F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Sport display - Nm/KW vs HP/Tq
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-24-2013, 09:01 PM   #1
n55x3
Captain
 
Drives: n55 BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: us - ohio

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

Sport display - Nm/KW vs HP/Tq

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
The last F30 I was in a couple months ago had a sports display with measurements reading in Nm/KW rather than the US standard unit of measure: HP/Tq.

Anyone know if this has been updated for the US bound vehicles? Picking our 335 up in a few days and asked my dealer to update this along with ASS. They said no problem with coding ASS to last setting but couldn't find any details on the sport display. Any ideas? Any chance this was changed recently?
n55x3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 04:48 AM   #2
rustyminded
Captain
 
rustyminded's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw 328i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: C

Posts: 777
iTrader: (0)

coding man
rustyminded is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 06:59 AM   #3
n55x3
Captain
 
Drives: n55 BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: us - ohio

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

Yeah, not arguing that. Definitely agree it can be altered via coding. Can you elaborate? Is this something you've seen dealers do? Do you know the line of code that needs to be updated? Is your 2013 F30 showing Nm/KW or Hp/Tq?
n55x3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 09:27 PM   #4
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,451
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by n55x3 View Post
Yeah, not arguing that. Definitely agree it can be altered via coding. Can you elaborate? Is this something you've seen dealers do? Do you know the line of code that needs to be updated? Is your 2013 F30 showing Nm/KW or Hp/Tq?
HU_CIC or HU_NBT => EFF_DYN_SPORT_UNIT = aktiv adds "Power" and "Torque" to the Settings => Language/Units screen for use with EFF_DYN_SPORT_CID.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 10:43 PM   #5
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n55x3 View Post
Yeah, not arguing that. Definitely agree it can be altered via coding. Can you elaborate? Is this something you've seen dealers do? Do you know the line of code that needs to be updated? Is your 2013 F30 showing Nm/KW or Hp/Tq?
Some people have reported success in having dealers update the car, but others have asked and the dealers have tried correct it and been unable to get it to work some some reason.

I've coded this (basically enabling the units to be changed in the settings) on 4 or 5 cars that people have been unable to get the dealer to fix. It's less than a 5 minute job.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 11:46 AM   #6
superkevx
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: f30 sport line
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Some people have reported success in having dealers update the car, but others have asked and the dealers have tried correct it and been unable to get it to work some some reason.

I've coded this (basically enabling the units to be changed in the settings) on 4 or 5 cars that people have been unable to get the dealer to fix. It's less than a 5 minute job.
Hey frogman, where in socal are you located? Could you help code my car if I'm in the area?
superkevx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 12:02 PM   #7
n55x3
Captain
 
Drives: n55 BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: us - ohio

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

FWIW, my late February 2013 build still had the Nm/KW or Hp/Tq showing. Dealer said they can't program. Again not a huge deal but when I get some free time later this summer I'll probably do it myself.

Thanks for the above details.
n55x3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 12:53 PM   #8
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superkevx View Post
Hey frogman, where in socal are you located? Could you help code my car if I'm in the area?
Sure. I can't PM on this board (long story), so please send me e-mail at frogmanf30@gmail.com and we can set something up.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 01:08 PM   #9
superkevx
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: f30 sport line
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
Sure. I can't PM on this board (long story), so please send me e-mail at frogmanf30@gmail.com and we can set something up.
Cool, sent you an email
superkevx is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 07:47 PM   #10
vithy
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 320i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 150
iTrader: (0)

Can this be activated on any F30? or do I need special hardware for it?
vithy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 10:00 PM   #11
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,451
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vithy View Post
Can this be activated on any F30? or do I need special hardware for it?
Not any F30. It seems to be Engine specific, with only newer engine designs supporting the Sport Displays.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 12:46 AM   #12
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vithy View Post
Can this be activated on any F30? or do I need special hardware for it?
For some reason the Sports Display seems to only work with 609 (Navigation) and it's already enabled if you have it.

I've tried to get it to work on non-NAV 328i (N20 engine) and 335i (N55) with no luck at all. The screen shows, but no data is shown, it's just a static screen.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 07:56 AM   #13
vithy
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 320i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 150
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Not any F30. It seems to be Engine specific, with only newer engine designs supporting the Sport Displays.
Does it work with Combox upgrade?

Thx
vithy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 08:06 AM   #14
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,451
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vithy View Post
Does it work with Combox upgrade?

Thx
I think it works now in some cars without Combox, so I don't think that has anything to do with it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 09:11 AM   #15
vern
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 335i Sport 2006 X3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

When my car was redelivered after ED HP/TG was on the display and after a short period it went to Nm/KW. I'm going into the dealer on Monday for service on a drive train problem so I'm going to see if they will set up the display to HP/TG again.
cheers
vern
vern is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 09:22 AM   #16
n55x3
Captain
 
Drives: n55 BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: us - ohio

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

Let us know if you have any luck Vern. And if so, if the dealer provides any details like a case # or something that would be cool. My dealer said they'd definitely do it, free of charge, they just can't find any documentation outlining the steps to do so.

I know it can easily be done manually via coding but I'm still looking for the dealer to do this so I don't have to mess with coding myself.
n55x3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-12-2013, 11:08 AM   #17
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,715
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vithy View Post
Does it work with Combox upgrade?

Thx
I've tried coding it on a car with a combox but no NAV and it didn't work.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2013, 07:21 AM   #18
JamesMA
First Lieutenant
 
JamesMA's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA

Posts: 307
iTrader: (0)

My F30 M-Sport showed up in mid Aug with euro specs on the sport displays. Dealer was able to code it when I went in for something a month or two later. The bottle of scotch I gave to the tech after he did the BBK install when I took delivery (was not avail port install for whatever reason with the early 2013 builds) probably got me a little more effort in having some little things taken care of
__________________
2013 F30 335i 6MT M-Sport - Blk Saph. / Beige Lthr / Wood Tr. - Tech Pk - VSS M-Adp. Susp. M-Perf Stainless Exhaust M-Perf. brakes
JamesMA is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2013, 08:02 PM   #19
vern
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 335i Sport 2006 X3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n55x3 View Post
Let us know if you have any luck Vern. And if so, if the dealer provides any details like a case # or something that would be cool. My dealer said they'd definitely do it, free of charge, they just can't find any documentation outlining the steps to do so.

I know it can easily be done manually via coding but I'm still looking for the dealer to do this so I don't have to mess with coding myself.
I got my car back from the dealer today and they coded the HP/TG for me BUT this is what I had to give up for them to do it.I had all my memory on the USB and if I wanted to have the HP/TG coded the memory on the USB would wipe clean and I would have to set up everything I had before on the Profiles again and then put it back onto the USB.
cheers
vern.
vern is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2013, 08:07 PM   #20
fotios335i
Major General
 
fotios335i's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

Posts: 6,768
iTrader: (61)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMA View Post
My F30 M-Sport showed up in mid Aug with euro specs on the sport displays. Dealer was able to code it when I went in for something a month or two later. The bottle of scotch I gave to the tech after he did the BBK install when I took delivery (was not avail port install for whatever reason with the early 2013 builds) probably got me a little more effort in having some little things taken care of
which dealer was it if you dont mind me asking? Norwell has my car now trying to install mppk.
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
fotios335i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2013, 07:54 AM   #21
n55x3
Captain
 
Drives: n55 BMWs
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: us - ohio

Posts: 729
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vern View Post
I got my car back from the dealer today and they coded the HP/TG for me BUT this is what I had to give up for them to do it.I had all my memory on the USB and if I wanted to have the HP/TG coded the memory on the USB would wipe clean and I would have to set up everything I had before on the Profiles again and then put it back onto the USB.
cheers
vern.
Vern, that's huge! that's the first I've heard of a dealer coding this for customers. There is hope! On the work order was there any SIB # or anything that might provide some details around exactly what was done?

My car is in the shop right now having the ASS recoded so maybe I'll get lucky and this will be updated too.

Thanks for sharing!
n55x3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2013, 09:36 AM   #22
vern
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 335i Sport 2006 X3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by n55x3 View Post
Vern, that's huge! that's the first I've heard of a dealer coding this for customers. There is hope! On the work order was there any SIB # or anything that might provide some details around exactly what was done?

My car is in the shop right now having the ASS recoded so maybe I'll get lucky and this will be updated too.

Thanks for sharing!
There was no SIB#, the SA did it through the i drive.
cheers
vern
vern is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST