F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-07-2012, 06:40 PM   #507
F30Spida
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i Sport
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys,

Has anyone come across an issue with the auto-sensing lights after removing the speed limit on the cameras.


Last night I make a cable and change the following settings...

V_SCHWELLE_1
V_SCHWELLE_2
D_SCHWELLE_1
D_SCHWELLE_2
SPEEDLOCK_X_KMH_MAX
SPEEDLOCK_X_KMH_MIN
VIDEO_NUR_MIT_HANDBREMSE
LEGAL_DISCLAIMER_TIME

So the disclaimer, and the vision in motion works great, but the camera speed limits remain in force and now the headlights will not turn off with set to auto, even if the hud and nav change to Daylight mode.

Any thoughts?
__________________
F30 328i Sports - Mineral Grey
F30Spida is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 06:44 PM   #508
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puri1 View Post
I don't think the F30 has a Kombi named module in it. Could you give instructions on how you got the Digital Speedo in there? Thanks
I found it, check the photo. I enabled the sports display, but it doesnt show any information. Just gives an option under vehicle info for sports display, opens up, but isn't working.

Base model, no nav
Attached Images
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 06:50 PM   #509
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

I've come across quite a bit today. I'll put all the codes together in a list but I've enabled CD/DVD function on the main screen when choosing between CD and radio. I don't think the base system can read DVD's as disks were unreadable.

I've enabled BMW Live, but am unable to get an internet connection through my phone.

I've changed the way the external media screen looks. Now it doesnt start from the search menu, but different screen where I can choose to search, skip or go back tracks, and select video. I'll be testing out if I can watch videos from my iphone soon.

As far as the sports display goes I have the option to view it, and change from kW and Nm to Hp and Ft Lbs, but I am getting no readings on it. The display just shows up with no needles.

Anyone else have any luck with these?
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 01:30 AM   #510
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Sports display showed no readings either on mine. Screen is displayed plus option to select in sport mode.
So coded it off again for now.

So can you code working Internet or live even if you don't have Nav?

Cheers.
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 02:28 AM   #511
Quelque
New Member
 
Drives: F30 320iA
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NL

Posts: 20
iTrader: (0)

I would be interested to try that out too!

WRT Sports Display and speed in BC, my car is a base version (i.e. no Line) too, but with Business Navi as part of the Executive package, maybe that is of importance here?
Quelque is offline   Netherlands
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 08:56 AM   #512
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by demge01 View Post
Sports display showed no readings either on mine. Screen is displayed plus option to select in sport mode.
So coded it off again for now.

So can you code working Internet or live even if you don't have Nav?

Cheers.
I noticed some guys in the 5 series doing it. Then I looked at a retrofit site that adds a combox to get the internet working, charge quite a bit too. Calling my dealership soon to find out the cost for it. The combox enables internet via bluetooth tethering and possibly a few other things. right now I can't watch video on my screen, I think with the combox I will be able to.
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 10:49 AM   #513
Stokkes
Grand Pumba
 
Stokkes's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328xi Sport Line (GS/Red)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I noticed some guys in the 5 series doing it. Then I looked at a retrofit site that adds a combox to get the internet working, charge quite a bit too. Calling my dealership soon to find out the cost for it. The combox enables internet via bluetooth tethering and possibly a few other things. right now I can't watch video on my screen, I think with the combox I will be able to.
Although I'm in Canada, my F30 is a base model (no nav) and would need a combox retrofit + a few other things (and some wiring) to bring it "up" to the equivalent F30 + Prem package.

The cost of this is about $3900 which isn't really worth it. Basically, if you have a base model, you can code your car and get Sirius and that's about i (at least what I've found).
Stokkes is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 11:44 AM   #514
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokkes
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I noticed some guys in the 5 series doing it. Then I looked at a retrofit site that adds a combox to get the internet working, charge quite a bit too. Calling my dealership soon to find out the cost for it. The combox enables internet via bluetooth tethering and possibly a few other things. right now I can't watch video on my screen, I think with the combox I will be able to.
Although I'm in Canada, my F30 is a base model (no nav) and would need a combox retrofit + a few other things (and some wiring) to bring it "up" to the equivalent F30 + Prem package.

The cost of this is about $3900 which isn't really worth it. Basically, if you have a base model, you can code your car and get Sirius and that's about i (at least what I've found).
I have satellite radio and premium pack, by base model i mean no sport, luxery, or modern line.... $3900 for what exactly?

I spoke with my dealer, the combox is $300. Ordering it today.
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 12:31 PM   #515
089ebir
Registered
 
Drives: 330d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Munich

Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)

Hello,

Maybe somebody can help me.

Is ist possible to install INPA and E-SYS on the same Computer on the Same device in C:\ , because i think
there are different ediabas.ini Files ? Isnt it ? -> because different Interface ?

If this Not work, is it possible to Install E-SYS on device D:\ ?? Or E-SYS on C: and Inpa in D:\

How can i getting started with working INPA and ESYS on the same Laptop?

Tanks
089ebir is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 01:19 PM   #516
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2 S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 3,532
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I've come across quite a bit today. I'll put all the codes together in a list but I've enabled CD/DVD function on the main screen when choosing between CD and radio. I don't think the base system can read DVD's as disks were unreadable.
I too have the base system and was wondering about DVD's.

What if I have a DVD on a thumbdrive, will it play on the screen off of that?
__________________
'98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C @ 13psi(cracking 500hp this summer) +'13 EBII M Sport 328i 6mtFOR SALE
Jamesons Viggen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 01:41 PM   #517
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
I too have the base system and was wondering about DVD's.

What if I have a DVD on a thumbdrive, will it play on the screen off of that?
I'm guessing you mean you downloaded a movie,not actually have an 8 gig dvd file on a thumb drive. To play DVD's I believe you have to have NAV as from what I gather the base system only reads CD's. To play video from an iPhone or something of the sort I believe you need the combox, which I have ordered and will have more on next week when I install it.

part number 84109257150 is the combox. Hopefully it works.
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 01:42 PM   #518
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokkes
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I noticed some guys in the 5 series doing it. Then I looked at a retrofit site that adds a combox to get the internet working, charge quite a bit too. Calling my dealership soon to find out the cost for it. The combox enables internet via bluetooth tethering and possibly a few other things. right now I can't watch video on my screen, I think with the combox I will be able to.
Although I'm in Canada, my F30 is a base model (no nav) and would need a combox retrofit + a few other things (and some wiring) to bring it "up" to the equivalent F30 + Prem package.

The cost of this is about $3900 which isn't really worth it. Basically, if you have a base model, you can code your car and get Sirius and that's about i (at least what I've found).
How do you code Sirius or do you have to get hardware too?
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 01:54 PM   #519
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2 S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 3,532
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I'm guessing you mean you downloaded a movie,not actually have an 8 gig dvd file on a thumb drive. To play DVD's I believe you have to have NAV as from what I gather the base system only reads CD's. To play video from an iPhone or something of the sort I believe you need the combox, which I have ordered and will have more on next week when I install it.

part number 84109257150 is the combox. Hopefully it works.
The part for $300 is fine, but what about installing it?
__________________
'98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C @ 13psi(cracking 500hp this summer) +'13 EBII M Sport 328i 6mtFOR SALE
Jamesons Viggen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 02:33 PM   #520
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
The part for $300 is fine, but what about installing it?
I'll write it up next week. On other F series cars it did not seem to be that complicated.
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-09-2012, 07:10 PM   #521
Stokkes
Grand Pumba
 
Stokkes's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 328xi Sport Line (GS/Red)
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrobe121 View Post
I have satellite radio and premium pack, by base model i mean no sport, luxery, or modern line.... $3900 for what exactly?

I spoke with my dealer, the combox is $300. Ordering it today.
You probably have an option that the Prem package in the US gives you that we don't have on our base models here.. If you look at (based on the combox item number 84109257150):

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...=84&fg=10&hl=1

The combox is for all the vehicles that have either of those configurations. If you look through the list and compare with your car (http://www.bmwvin.com/), you'll probably have one of the options listed from RealOEM.

On the RealOEM page, of all the "vehicles with" options, I don't have any of the options on that page, so the combox wouldn't work in my vehicle. I'm pretty sure the Prem package in the USA gives you the extra equipment in some form to enable the extra functionality.

That's why the 3900.. I would need a complete retrofit with the professional screen (I only have the business smaller screen).
Stokkes is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 10:07 AM   #522
carconvert
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 163
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokkes View Post
You probably have an option that the Prem package in the US gives you that we don't have on our base models here.. If you look at (based on the combox item number 84109257150):

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/showparts...=84&fg=10&hl=1

The combox is for all the vehicles that have either of those configurations. If you look through the list and compare with your car (http://www.bmwvin.com/), you'll probably have one of the options listed from RealOEM.

On the RealOEM page, of all the "vehicles with" options, I don't have any of the options on that page, so the combox wouldn't work in my vehicle. I'm pretty sure the Prem package in the USA gives you the extra equipment in some form to enable the extra functionality.

That's why the 3900.. I would need a complete retrofit with the professional screen (I only have the business smaller screen).
hmmm... I'd be intertested in this but what about warranty? I have the professional nav, Hands-free with USB interface, and CIC-Zusteuerung.
Actually I ony want album art to display and I cant believe it doesnt on a car like this. Apparantly my CA says BMW Canada is aware of people wanting to add BMW apps after the fact and they're working on something... take that for what its worth. Interested to see the write up on this install... thanks
carconvert is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 10:24 AM   #523
SmoothSteeringHopeful
Private First Class
 
SmoothSteeringHopeful's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 328i
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

As far as warranty goes I am unsure. I'm not doing it to my car so I'm not so worried about it!

I am not familiar with the difference between business and professional nav. Were these options in the USA?
SmoothSteeringHopeful is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 10:27 AM   #524
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,120
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by carconvert View Post
hmmm... I'd be intertested in this but what about warranty? I have the professional nav, Hands-free with USB interface, and CIC-Zusteuerung.
Actually I ony want album art to display and I cant believe it doesnt on a car like this. Apparantly my CA says BMW Canada is aware of people wanting to add BMW apps after the fact and they're working on something... take that for what its worth. Interested to see the write up on this install... thanks
BMW has had an official 6NR retrofit since 10/11 as attached:

BMW Apps Retrofit (SA6NR)
BMW 1 Series (E 81, E 82, E 87, E 88) built after 3/2011
BMW 3 Series (E 90, E 91, E 92, E 93) built after 3/2011
BMW 5 Series (F 07, F 10, F 11, F 18) built after 3/2011
BMW 6 Series (F 12, F 13) built after 3/2011
BMW 7 Series (F 01, F 02, F 03, F 04) built after 3/2011
BMW X1 (E 84) built after 3/2011
BMW X3 (F 25) built after 4/2011
BMW X5 (E 70) built after 4/2011
BMW X6 (E 71, E 72) built after 4/2011
BMW Z4 (E 89) built after 3/2011

The F30 wasn't out yet, but it should be the same.

This is to run the Video cable from the 6NF Baseplate to the CIC, so 6NF is required.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf SA6NR BMW Apps Retrofit .pdf (638.9 KB, 100473 views)
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 12:08 PM   #525
tukerstown
New Member
 
Drives: BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LI, NY

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Fog lights

Hi all. Has anyone looked into a way to code the fog lights so they automatically come on with the headlights? Is it possible?
tukerstown is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-14-2012, 07:32 PM   #526
BruceFerjulian
New Member
 
Drives: 535i xDrive GT
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Massachusetts

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

Supplier for the 511 Ohm .6 Watt Resistors

Just ordered a few of the resistors off of this web site. Paid more for shipping that for the parts.

<http://www.newark.com/jsp/search/productdetail.jsp?sku=74C0216&CMP=AFC-NEDA>

Yes, it looks like there are very few folks making this exact item. It was easier looking for a ( 600mw ) in the search, rather than a ( 0.6 watt ).

Manufacturer: VISHAY BEYSCHLAG
Part Number: MBB02070C5110FRP00
Description: RESISTOR, METAL FILM, 511OHM, 600mW, 1%

Makes sense that one of the few companies making this resistor is German, and the car is German.

Vishay Electronic GmbH
Dr.-Felix-Zandman-Platz 1
Selb
D-95100
Germany
Phone: 49-9287-71-0
Fax: 49-9287-70435
BruceFerjulian is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-14-2012, 08:35 PM   #527
pcbrew
Captain
 
pcbrew's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW

Posts: 771
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceFerjulian View Post
Just ordered a few of the resistors off of this web site. Paid more for shipping that for the parts.
Digi-key also carries them:
http://www.digikey.com/product-detai...1ZCT-ND/595057
__________________

2012 F30 335i 6MT - Imperial Blue w/Everest Gray: Sport, Adaptive M, Premium, Tech & Parking Pkgs, Assist, Apps
pcbrew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-14-2012, 11:01 PM   #528
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,678
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceFerjulian View Post
Just ordered a few of the resistors off of this web site. Paid more for shipping that for the parts.

<http://www.newark.com/jsp/search/productdetail.jsp?sku=74C0216&CMP=AFC-NEDA>

Yes, it looks like there are very few folks making this exact item. It was easier looking for a ( 600mw ) in the search, rather than a ( 0.6 watt ).

Manufacturer: VISHAY BEYSCHLAG
Part Number: MBB02070C5110FRP00
Description: RESISTOR, METAL FILM, 511OHM, 600mW, 1%

Makes sense that one of the few companies making this resistor is German, and the car is German.

Vishay Electronic GmbH
Dr.-Felix-Zandman-Platz 1
Selb
D-95100
Germany
Phone: 49-9287-71-0
Fax: 49-9287-70435
The tolerance on typical resistors is 2%, so that's about +/- 10 ohms. Even a 1% resistor is +/- 5 ohms.

A standard 510 ohm resistor worked fine for me.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST