F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > BMW Homelink Problems
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-26-2015, 08:21 AM   #1
anthonyc4242
Private
anthonyc4242's Avatar
0
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2014 328D - Stock
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Narragansett, Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

BMW Homelink Problems

What's up guys, I've got a BMW F30 2014 328D & 2011 BMW x5 35D as well. These two have homelink on them which I always found VERY confusing to setup, I've tried in the past, watching YouTube videos and everything but they never work even when they say they're paired. The garage door opener has a learn code button and it seems as if it's ready to be programmed but, it never works!


Does anyone have any suggestions or have the same issue with the same type of door opener?

My garage door opener - Chamberlain PD210D



Appreciate 0
      06-26-2015, 12:43 PM   #2
Alamat
Private First Class
2
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: 2014 435xi Sport Line
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Mt. Top, PA

iTrader: (0)

Have the same garage opener, works fine on my end. It is one of those rolling frequency type so directions are different. If you haven't tried that...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeRR View Post
When you spend that much on a car it is stupid to talk about needs - nobody "needs" a 4 Series.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2015, 06:59 PM   #3
nicknaz
Major General
nicknaz's Avatar
United_States
310
Rep
5,821
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

One nuance is that sometimes after you press the learn button on the garage door opener, you need to press the button in the car's mirror 3 times instead of 1 long press

Also, if it is a 2 garage door setup, try programming buttons 1 and 3 instead of 2
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2015, 08:45 PM   #4
mcleod52
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 - Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

You can also work with the HomeLink folks over the phone, even on a Saturday. Same with Chamberlain I assume. I worked with Genie and HomeLink for more than an hour a few Saturdays ago to only finbd out I have too old a garage door opener.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2015, 10:16 PM   #5
1gkek
New Member
0
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 2015 m235i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: St Louis, MO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicknaz View Post
One nuance is that sometimes after you press the learn button on the garage door opener, you need to press the button in the car's mirror 3 times instead of 1 long press

Also, if it is a 2 garage door setup, try programming buttons 1 and 3 instead of 2
This exactly. Took me WAY TOO LONG to figure this part out last night. Learn the remote in the car, press learn button on opener, then press three times in car.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2015, 11:23 PM   #6
anthonyc4242
Private
anthonyc4242's Avatar
0
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2014 328D - Stock
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Narragansett, Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1gkek View Post
This exactly. Took me WAY TOO LONG to figure this part out last night. Learn the remote in the car, press learn button on opener, then press three times in car.
Been there, Done that, It blinks as if it'd work then when you click "1" or the programmed button it doesn't do anything other than blink as it it'd be working.
__________________
| 2014 (F30) 328D | Glacier Silver | Navigation w/ Touchpad | Heated Front Seats |
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2015, 02:59 PM   #7
therealm3
Major
20
Rep
1,084
Posts

Drives: F30 335 Msport, E70 35i
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA, USA

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicknaz View Post
One nuance is that sometimes after you press the learn button on the garage door opener, you need to press the button in the car's mirror 3 times instead of 1 long press
^^ this. Several log pushed worked for me, and I found I had to have my car on or it wouldn't work right either. Once it is programmed you'll forget all about the headache and enjoy not having the opener hanging off the visor anymore. :- )
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2015, 08:16 PM   #8
F32 N55
Major
156
Rep
1,488
Posts

Drives: '15 AW F32 N55 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2014
Location: in my garage.

iTrader: (0)

I didn't realize the cars ignition had to be on. I hate the fact that I have to turn the ignition on to use the garage door opener.
Appreciate 2
      07-01-2015, 02:45 PM   #9
timmahh
ghey
timmahh's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,274
Posts

Drives: Viertürigen Fahrzeugs
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

My first homelink experience was a nightmare back in the day; it took me hours because I didn't understand how it works correctly.


This is what confuses most people from what I've seen: You need to perform two pairings or synchronizations. Many people get homelink to pair with the existing remote, but then stop and wonder why it doesn't work. This step is ONLY going to tell homelink HOW to talk to your opener; at this point it knows 'ok, here is the frequency' but the opener has no idea what the homelink remote is, it's never seen it and does not know anything about it. This is where the second step comes in; you need to press the learn button on your opener, then press the programmed homelink button until it syncs up.


tl;dr: You first sync your existing remote and homelink so that homelink knows how to communicate with your opener. You then use the learn button with homelink so that rolling codes and trust are established.
__________________

14/335i xDrive/6MT/Bromo.
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2015, 02:47 PM   #10
timmahh
ghey
timmahh's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
1,274
Posts

Drives: Viertürigen Fahrzeugs
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F32 N55 View Post
I didn't realize the cars ignition had to be on. I hate the fact that I have to turn the ignition on to use the garage door opener.

Kind of nice though so if, for example, your car is left unlocked outside at night and you have a garage full of valuables someone can't just open it.
__________________

14/335i xDrive/6MT/Bromo.
Appreciate 0
      07-03-2015, 04:31 PM   #11
therealm3
Major
20
Rep
1,084
Posts

Drives: F30 335 Msport, E70 35i
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: CA, USA

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmahh View Post
Kind of nice though so if, for example, your car is left unlocked outside at night and you have a garage full of valuables someone can't just open it.
Or smash your window and open the garage door.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2015, 06:07 AM   #12
chaudhrysn
Second Lieutenant
chaudhrysn's Avatar
7
Rep
273
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F32 N55
I didn't realize the cars ignition had to be on. I hate the fact that I have to turn the ignition on to use the garage door opener.
Off topic, but now I know where to wire my gtc exhaust! Thanks

But yeah, it does get pretty annoying
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2015, 07:30 PM   #13
rdilles
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2012 328i Sedan
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I discovered (WAY too late, I'm embarrassed to say) that you can program it with accessories ON, but the ignition OFF, but it took me several tries due to the fact that when I would get out of the car to press the "Learn" button on my GDO unit itself, the accessories would turn off after I closed the car door and the Homelink would no longer work, despite me pressing the button 3 times.

Here I kept thinking the Homelink was broken, but it was user error the whole time...
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2015, 03:34 AM   #14
stinunexp
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

the accessories would turn off after I closed the car door and the Homelink would no longer work, despite me pressing the button 3 times.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2015, 08:49 AM   #15
anthonyc4242
Private
anthonyc4242's Avatar
0
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2014 328D - Stock
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Narragansett, Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have a video they can share? I've been looking on YouTube and those videos are usless because I don't know if I'm doing this properly for MY MACHINE.
__________________
| 2014 (F30) 328D | Glacier Silver | Navigation w/ Touchpad | Heated Front Seats |
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2015, 05:04 PM   #16
mcleod52
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
46
Posts

Drives: F30 2014 - Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Have you tried calling Chamberlain and the Homelink folks? Homelink even has support on the weekend and they will walk you through the process on the phone.

Last edited by mcleod52; 07-17-2015 at 05:04 PM. Reason: typo
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2015, 10:19 AM   #17
anthonyc4242
Private
anthonyc4242's Avatar
0
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2014 328D - Stock
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Narragansett, Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

UPDATE - Got it working thank you all
__________________
| 2014 (F30) 328D | Glacier Silver | Navigation w/ Touchpad | Heated Front Seats |
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2015, 12:19 PM   #18
Steve33
Captain
Steve33's Avatar
No_Country
23
Rep
802
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Step 1) Program remote til the light flashes as if it has learned the controller. Garage will not open yet.

Step 2) Press the learn button on the overhead motor, reteach the button as stated in the manual for "Rolling code"

Step 3) Works now
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST