F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > BMW F30 3 Series Coding DIY - Code Auto Start Stop, DVD, Folding Mirrors, Etc.
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-19-2013, 07:25 PM   #2157
RASHID007
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 535d X-Drive
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Not necessarily. As I wrote above, 48.2 may also have the increased Token Security. It was barely around long enough before 48.3 came out, so there just isn't many users nor feedback on it.
Ah, so 48.1 then depending on my integration level.

Actually, I'm happy to pay the $65 and support the cause. I'm not even going to bother checking iLevel. I'm just order E-Sys patch and token.

Thank you. You're the man.
RASHID007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:27 PM   #2158
skiscreamer1
Registered
 
skiscreamer1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 bmw 328i sedan rwd
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: germany

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

interesting

interesting!

Quote:
Originally Posted by svache View Post
Thanks for the support guys

I'll try to have some instructions and PDF with the confirmed coding I did online somewhere tomorrow


Mith: Technically anything you mod could void warranty. However, if you mod the camera and your engine breaks down, then the mod to the camera would not void your engine's warranty. Also, they need to proof that your mod actually caused the engine to break down if they try to claim that your warranty is void due to a certain mod (of course, where I say mod, you could say code but technically a chance in code is a bit of a mod).

One thing that might be good advice is to keep backups of every chance you make so you can always revert to the last update (or original even) in case something seems to be wrong
skiscreamer1 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:40 PM   #2159
john08135i
Major
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 1,000
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Rashid let me know if you need help applying the patch..
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:46 PM   #2160
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Shawn. Please pm info for the new esys and token. Thanks!
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:47 PM   #2161
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,739
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Shawn. Please pm info for the new esys and token. Thanks!
PM sent.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:52 PM   #2162
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
PM sent.
Just to clarify, this is just to get an updated esys and token (password) only right? Pszdata is independent of this, which the community will continue to rip from Ista/p?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 07:53 PM   #2163
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,739
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
Just to clarify, this is just to get an updated esys and token (password) only right? Pszdata is independent of this, which the community will continue to rip from Ista/p?
Yes, totally separate from the PSdZData.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 09:55 PM   #2164
john08135i
Major
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 1,000
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
Attached Images
 
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 10:34 PM   #2165
RASHID007
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 535d X-Drive
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
Is the 1 setting you changed with the patched E-sys and new token still coded/working? I imagine it is, just trying to troubleshoot and wondering if I do mine should I do it all in 1 shot first try if it'll stay coded.
RASHID007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 10:44 PM   #2166
RASHID007
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 535d X-Drive
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

John08135i scared me a bit with his problems above with new patch/token so I checked my iLevel. Guess it's official, I can't go back beyond 48.3 and I hope that the patch/token work.

RASHID007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 10:55 PM   #2167
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
I don't have the new token file to try, but are testing the new esys on a machine that never had esys installed... did you have the EDIABAS folder copy to the root directory? All I wanted to know, i long is a long shot, is able to read FA & CAF file since this new machine is desktop and cannot be used for coding at all

Extract from installation instruction (from esys 3.18.4)
Run "C:\EDIABAS\Hardware\Ediabas-Konfigurator\Ediabas-Konfigurator.exe" and make sure "Interface:" is set to "INTERFACE=ENET".

Did you also update the esys program properties to point the token & ods to the right file/directory?


Let's just say you had a bad day.... I do sometime fail to get IP from the car, what I did to make sure I ALWAYS get an ip is start the laptop AFTER the cable is connected to the car & computer, and turn on the car (not start engine)...

CHECK to make sure your computer is receiving an IP with "limited connectivity"

I'll be around for the next few hour... will be heading out to a coding party thereafter, hopefully none of the car will have 505!

Last edited by kon; 01-19-2013 at 11:06 PM.
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 10:57 PM   #2168
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RASHID007 View Post
John08135i scared me a bit with his problems above with new patch/token so I checked my iLevel. Guess it's official, I can't go back beyond 48.3 and I hope that the patch/token work.

did you try with 48.1 or 48.2 with esys 3.18.4? did you have any error?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 11:19 PM   #2169
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 823
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by RASHID007 View Post
John08135i scared me a bit with his problems above with new patch/token so I checked my iLevel. Guess it's official, I can't go back beyond 48.3 and I hope that the patch/token work.


How did you end up with that iLevel? Was it when you took your car in for the FEM module recall back in December?

I'm helping another forum member code his MY2013 this week so I hope it will be ok with 48.1.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 11:56 PM   #2170
RASHID007
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 535d X-Drive
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kon
Quote:
Originally Posted by RASHID007 View Post
John08135i scared me a bit with his problems above with new patch/token so I checked my iLevel. Guess it's official, I can't go back beyond 48.3 and I hope that the patch/token work.

did you try with 48.1 or 48.2 with esys 3.18.4? did you have any error?
I will try tomorrow and report back.
RASHID007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-19-2013, 11:57 PM   #2171
RASHID007
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 535d X-Drive
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 361
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus
Quote:
Originally Posted by RASHID007 View Post
John08135i scared me a bit with his problems above with new patch/token so I checked my iLevel. Guess it's official, I can't go back beyond 48.3 and I hope that the patch/token work.


How did you end up with that iLevel? Was it when you took your car in for the FEM module recall back in December?

I'm helping another forum member code his MY2013 this week so I hope it will be ok with 48.1.
On January 16th I had the car into the dealer for something and they told me there is a software update type recall that they installed. Not sure what the recall was for.
RASHID007 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 12:50 AM   #2172
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,626
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
As kon says, it looks like you are just not connecting as the connect via VIN is grayed out.

Did you try just running ZGW_SEARCH.exe and see if that will read your VIN?

I don't think that program accesses the ODX or token (can anyone verify?), so if that won't connect, then you have a cable problem, the car ignition wasn't on, or you didn't get into DHCP fallback mode.
Frogman is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 01:51 AM   #2173
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

hi guys, at first i have intermitten problems connecting my cable direct with my windows machine. Until when I installed http://www.dhcpserver.de/dhcpsrv.htm into my windows and make it as DHCP server. Ever since, connection is very smooth.
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 01:56 AM   #2174
kon
Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 316i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sillypore

Posts: 450
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hi guys, at first i have intermitten problems connecting my cable direct with my windows machine. Until when I installed http://www.dhcpserver.de/dhcpsrv.htm into my windows and make it as DHCP server. Ever since, connection is very smooth.
I don't think this would help as the computer is getting the IP from the car, not the other way round? Or is it?
kon is offline   Singapore
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:43 AM   #2175
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,739
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by john08135i View Post
I AM GOING TO PULL MY HAIR OUT..

After buying my token and testing by coding one setting.. i had to go back and watch my kids. Well now it wont connect to eh car..
NO ZGW AVAILABLE... i didnt change anything. I just closed esys.

What causes this?
I am not sure what the issue is with the connection problems. I have messaged Andy, and hopefully he can figure it out.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:44 AM   #2176
ykau
Private
 
Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore

Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)

Yes.. It will assign IP to the car.(-:
ykau is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:45 AM   #2177
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,739
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
hi guys, at first i have intermitten problems connecting my cable direct with my windows machine. Until when I installed http://www.dhcpserver.de/dhcpsrv.htm into my windows and make it as DHCP server. Ever since, connection is very smooth.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kon View Post
I don't think this would help as the computer is getting the IP from the car, not the other way round? Or is it?
The car does not have a DHCP server; so it does not assign an IP Address to the computer. Both the computer and the car will go into DHCP fallback mode, each assigning themselves a random Class-B IP Address so that they can talk to each other. This can take up to 60 seconds, so you have to wait until the PC has an IP address before you try to connect.

I don't see how a DHCP Server utility will help.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-20-2013, 03:47 AM   #2178
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,739
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ykau View Post
Yes.. It will assign IP to the car.(-:
Ok. Hopefully you are correct.

John can try it and confirm if it works.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 01-20-2013 at 03:56 AM.
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
3 series coding, 3 series f30, 3 series f30 coding, 3 series f30 forum, 3 series forum, 3-series forum, 5 series f10 coding, ass, ass disable, auto start stop, auto start stop disable, bmw 3 series coding, bmw 3 series f30, bmw 3 series forum, bmw 3-series f30, bmw 3-series forum, bmw 5 series coding, bmw auto start stop disable, bmw auto start stop disabling, bmw coding, bmw coding directions, bmw coding diy, bmw coding instructions, bmw diy, bmw diy forum, bmw f10 coding, bmw f30, bmw f30 3 series, bmw f30 3-series, bmw f30 coding, bmw f30 forum, coding 3 series, coding f30, coding f30 3 series, disable ass, disable auto start stop, disable bmw auto start stop, disabling auto start stop, disabling bmw auto start stop, f10 5 series coding, f10 coding, f30 3 series, f30 3 series coding, f30 3 series forum, f30 3-series, f30 3-series forum, f30 coding, f30 forum, f30 forums

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST