F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-15-2013, 05:50 PM   #2047
KeenDriver
Private
3
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Yes and Yes. I also tried to copy and replace the SWE folder from PSTDATA to C:\ESysData\SWE


Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
You are connecting to F20 Target PSdZData without the _DIRECT after it, and via VIN?

Did you delete and replace your existing PSdZData folder with the 48.3 one, or did you copy it on top of your old one?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 05:52 PM   #2048
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeenDriver View Post
Yes and Yes. I also tried to copy and replace the SWE folder from PSTDATA to C:\ESysData\SWE
C:\ESysData\SWE can, and should, be empty.

Do you still have 48.1? If so, can you nuke 48.3, copy 48.1 back, and see if you can connect?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:01 PM   #2049
KeenDriver
Private
3
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

The version I have before 48.3 is 47.5...just and FYI, this was recoded by the dealer last week. Everything read fine with 48.3. It's just coding the FDL where I have the problem.

I'll remove the SWE items, but I'm sure that will just save me HD space


Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
C:\ESysData\SWE can, and should, be empty.

Do you still have 48.1? If so, can you nuke 48.3, copy 48.1 back, and see if you can connect?
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:04 PM   #2050
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeenDriver View Post
The version I have before 48.3 is 47.5...just and FYI, this was recoded by the dealer last week. Everything read fine with 48.3. It's just coding the FDL where I have the problem.

I'll remove the SWE items, but I'm sure that will just save me HD space
Are you using the Code Away.est EST Token?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:08 PM   #2051
KeenDriver
Private
3
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Are you using the Code Away.est EST Token?
yup. Everything is the same (other than pstdata) as when I last coded in Oct.

I just thought of one or two more things to try that may have caused a problem, but I don't expect it to act any different.

Last edited by KeenDriver; 01-15-2013 at 06:13 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:28 PM   #2052
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeenDriver View Post
yup. Everything is the same (other than pstdata) as when I last coded in Oct.

I just thought of one or two more things to try that may have caused a problem, but I don't expect it to act any different.
If it is me, I would completely uninstall E-Sys, and my PSdZData, and reinstall them.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 06:40 PM   #2053
KeenDriver
Private
3
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If it is me, I would completely uninstall E-Sys, and my PSdZData, and reinstall them.
I'll try that after the other two things.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:45 PM   #2054
KeenDriver
Private
3
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If it is me, I would completely uninstall E-Sys, and my PSdZData, and reinstall them.
ok so I got it to work by returning to my older PSdZData (47.5) and then moved the specific/missing CAFDs to the correct folder within. Not sure why this worked fine, but it did... hopefully this will help someone else out.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2013, 09:51 PM   #2055
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeenDriver View Post
ok so I got it to work by returning to my older PSdZData (47.5) and then moved the specific/missing CAFDs to the correct folder within. Not sure why this worked fine, but it did... hopefully this will help someone else out.
It is a mystery, but I have heard from several people who all of a sudden are having connection issues, but returning to the older PSdZData solves the problem. I can connect to my F10 fine with 48.3 PSdZdata, and I think most F30 owners can too, but it seems some brand new F30's are having problems with 48.3.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 03:28 AM   #2056
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Question... is there a quick way to use e-sys to "read coding data" for all ECU at one go (so that the FDL file will be generated and store in the computer locally)?

Right now I'm right clicking each and every CAFD to get the file.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 03:30 AM   #2057
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Question... is there a quick way to use e-sys to "read coding data" for all ECU at one go (so that the FDL file will be generated and store in the computer locally)?

Right now I'm right clicking each and every CAFD to get the file.
What happens if you right-click on the top of the SVT where you VIN is? You can VO Code all ECU's from there, but I can't recall if you can read them all too.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 04:39 AM   #2058
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
What happens if you right-click on the top of the SVT where you VIN is? You can VO Code all ECU's from there, but I can't recall if you can read them all too.
This is already in my "to-try" list...

In addition, here's what I've compiled on the abbreviations, not complete, but is what I got so far:

ACSM : Advanced Crash Safety Module
AMP_TOPHB : (Amplifier settings)
CMB_MEDIA : Combox Media
DME : Digital Motor Electronics
DSC : Dynamic Stability Control
EGS : (Transmission Control Unit)
EKPM2 : ??
EPS : Electric Power Steering
FEM_BODY : Front Electronic Module
FEM_GW :
FLA3 : (High Beam Assistant)
FZD : (Sunroof control panel)
GWS : (Gear Selector Switch)
HU_CIC : Head Unit - Car Infotainment Computer
ICM : Integrated Chassis Management
"IHKA : Integrated Automatic Heating and Air - Intergriertes Heizung und Klima Automatic"
KOMBI : (Speedo Cluster related)
REM : ??
SM : ??
TRSVC : (Rear View & Other Camera related)
VDC1 : ??
ZBE2 : ??
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 07:30 AM   #2059
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
This is already in my "to-try" list...

In addition, here's what I've compiled on the abbreviations, not complete, but is what I got so far:

ACSM : Advanced Crash Safety Module
AMP_TOPHB : (Amplifier settings)
CMB_MEDIA : Combox Media
DME : Digital Motor Electronics
DSC : Dynamic Stability Control
EGS : (Transmission Control Unit)
EKPM2 : ??
EPS : Electric Power Steering
FEM_BODY : Front Electronic Module
FEM_GW :
FLA3 : (High Beam Assistant)
FZD : (Sunroof control panel)
GWS : (Gear Selector Switch)
HU_CIC : Head Unit - Car Infotainment Computer
ICM : Integrated Chassis Management
"IHKA : Integrated Automatic Heating and Air - Intergriertes Heizung und Klima Automatic"
KOMBI : (Speedo Cluster related)
REM : ??
SM : ??
TRSVC : (Rear View & Other Camera related)
VDC1 : ??
ZBE2 : ??
EKPM2 - Electronic fuel pump control
FEM_GW - Gateway Module
REM - Rear Electronics Module
SM - Seat Module
VDC1 - Vertical Dynamics Control (Suspension)
ZBE - Central control unit
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 09:27 AM   #2060
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

awkh / clarence - could you share what were the default languages enabled for Hong Kong radio/idrive?

Just wanted to try a theory re displaying Asian language (not sure if anyone tried before).

Reading other forum, apparently the US guys can only display 3 language, only when they change the main language to English_UK, then they could add other languages in.

So, I wanted to try to just stick to the few languages that Hong Kong is enabled for and see if it works... lol

Previously, I've added the Asian language at the bottom of the list, so it practically used up all 16 slots, so I wanted to keep it simpler this time...
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 10:57 AM   #2061
awhk
Private First Class
2
Rep
134
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 RS4
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
awkh / clarence - could you share what were the default languages enabled for Hong Kong radio/idrive?

Just wanted to try a theory re displaying Asian language (not sure if anyone tried before).

Reading other forum, apparently the US guys can only display 3 language, only when they change the main language to English_UK, then they could add other languages in.

So, I wanted to try to just stick to the few languages that Hong Kong is enabled for and see if it works... lol

Previously, I've added the Asian language at the bottom of the list, so it practically used up all 16 slots, so I wanted to keep it simpler this time...
We have English (UK), Chinese Traditional and Chinese Simplified.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 12:27 PM   #2062
mikefrance
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: f30
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: france

iTrader: (0)

hi

I have problems with bmw live BT DATA
message NBT (data communication not possible . activate bleutooth data communication )
I have an iphone 5 with hotspot activ

help plz
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 01:44 PM   #2063
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Thanks to all your help, I managed to make my 6NH behave like a 6NK. After changing the VO, I also had to code COMBOX MEDIA as well so that it would take the white iPhone cable. I can finally use my iPhone 5 on this car without any complications!

Album art all shows up and it's working as if I bought the $800 option.
Attached Images
    

Last edited by Aritaurus; 01-16-2013 at 01:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 01:46 PM   #2064
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Thanks to all your help, I successfully got AD2P Bluetooth streaming, iPhone syncronisation without the use of a Y-cable and album art!
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 03:51 PM   #2065
Aritaurus
Captain
Aritaurus's Avatar
Canada
23
Rep
925
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
It was me who asked dos to check for the existence of a combox, cos he had 609+6NH (i.e. no combox function) but he managed to code the 6NH into virtually a 6NK. We all know 6NH cannot do a 6NK w/o addtional hardware, so I asked him to see whether he really has combox with features deactivated.
Bearing in mind that dos is from Germany, the info from members from other countries such as CDN & USA who also have 609+6NH means so far that this spec combination will have a castrated combox.
I think the combox is required for voice control to work so that's why anyone who has the 609+6NH has one. When I took the 320i loaner with 606+6NH, there's no voice control or anything that seems to need a combox.

Now we just need to figure out how to get BMW Live and the internet to work.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 04:35 PM   #2066
949
First Lieutenant
5
Rep
304
Posts

 
Drives: ?????
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: the OC, socal

iTrader: (0)

if someone makes a usb cable i would buy it. i really dont like having two cables just to do one thing.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 04:39 PM   #2067
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
92
Rep
4,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 949 View Post
if someone makes a usb cable i would buy it. i really dont like having two cables just to do one thing.
Two cables? What is the need or purpose of the USB one?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2013, 04:42 PM   #2068
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
33
Rep
1,797
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 949 View Post
if someone makes a usb cable i would buy it. i really dont like having two cables just to do one thing.
You're missing the point; the F-Series cars can only be programmed over Ethernet. If you plug into the car with a direct USB port, you won't be able to do anything.

You could always get a USB to Ethernet adapter for your computer. That would supply an Ethernet connection on your laptop.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST