F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Hifi coding ISTA/P?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-08-2014, 08:55 AM   #1
hidehide
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macau

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Hifi coding ISTA/P?

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hi guys,

I have learnt great amount of information in coding with E-Sys.
I have recently changed my car speakers and wonder is there any settings I can play with to improve the sound.
I noted that with the Alpine hifi upgrade, they required coding with ISTA/P. Does anyone know what that is? Is it a different program from E-Sys? And where can I get it?

and if you know any settings that can do in E-Sys to improve the sound or open up more settings like equalizer, please do let me know!

Thanks in advance!
hidehide is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-08-2014, 09:16 PM   #2
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
ISTA/P is the software used by dealerships to program and encode vehicles. You do not need it for coding of Alpine Retrofit though as you can use E-Sys instead.

HO-Wort HiFi must be added to FA and then VO Code AMP and Head Unit.

Of course the coding won't do anything without the actual Alpine Retrofit Hardware which includes an Amp, Mid-Range and Tweeter speakers.

Name:  HO-Wort = HIFI (Alpine Retrofit).png
Views: 378
Size:  64.9 KB
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 05-09-2014 at 02:08 AM.
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 01:58 AM   #3
thehobbit
New Member
 
thehobbit's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 Sportline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Italy

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW F31  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Of course the coding won't do anything without the actual Alpine Retrofit Hardware which includes an Amp, Mid-Range and Tweeter speakers.
Are you sure? I remember that with this coding the HU eliminate some bass enhancement, introduced to make speakers sounds better on base audio system. So after adding an amp and upgrading speakers it maybe sound better, even without official Alpine kit.
thehobbit is offline   Italy
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 02:07 AM   #4
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
No, I am not "sure", although I'd be surprised if the coding improved the sound of the basic system. I suppose it is possible though.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 08:35 AM   #5
hidehide
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macau

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
ISTA/P is the software used by dealerships to program and encode vehicles. You do not need it for coding of Alpine Retrofit though as you can use E-Sys instead.

HO-Wort HiFi must be added to FA and then VO Code AMP and Head Unit.

Of course the coding won't do anything without the actual Alpine Retrofit Hardware which includes an Amp, Mid-Range and Tweeter speakers.

Attachment 1023990
Thank you for the information.
Since I only did FDL coding before, could you have a quick walk through on to how we add in FAA and VO code the amp and head unit? Thanks!

I really do get too much bass with my new amp and speakers. I believe changed to Alpine can help...
hidehide is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 09:18 AM   #6
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidehide View Post
Thank you for the information.
Since I only did FDL coding before, could you have a quick walk through on to how we add in FAA and VO code the amp and head unit? Thanks!

I really do get too much bass with my new amp and speakers. I believe changed to Alpine can help...
Step 1. Add HO-Wort Hi-Fi to FA:
E-Sys - How to change FA in F-series car.pdf
* Note 1: Step 3 shows to click Read FA and then Edit. In between the Read and Edit, you need to hit Save and give your FA a file name.

* Note 2: The Guide is for adding SALAPA-Elements (Standard Option Codes). Ho-Worts and K-Worts are added the same way, just in a different section of FA, with each section named accordingly.

Step 2. VO Code Head Unit & Combox ECU's:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on desired ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 09:26 AM   #7
hidehide
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macau

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Step 1. Add HO-Wort Hi-Fi to FA:
Attachment 1024187
* Note 1: Step 3 shows to click Read FA and then Edit. In between the Read and Edit, you need to hit Save and give your FA a file name.

* Note 2: The Guide is for adding SALAPA-Elements (Standard Option Codes). Ho-Worts and K-Worts are added the same way, just in a different section of FA, with each section named accordingly.

Step 2. VO Code Head Unit & Combox ECU's:
Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on desired ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Thanks bro.

Just one thing wanted to confirm with you, after "calculate FP", I didn't see [8] Aftermaket_fitment in the vehicle profile. Am I missing something?
hidehide is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 09:28 AM   #8
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hidehide View Post
Thanks bro.

Just one thing wanted to confirm with you, after "calculate FP", I didn't see [8] Aftermaket_fitment in the vehicle profile. Am I missing something?
Yes. It should be there. PM me Team Viewer login ID & Password, and I will connect and take a look.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 09:53 AM   #9
hidehide
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macau

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes. It should be there. PM me Team Viewer login ID & Password, and I will connect and take a look.
I'm going back home to show you. Couldn't get the wifi work with tethering..
hidehide is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-09-2014, 10:54 AM   #10
hidehide
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macau

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

I have experimented the coding.

More background on my car speakers. I have installed an amp, 2 tweeters, replaced the 2 mid-range and 2 subwoofer. The amp is 4-channel : 2-ch on tweeter and mid-range and 2-ch on the subwoofer.
I have successfully coded to have HiFi settings. However, my subwoofer has stopped working, while other speakers seems to sound better (not sure whether its because of missing the overpowered subwoofer or not).

So I have to code it back to stock settings for now. Perhaps there are some amp channel settings problem?
hidehide is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2014, 01:03 PM   #11
kucukprens54
Registered
 
Drives: 3.16i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: turkey

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hidehide View Post
I have experimented the coding.

More background on my car speakers. I have installed an amp, 2 tweeters, replaced the 2 mid-range and 2 subwoofer. The amp is 4-channel : 2-ch on tweeter and mid-range and 2-ch on the subwoofer.
I have successfully coded to have HiFi settings. However, my subwoofer has stopped working, while other speakers seems to sound better (not sure whether its because of missing the overpowered subwoofer or not).

So I have to code it back to stock settings for now. Perhaps there are some amp channel settings problem?
hi
did you catch any differences about sound after coding hi fi?
back doors havent bass signal in my car. After coding hi fi, is it fixed????
main unit works as a kind of crossover. I hope coding hifi will solve this problem.

after coding and before installing amp did you realize the sound changing?

Last edited by kucukprens54; 05-20-2014 at 12:12 AM.
kucukprens54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 10:35 AM   #12
radair
Registered
 
radair's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 318d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
ISTA/P is the software used by dealerships to program and encode vehicles. You do not need it for coding of Alpine Retrofit though as you can use E-Sys instead.

HO-Wort HiFi must be added to FA and then VO Code AMP and Head Unit.

Of course the coding won't do anything without the actual Alpine Retrofit Hardware which includes an Amp, Mid-Range and Tweeter speakers.

Attachment 1023990
Hi shawnsheridan

First of all many thanks for your description of how to code the Alpine HIFI with E-Sys.

Just one thing is a little bit unclear for me. What du you mean exactly with: "HO-Wort HiFi must be added to FA and then VO Code AMP and Head Unit. "

The adding of the HO-Wort is clear, but how/where can I add the VO code AMP and Head Unit?

Many thanks in advance for your advise!

Greetings from Austria!
Roland
radair is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 10:41 AM   #13
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
VO Code:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Right-Click on ECU (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.

This will encode an entire ECU with all the parameters needed to support every option in your Vehicle Order.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 11:16 AM   #14
radair
Registered
 
radair's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 318d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for your fast response!

Now its clear! Add HIFI and code the new FA to the vehicle.

Is there any need to (additionally) modify a CAFD?

e.g.
AUDIO_SYSTEM_CIC in 3002 - HU_ENTRY or
AUDIO_SYSTEM_VAR in 3002 - HU_ENTRY or
HIGH_END_AUDIO_MENUE IN 3000 - HU_ENTRY

Will there be a new CAFD for the HIFI after coding the VO? (I didn't buy the retrofit Alpine HIFI yet. Actually I'm just playin with E-Sys in offline mode to see if I can do it ;-) If yes, I will order it)

Can I see a difference in the I-Drive Menu after coding HIFI?

Thanks again!

Greetings
Roland
Attached Images
 
radair is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 11:46 AM   #15
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
After you install new Amp, you should see new ECU in SVT. It likely will not have a CAFD, so you will need to inject one first, and then VO Code it as described above.

With VO Coding, it should make all required codings for you, so there should be no reason for any additional specific FDL codings.

I have no idea if the iDrive Menu Changes. Maybe you get EQ Settings, but I do not know for sure.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 12:00 PM   #16
radair
Registered
 
radair's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 318d Touring
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Austria

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Many Thanks again!

I owe you a beer! Let me know when you come to Vienna.

Greetings!
Roland
radair is offline   Austria
0
Reply With Quote
      Today, 12:23 PM   #17
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,760
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by radair View Post
Many Thanks again!

I owe you a beer! Let me know when you come to Vienna.

Greetings!
Roland
Ok, your on. If my next car is ED...I'll be knocking on your door.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST