F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-18-2013, 12:39 AM   #2091
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
I think that's the BMW logo splash screen that shows up when you open the car. The logo shows up in the instrument cluster, the main iDrive screen and the HUD too if you have it.

I assume the combined is the LCD area between the Speedo and Tach, right? Or is the combined the main iDrive screen?

I've coded the logo screen from BMW (with red background lines) to //MPerformance for a couple of people, but that only shows up in the instrument cluster and the HUD.

I wonder if this new setting will display //MPerformance in the main iDrive screen? Everyone that I coded wanted that too!
I did have the BMW Logo on the kombi cluster, and has changed to mperf logo. This particular background image settings is currently inactive, so I doubt it is related to logo.

As for the idrive BMW splash screen, if anything, it should be in HU_CIC as the kombi really only affect what shows up/functionality of the cluster only.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 12:41 AM   #2092
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
The full text from my F10 Cheat Sheet where it originated is:

"Replaces "Surround" on/off checkbox with "L7 Surround" Slider (-5/+5) on Settings=>Tone screen. - Slider still appears to function as off (full left) and on (any setting other than full left)".

Maybe on the F30 the slider is actually functional, but for F10, it was still effectively only an Surround Sound On/Off proposition.
think i did read somewhere that it is also not working for F30... so i didn't do much, but are waiting for more feedbacks if the bang & olufsen menu will do anything... my ear ain't that good, so even if I do that, i probably can't hear any difference
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 07:55 AM   #2093
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
think i did read somewhere that it is also not working for F30... so i didn't do much, but are waiting for more feedbacks if the bang & olufsen menu will do anything... my ear ain't that good, so even if I do that, i probably can't hear any difference
Also from my F10 Cheat Sheet:

"Displays B & O sound menu - Removes "Surround" on/off Checkbox and Adds Bang & Oulfsen Menu to Settings=>Tone Screen with Studio and Expanded Settings - Nonfunctional"

So, if you want B&O, you got to pony up $3700 for the additional hardware.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:00 AM   #2094
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Also from my F10 Cheat Sheet:

"Displays B & O sound menu - Removes "Surround" on/off Checkbox and Adds Bang & Oulfsen Menu to Settings=>Tone Screen with Studio and Expanded Settings - Nonfunctional"

So, if you want B&O, you got to pony up $3700 for the additional hardware.
WHERE is your cheat sheet?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:01 AM   #2095
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
What happens if you right-click on the top of the SVT where you VIN is? You can VO Code all ECU's from there, but I can't recall if you can read them all too.
Tried this earlier today, and it indeed generate all the CAFDs at one go

Qns: After the CAFDs is generated, can we still just VO code the car (to factory settings)? The reason I wanted to get all the CAFDs is partially to ensure it will read OK, so at least when it write, I don't expect any unexpected error
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:05 AM   #2096
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
WHERE is your cheat sheet?
Version 3 is here:

F10_CheatSheet_V3.0.pdf

I am close to releasing Version 4, but the changes related to HU_NBT has complicated things.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:16 AM   #2097
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Tried this earlier today, and it indeed generate all the CAFDs at one go

Qns: After the CAFDs is generated, can we still just VO code the car (to factory settings)? The reason I wanted to get all the CAFDs is partially to ensure it will read OK, so at least when it write, I don't expect any unexpected error
Yes, you can VO Code the entire SVT, but since this will also include DME, the engine can't be running.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:22 AM   #2098
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarence View Post
BMW Assist uses combox telematics (6NL) w/built-in simcard. BMW Live uses combox media & thru bt data transfer. Both are mutually exclusive.
Before u do anything, do u have bt data transfer available as a selectable option under ur bt settings? If u have then u should add 6AA, 6AB, 6AL & 8SC (shawn pls confirm) plus some codings (if necessary). U may also need to write a EU VIN to ur combox (ask shawn).
Don't change 609 into anything else cos u'll lose ur nav, & don't change 6NK.
I doubt 8SC (National Specific Regulations for Teleservice) is required, at least I don't see it in mine, we have 615 (Extended BMW Online Info) - not sure what this do coz there is no obvious feature that we can find, but it came pre-equipped with all car bound for Singapore.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:26 AM   #2099
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Question again... anybody familiar with option code 861 - Modification Coding Dataset (aka Data record without EOBD)?

Is this something that keep record of what changes/coding were made/save to the vehicle? I randomly punch a few VIN in the vin decoder and notice this is not standard in all vehicles...
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:27 AM   #2100
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
I doubt 8SC (National Specific Regulations for Teleservice) is required, at least I don't see it in mine, we have 615 (Extended BMW Online Info) - not sure what this do coz there is no obvious feature that we can find, but it came pre-equipped with all car bound for Singapore.
I think 615 is the added News, Weather, and Applications for use with BMW Assist, so it's 6AL without the Google Stuff (Street View, Panoramio, & Local Search).
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:28 AM   #2101
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, you can VO Code the entire SVT, but since this will also include DME, the engine can't be running.
Noted - thanks! Haven't done any code with the engine running yet
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:30 AM   #2102
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
I think 615 is the added News, Weather, and Applications for use with BMW Assist, so it's 6AL without the Google Stuff (Street View, Panoramio, & Local Search).
Then that would be really dumb for our local dealer to add in 615 without giving us 6AL? In anycase, I cannot verify, all I know is 615 is standard, but perhaps you are right.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:38 AM   #2103
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Then that would be really dumb for our local dealer to add in 615 without giving us 6AL? In anycase, I cannot verify, all I know is 615 is standard, but perhaps you are right.
Why? For U.S. spec'd cars like mine, I have 615, which goes through BMW Assist. I think only if you have 614 and 615, then you can have 6AL.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:39 AM   #2104
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Question again... anybody familiar with option code 861 - Modification Coding Dataset (aka Data record without EOBD)?

Is this something that keep record of what changes/coding were made/save to the vehicle? I randomly punch a few VIN in the vin decoder and notice this is not standard in all vehicles...
I have no clue on this one. :
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:42 AM   #2105
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Why? For U.S. spec'd cars like mine, I have 615, which goes through BMW Assist. I think only if you have 614 and 615, then you can have 6AL.
Dumb for the dealer because they option in 614 & 615 for our car, but doesn't give us 6AL (which we obviously can code in ourselves)... and dumb because they option in feature that we cannot access (if we don't turn on 6AL)... in anycase, back to the original question, so yes I'd probably add in 615 if I want to activate BMW Live.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:55 AM   #2106
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Dumb for the dealer because they option in 614 & 615 for our car, but doesn't give us 6AL (which we obviously can code in ourselves)... and dumb because they option in feature that we cannot access (if we don't turn on 6AL)... in anycase, back to the original question, so yes I'd probably add in 615 if I want to activate BMW Live.
Yes, I don't know why if you have factory 614 & 615, you would not also have BMW Live, except that BMW Live is not made available in all countries, so Singapore is probably an excluded country. So when you code 6AL, you must lie and select Germany as your location.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:58 AM   #2107
kon
Lieutenant
Singapore
4
Rep
454
Posts

 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, I don't know why if you have factory 614 & 615, you would not also have BMW Live, except that BMW Live is not made available in all countries, so Singapore is probably an excluded country. So when you code 6AL, you must lie and select Germany as your location.
We lied when we did the registration, I'm in UK coz UK get to see more apps & feature.

If we select Asia, I only see News & Weather.

UK get all the bell & whistle (News, Weather, Google Local Search, Streetview, Panoramio) plus 4 apps (Wiki Local, Yelp, and 2 other i can't remember at the top of my head)
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 08:59 AM   #2108
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
We lied when we did the registration, I'm in UK coz UK get to see more apps & feature.

If we select Asia, I only see News & Weather.

UK get all the bell & whistle (News, Weather, Google Local Search, Streetview, Panoramio) plus 4 apps (Wiki Local, Yelp, and 2 other i can't remember at the top of my head)
Exactly. So in Asia you get only 615. In the U.K., you get 615 and 6AL.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 10:06 AM   #2109
dinnef30
Enlisted Member
Germany
0
Rep
31
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

I did quite some coding on my F30. I have pszdata 2.47.5 which is sufficent for me.

Now a friend of mine asked to to code his brand new
BMW 650i xDrive Gran Coupé

Production date should be between 29.Oct.12 and 09.Nov.12

What pszdata do I probably need? He'll be in next week and he cannot test on his own as he has neither the cable not the software.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 10:22 AM   #2110
john08135i
Major
john08135i's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
1,023
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
OK can we use USB instead of Ethernet cable?
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 10:30 AM   #2111
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinnef30 View Post
I did quite some coding on my F30. I have pszdata 2.47.5 which is sufficent for me.

Now a friend of mine asked to to code his brand new
BMW 650i xDrive Gran Coupé

Production date should be between 29.Oct.12 and 09.Nov.12

What pszdata do I probably need? He'll be in next week and he cannot test on his own as he has neither the cable not the software.
I would used 48.3.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2013, 10:31 AM   #2112
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
89
Rep
4,889
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
OK can we use USB instead of Ethernet cable?
Supposedly you can use a modified K+DCAN interface, but I never looked into what the actual modification is.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST