F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-02-2012, 05:29 AM   #947
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,700
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_bmw View Post
Can I code my F30 with a OBDII cable that has a USB conector on one end?
No. It has to be ENET, which is OBD x Ethernet.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 05:30 AM   #948
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Shawn- do you ever sleep? Lol.
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 05:50 AM   #949
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,700
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Shawn- do you ever sleep? Lol.
Not much my friend.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 07:41 AM   #950
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Can anyone post a pic with the car's xenon headlights on (standard) vs. on with the parking lights disabled via coding? Thanks. Front and side (or angled) if possible...
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 08:18 AM   #951
dinnef30
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

Coding with engine off or on?

As far as I've understood it is possible to do the coding with a) only the ignition on and b) engine running.

What is recommended and what are pro/cons?
dinnef30 is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 08:22 AM   #952
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,700
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinnef30 View Post
As far as I've understood it is possible to do the coding with a) only the ignition on and b) engine running.

What is recommended and what are pro/cons?
I keep my engine running always, unless I am messing with DME. For one, it's too damn hot here to be without AC, but more importantly it also keeps the required voltage level on the car. Having the battery drain, or the car go to sleep while coding is not good.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 08:31 AM   #953
BMWs
Private
 
Drives: 2012 X3 35i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pittsburgh

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

Anyone find coding to keep steering feel on Sport? I don't have a mode switch but steering firms up when I turn DSC off (Sport mode). Would like to have firm steering always by default.
BMWs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 08:48 AM   #954
dc_bmw
Private
 
Drives: BMW 320i (F30)
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)

Has anybody found a setting to:
- open the trunk with the trunk unlock button, and
- leaf all other doors locked?

This was the case with my E46 and very convinient as the trunk was locked again once closed.

AND

Has anybody found a setting to enable Bluetooth Audio, even if the phone was connected via USB in the meantime? I really hate it that the USB connection remove the check mark from the Bluetooth audio. The next time you jump in your care for a short ride, you have to connect via USB in order to hear music, or re-check the checkmark.
dc_bmw is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 01:08 PM   #955
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Sport +

I've managed to change the drive mode so I now have:
Sport +
Sport
Comfort
Eco
I didn't have Sport + before and all the others are ok except Sport + (DSC off) is greyed out and I can't select it with the drive mode rocker switch.

Any ideas?

Cheers.

EDIT: The settings are in:
CAF [KOMBI L7_BASIS] > 300C ECO_FDS, 30

Last edited by demge01; 10-02-2012 at 02:25 PM.
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 02:21 PM   #956
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I don't see a whole lot in your CIC that would cover Combox functions. Can you post a picture of your E-Sys screen showing all your ECU's? Just the module names for now, no CAFD data.
Sorry Shawn totally forgot about this.
Is this what you need?

Last edited by demge01; 10-21-2012 at 12:56 PM. Reason: Image Removed
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 02:27 PM   #957
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Demge01 - So you have the option of Sport+ showing up in the display by the speedometer, however, its greyed out and it won't let you select it? Thanks.
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 02:44 PM   #958
demge01
Private First Class
 
demge01's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320ed
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 145
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000
Demge01 - So you have the option of Sport+ showing up in the display by the speedometer, however, its greyed out and it won't let you select it? Thanks.
Yes that's right but I can't select it.

?
demge01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 04:52 PM   #959
TonyS
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: West Sussex, UK

Posts: 544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_bmw View Post
Has anybody found a setting to:
- open the trunk with the trunk unlock button, and
- leaf all other doors locked?

This was the case with my E46 and very convinient as the trunk was locked again once closed.
I too would love to have this work like it did with my E46. Unlocking all the doors when you unlock the boot (trunk) is really stupid, why would you want to do that?
TonyS is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-02-2012, 09:03 PM   #960
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Anyone now how to keep items on the HUD up longer? Thanks.
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 11:57 AM   #961
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,604
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Anyone now how to keep items on the HUD up longer? Thanks.
Just looking around in KOMBI, I found:

KOMBI, 3110, HUD_CC_MAX_DISPLAY_TIME

The comment says it's in units of 0.1 seconds and the Werte value is 50 (hex, 80 decimal), so it looks like the default is 8 seconds.

I just timed my HUD display (radio preset list) and it stay up for 8 seconds.

I have not tried changing this value and I have no idea if it will work or not, but if you are adventuresome, try it and let is know if it works or not!
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:22 PM   #962
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,604
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Another coding that I found on a different forum can change the one-touch turn signal count from 3 to whatever you want it to be.

FEM_BODY, 3064, PIA_DEFAULT_TIPPBLINKEN

change the first label from Einfachblinken to Mehrfachblinken (Werte will change to 01). This enables the second setting below.


FEM_BODY, 3060, BLINKZYKLEN_ANZAHL_TIPP

change the Werte value to the number of blinks you want minus one. I have mine set to 4 which gives me 5 blinks. The label will show UNKNOWN, that's ok.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:36 PM   #963
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

If the units are in 0.1 seconds and the value is 50, wouldn't it be 5 seconds rather than 8? Just double checking... If not, please explain what value I should put in if I want it to stay up for an additional 2 seconds from default. Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Just looking around in KOMBI, I found:

KOMBI, 3110, HUD_CC_MAX_DISPLAY_TIME

The comment says it's in units of 0.1 seconds and the Werte value is 50 (hex, 80 decimal), so it looks like the default is 8 seconds.

I just timed my HUD display (radio preset list) and it stay up for 8 seconds.

I have not tried changing this value and I have no idea if it will work or not, but if you are adventuresome, try it and let is know if it works or not!
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:56 PM   #964
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,604
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
If the units are in 0.1 seconds and the value is 50, wouldn't it be 5 seconds rather than 8? Just double checking... If not, please explain what value I should put in if I want it to stay up for an additional 2 seconds from default. Thanks.
E-Sys shows values in hexadecimal (it's a computer thing). 50 is (5 * 16) + (0 * 1) = 80, or 8.0 seconds.

If you want 10 seconds, then try setting the value to 64 (hex). (6 * 16) + (4 * 1) = 100.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 12:59 PM   #965
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Ok, so just to confirm, for 10 seconds, I'll set the value to 100? Thanks.
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 01:03 PM   #966
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,604
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Ok, so just to confirm, for 10 seconds, I'll set the value to 100? Thanks.
No!!! If you want 10 seconds, set it to 64 in E-sys.

If you don't understand hexadecimal, look here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hexadecimal
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 01:07 PM   #967
legaleye3000
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 328i 2014
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South FL

Posts: 304
iTrader: (0)

Ahhh ok- good thing I asked.....lol. Ok, so I'll set the werte (value) to 64. Thanks!
legaleye3000 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-03-2012, 01:33 PM   #968
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,604
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by legaleye3000 View Post
Ahhh ok- good thing I asked.....lol. Ok, so I'll set the werte (value) to 64. Thanks!
Let us know if this works for you or not.

Is changing it from 8 to 10 seconds really going make that big of a difference for you?
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST