F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-21-2013, 04:30 PM   #2751
XmX32
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

I can't seem to get the enet cable out in the car? i pulled straight down, tugged in different ways trying to loosen it but it just won't seem to come out. Any ideas?
XmX32 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 04:58 PM   #2752
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,707
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XmX32 View Post
I can't seem to get the enet cable out in the car? i pulled straight down, tugged in different ways trying to loosen it but it just won't seem to come out. Any ideas?
Rock it back and forth in the direction of the car length while steadily pulling.

Sometimes it can be a little sticky getting past the small plastic latch.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 05:14 PM   #2753
XmX32
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Rock it back and forth in the direction of the car length while steadily pulling.

Sometimes it can be a little sticky getting past the small plastic latch.
I was worried there for a bit but that did the trick. Thanks!
XmX32 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 06:06 PM   #2754
Morrisadam
New Member
 
Drives: BMW Z4 sDrive35i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hungary

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the many help so far!!!
I got one more problem
I try to change the Navigation, I bought the car from the U.S. but I live in Europe. I have downloaded the Road Map Europe for the CIC navigation, and I also downloaded the FSC Reader and the FSC Tools, but it seems to crash every time i try to read out the information. I use Windows 7 and I set the compatibility for windows 7 But it still crashes so I can not install the European Map.
I also got E-sys
Anybody has an idea how to do it?
Many Thanks.
Morrisadam is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 06:59 PM   #2755
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 892
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Why do you have both 644 and 6NK? I think you need only 6NK.

Neither though includes BMW Assist, so I am not sure why it is appearing, unless it just cant handle the conflict between the two.

You can also just FDL Code HU_CIC / CONNECTED_DRIVE = aktiv to get ConnectedDrive Option.
Hey Shawn;

I've tried doing this again and this time swapped out 6NK with 644 and I ended up with less BT functionality. When I go to BMW Assist, it gives me the roadside assistance option now but it says it needs activation.

I still have a feeling that one of the option codes on my VO is conflicting with another but I just can't seem to figure out what it is. Do you know if all 6NK comboxes have BT Data transfer? I've tried everything I could and still no luck and I've paired at least 6 different phones to my car, enabled PAN profile, DUN profile, BT Data Service and all that fun stuff.

Could it be that my combox is really not built in with those features?
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 08:25 PM   #2756
raj10800
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 320D sports Plus
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
You are in India right? I assume BMW doesn't offer BMW Assist in your country? In that case, you don't need a ghost vin. Ghost vin is really only valid for US (and maybe Canadian vehicle) as their data is via the inbuilt data plan (car), not via telephone like the rest of the world.
Kon - you are right. I am in ndia and BMW does not offer Assist in India as of now. So what are the steps I need to do to activate the features?
raj10800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 08:27 PM   #2757
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morrisadam View Post
Thanks for the many help so far!!!
I got one more problem
I try to change the Navigation, I bought the car from the U.S. but I live in Europe. I have downloaded the Road Map Europe for the CIC navigation, and I also downloaded the FSC Reader and the FSC Tools, but it seems to crash every time i try to read out the information. I use Windows 7 and I set the compatibility for windows 7 But it still crashes so I can not install the European Map.
I also got E-sys
Anybody has an idea how to do it?
Many Thanks.
Map can be updated using the glovebox USB, and you'll be able to enter the FSC code via idrive - this is specific to map update only, so you won't require esys and such?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 08:31 PM   #2758
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raj10800 View Post
Kon - you are right. I am in ndia and BMW does not offer Assist in India as of now. So what are the steps I need to do to activate the features?
My advice to you is read the manual in post 1 of this thread, and try the very simple coding first to get yourself familiarise with the different steps, most people have problem even getting connected (i'm one of them ). Once you're okay with that then come back & ask for the more 'advance' one

There are 3 part to the "Esys Getting Started coding", read all 3 and have some real hands on first
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2013, 08:59 PM   #2759
raj10800
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 320D sports Plus
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
My advice to you is read the manual in post 1 of this thread, and try the very simple coding first to get yourself familiarise with the different steps, most people have problem even getting connected (i'm one of them ). Once you're okay with that then come back & ask for the more 'advance' one

There are 3 part to the "Esys Getting Started coding", read all 3 and have some real hands on first
:-) - Thanks.
raj10800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 12:36 AM   #2760
Puri1
First Lieutenant
 
Puri1's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i 2012
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mississauga, Canada

Posts: 337
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
You have to start with purchasing an FSC code lol.
Lol.. ok I'll pass !!
Just for shits and giggles, how much was the code for anyway?
__________________
2012 F30 328i, Alpine White on Black, Luxury, Premium + Exec. Package...
Puri1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:29 AM   #2761
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by raj10800 View Post
Hi Shawn - how do I activate the above in my car which does not have 614 or 615 - has only 6NH and Prof Nav? Which VIN can I use in my car?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 335XI-n-VA View Post
Could someone send me a VIN I could try for BMW live activation with Bluetooth Networking?

Thanks in advance,

Dave
You need to find a VIN with with factory options 614 and 615. I found mine using random VIN numbers on www.bmwvin.com.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:34 AM   #2762
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
I got it to work yesterday.

Thanks to lots of guidance from Shawn, I coded the Satellite radio to work.
Including successful FSC Code Import and Activation with E-Sys.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:36 AM   #2763
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puri1 View Post
Lol.. ok I'll pass !!
Just for shits and giggles, how much was the code for anyway?
The 6F Sat Radio FSC Code can be purchased for $200 USD by itself, or $250 with Importation and Activation.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:41 AM   #2764
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,411
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Hey Shawn;

I've tried doing this again and this time swapped out 6NK with 644 and I ended up with less BT functionality. When I go to BMW Assist, it gives me the roadside assistance option now but it says it needs activation.

I still have a feeling that one of the option codes on my VO is conflicting with another but I just can't seem to figure out what it is. Do you know if all 6NK comboxes have BT Data transfer? I've tried everything I could and still no luck and I've paired at least 6 different phones to my car, enabled PAN profile, DUN profile, BT Data Service and all that fun stuff.

Could it be that my combox is really not built in with those features?
6NK I believe is inclusive of the USB Port and Combox. My guess is if you use 644, then you need to also add 6FL and 6VC to your VO.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 06:17 PM   #2765
XmX32
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

I can't seem to click the connect via vin because it says no zgw available and when looking at the connection in network connections it says, unidentified connection. What am i doing wrong?
XmX32 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 07:02 PM   #2766
XmX32
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Never mind that ^. But i do have a new question to anyone that can answer. My car is supposed to use the 48.2 data files but i download 48.3. Is 48.3 okay to use since in a lot of software the new is compatible to the old or is this not the case here?
XmX32 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 09:37 PM   #2767
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn,

Can teach me how to read 1B from my car using E_sys?
thanks
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:09 PM   #2768
raj10800
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 320D sports Plus
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: India

Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
You need to find a VIN with with factory options 614 and 615. I found mine using random VIN numbers on www.bmwvin.com.
Hi Shawn, Kom another forum member told me that since I am in India and BMW does not offer BMW Assist here, I do not need fake VIN to activate BMW Live, internet, etc as in my case data will be used from my mobile device with data tethering turned on. Is this right? If yes then what are the steps to activate.
raj10800 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 10:41 PM   #2769
Yobyot
Lieutenant
 
Yobyot's Avatar
 
Drives: MY12 F30 ZSL
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston

Posts: 558
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone found any settings that affect the blind-spot warning system?

I'd love to shorten the distance on the passenger's side lane-change warning. BSW flashes the high-level warning and sets the wheel vibration when signaling to move into too soon for the way people drive here.

Where I drive, we pull back into the lane much sooner than BSW believes we should. :-)
__________________
MY12 335i ZSL with a deep dive into the options list
Produced: 2012-06-22
ED: 2012-07-19; Arrived in Jersey City: 2012-08-23
Redelivered: 2012-09-12
Yobyot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 11:52 PM   #2770
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,707
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XmX32 View Post
Never mind that ^. But i do have a new question to anyone that can answer. My car is supposed to use the 48.2 data files but i download 48.3. Is 48.3 okay to use since in a lot of software the new is compatible to the old or is this not the case here?
Yes, the newer versions have all of the coding files for the prior i-steps.

I have 48.3 loaded and my car is still at 47.2 and I can code everything with it.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 10:58 AM   #2771
XmX32
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Yes, the newer versions have all of the coding files for the prior i-steps.

I have 48.3 loaded and my car is still at 47.2 and I can code everything with it.
awesome. I tired coding for the first time and following the pdf on the first pg i would change the values, save it, go back and code it and nothing.........would you or shawn mind briefly writing the steps to change and code the values?

Thanks!
XmX32 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2013, 11:07 AM   #2772
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,707
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XmX32 View Post
awesome. I tired coding for the first time and following the pdf on the first pg i would change the values, save it, go back and code it and nothing.........would you or shawn mind briefly writing the steps to change and code the values?

Thanks!
I can't add any more than whats in the "E-Sys - Getting Started Coding - Part 1.pdf" document. You need to follow it EXACTLY.

If you have gotten to the point where you have been able to edit the values, then:

1. save the changes to disk.
2. Press the Back Arrrow button
3. Activate the FA (right click on FA and select "Activate FA".
4. Make sure the correct underlying CAFD file (yellow) line is selected (it may move after activating the FA).
5. Click on Code FDL.

When it's done, make sure the summary window says "0" errors on the title.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST