best regards
I think there are now 2 possibilities.
You can buy 4 new sensors 6856227 and a new control unit 6876227.
This worked for me and i think it also should work for you.
Or you further use the control unit 6855180 and buy new sensors 6798872.
These sensors should work together with your control unit like i just saw in the parts catalog.
But i didn't test this combination.
6855180 + 6798872 are for us-cars, which can cause new problems , but it must not .
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2016, 04:04 PM   #11
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

thank you so much.
I will buy buy 4 new sensors 6856227 and a new control unit 6876227.
I keep you in touch.
Best regards
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2016, 01:53 PM   #12
BMW3291
Enlisted Member
BMW3291's Avatar
Thailand
4
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: F30 Active Hybrid 3
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Thailand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
So, now that my account is unlocked, I can help you finally.
I retrofitted the tpms on my F30 from 02/2014 successfully.
I tried many things.
But on the end only one combination worked.
I installed the control unit 6876227 together with the sensors 6856227.
The connection of the cables and the codings are the same for me.
In my attempts I also tried the sensors 6855539, but it also didn't work.
These sensors are for cars after 03/2014.
I hope this is helpful.
Can you explain about wiring and where do you set up the control unit?
Do I need to coding?
I want to try this retrofit on my car F30. It has FTM, production 04/13.

Best regards.
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2016, 04:44 PM   #13
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW3291 View Post
Can you explain about wiring and where do you set up the control unit?
Do I need to coding?
I want to try this retrofit on my car F30. It has FTM, production 04/13.

Best regards.
The wiring has been already described above. But here again the diagram.
The 2 cables orange/green and green must be pinned in FEM pin 51 and 52.
If you have a trailer coupling, then you can go the short away and wear the cables off in the trunk behind on the right.
The TPMS control unit is attached on the bottom of the tank by the holder 36206852245.
After the installation the coding is needed.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 04:03 AM   #14
larry_bml
Private First Class
larry_bml's Avatar
Romania
11
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 Sport Line 320ded
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gribouille1210 View Post
thank you so much.
I will buy buy 4 new sensors 6856227 and a new control unit 6876227.
I keep you in touch.
Best regards
Did you bought the sensors and control unit? As I see from realoem.com this control unit is for F10/F07 etc but not for F30 series.
I want to make this retrofit too , to my 04.2012 F30, and I want to be sure it was working for your F32.
Thank you.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 04:36 PM   #15
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

Hello i have received control unit and installed it correctly.
But i don't have received the 4 sensors.
When i receive it, and install it, i keep you in touch.
Best regards
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2016, 12:35 AM   #16
larry_bml
Private First Class
larry_bml's Avatar
Romania
11
Rep
178
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 Sport Line 320ded
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Romania - Pitesti

iTrader: (0)

Thank you. Please let me knou your part numbers for sensors and control unit too.
Appreciate 0
      06-05-2016, 05:34 PM   #17
gribouille1210
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: BMW F32 430D M performance
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: PARIS

iTrader: (0)

Hello,
tpms is working on my F32 production 11/13.
I have bought control unit: 6876227
And 4 new sensors 6798872.
Thanks to atzebmw who helps me A lot.
Like he says the sensors 6856227 are also ok with control unit 6876227.
Best regards
Appreciate 1
      06-08-2016, 01:08 PM   #18
BMW3291
Enlisted Member
BMW3291's Avatar
Thailand
4
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: F30 Active Hybrid 3
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Thailand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gribouille1210 View Post
Hello everyone,
i have tried to retrofit the TPMS on my car bmw F32, production 11/13 (i have RPA).

I have bought:
4 sensors for wheel ref number: 6855539 and install it.
1 control module TPMS 6855180


i have created and installed harness like this
pin 1 to pin 51 A173*8B
pin 2 to Fusible F147 ( I don't have F132)
pin 3 to pin 52 A173*8B
pin 4 to ground

I have installed TPMS and i have seen ECU RDC with Esys.

I have VO coded 2VB and coded ICM, KOMBI, HU NBT, DSC.
i drive with my car, tpms says that TPMS resets and afterthat on NBT, it says that tpms is not working.

I think i have to reset the 4 sensors with rheingold but i don't know how to do.

Do you have any idea?
A173 is FEM, right? From pic, what number is A173*8B?
Can you explain code and parameter in ICM, KOMBI, HU_NBT and DSC?

Best regards.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2016, 01:32 PM   #19
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW3291 View Post
A173 is FEM, right? From pic, what number is A173*8B?
Can you explain code and parameter in ICM, KOMBI, HU_NBT and DSC?

Best regards.
On your pic it is Nr. 9.

For coding you can VO code "2VB" in FEM, ICM, HU_NBT, Kombi and DSC.
Or here the manually codings:

FEM
RC_RDC_ENABLE = aktiv

ICMQL
IcmKod_B_S2VBA = verbaut

DSC
C_Funktion_RDCi_l = nicht_aktiv
C_Funktion_RPA_e = nicht_aktiv
C_RPA_Extra = nicht_aktiv

HU_NBT
RDC = aktiv
RDC_DRUCK_TEMP = aktiv
RDC_FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE = nicht_aktiv
REIFENUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA = rdc
RPA = nicht_aktiv

KOMBI
ST_TYR_RDC_ALIVE = aktiv
ST_TYR_RDC_TIMEOUT = aktiv
KOMBI DSC_MIT_RPA = ohne_RPA
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 04:44 AM   #20
Lancelot
Lieutenant
France
48
Rep
416
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Hi, could one of you help me with the wire routing?

How do you route the cables from the front FEM to under the chassis? at which point does it go from inside to outside the cabin?

Where do you take the 12V and ground?

Thanks!
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 05:43 AM   #21
atzebmw
Private First Class
16
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancelot View Post
Hi, could one of you help me with the wire routing?

How do you route the cables from the front FEM to under the chassis? at which point does it go from inside to outside the cabin?

Where do you take the 12V and ground?

Thanks!
12V comes from Z2*1B Fuse holder rear and Fuse 132.
Ground you can take everywhere. I connected ground on the left side of the trunk. There is a ground connection point.
All 4 cables i wired directly under the fuse holder rear to outside the cabin.
There is a hole covered with a black plastic cap under the fuse holder.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2016, 07:46 AM   #22
Lancelot
Lieutenant
France
48
Rep
416
Posts

Drives: 2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid3
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!

And now, can you help me with how to actually connect wires to the FEM?

I unplugged the connector to A173*8B here, but how do I get to actually connect to PIN 51/52?
How do I safely open this big connector without breaking it?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2014 M Sport ActiveHybrid 3
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST