F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > HELP: Upgrading basic idrive unit to magneti marelli idrive unit
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-15-2016, 09:02 AM   #1
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

HELP: Upgrading basic idrive unit to magneti marelli idrive unit

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hey everyone.

I am planning to upgrade my 2013 f30 idrive unit with updated magneti marelli version. I can find one for quite cheap and I have been told it is plug and play with some coding. can anyone tell me if it really is plug and play and what coding should i do?

also some tech guy told me 8.8 inch screen will work with this new updated version. anybody has an idea about this?

thanks.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2016, 03:24 PM   #2
TePee
Second Lieutenant
21
Rep
243
Posts

Drives: F34
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

It is the new Entrynav HU. Yes 8,8" will work after some coding.

I think it is not impossible to swap your old HU Entry with it, but some plugs will probably need some work... and coding is obligatory.
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2016, 06:11 PM   #3
alihanoglu
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 320d
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Turkey

iTrader: (0)

hocam merhaba ben de aynı uygulamayı yapmayı düşünüyorum aracıma.

nbt gibi kesme biçme olmuyor bunda diye duydum ben, emulator falan da gerekmiyor.sadece kodlama lazımmış.

siz herhangi bir bilgi bulabildiniz mi?
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2016, 08:57 AM   #4
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

ummm thanks. you have an idea how to though?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
It is the new Entrynav HU. Yes 8,8" will work after some coding.

I think it is not impossible to swap your old HU Entry with it, but some plugs will probably need some work... and coding is obligatory.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2016, 09:47 AM   #5
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

Well i guess nobody has an idea. I will explain a little if someone like me tries to do this upgrade.
After you remove the hu_entry unit you install your hu_entrynav. You can find installation videos on youtube. It is fairly easy and takes 15 mins tops.

About the coding: you need to do some FA code with esys.

You should delete 6VB, change 6NH to 6NS (or add if you dont have it already) and code your FA (FA coding has endless documents here on other sections of the forum so please read and learn) .

Most probably coding HU_Entrynav will be blocked at this step and not available for coding. You should select "detect" and read CAFD so that you can do the coding.

After hu_entrynav starts working you can go ahead and upgrade your screen to 8.8" and do this 2 simple fdl codes:

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2016, 09:48 AM   #6
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alihanoglu View Post
hocam merhaba ben de aynı uygulamayı yapmayı düşünüyorum aracıma.

nbt gibi kesme biçme olmuyor bunda diye duydum ben, emulator falan da gerekmiyor.sadece kodlama lazımmış.

siz herhangi bir bilgi bulabildiniz mi?

hocam ben işlemi tamamladım. basitce anlattım bir önceki mesajımda.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2016, 10:59 AM   #7
carmo
Private First Class
7
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gotomoto View Post
Well i guess nobody has an idea. I will explain a little if someone like me tries to do this upgrade.
After you remove the hu_entry unit you install your hu_entrynav. You can find installation videos on youtube. It is fairly easy and takes 15 mins tops.

About the coding: you need to do some FA code with esys.

You should delete 6VB, change 6NH to 6NS (or add if you dont have it already) and code your FA (FA coding has endless documents here on other sections of the forum so please read and learn) .

Most probably coding HU_Entrynav will be blocked at this step and not available for coding. You should select "detect" and read CAFD so that you can do the coding.

After hu_entrynav starts working you can go ahead and upgrade your screen to 8.8" and do this 2 simple fdl codes:

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display
Hi,

Did you have the hu_entry with a combo box in the trunk before you did this swap? Did all the cables connect to the same spot? Also did you manage to enable NAV on this HU? Also lastly do you need to update I step for this to work. I am very interested in this mod as well but so far it would be around 500$ Canadian
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2016, 06:11 PM   #8
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carmo View Post
Hi,

Did you have the hu_entry with a combo box in the trunk before you did this swap? Did all the cables connect to the same spot? Also did you manage to enable NAV on this HU? Also lastly do you need to update I step for this to work. I am very interested in this mod as well but so far it would be around 500$ Canadian
No i didn't have a combo box in my trunk. I had usb and aux in my arm rest if you need that info. All cables connect to the exact same spot. As far as i can read on other topics it is impossible to enable navigation on this HU. i didn't update anything.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2016, 08:38 AM   #9
nelsdvn
New Member
nelsdvn's Avatar
5
Rep
27
Posts

Drives: '08 535xiT, '14 228i, '15 X5d
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wisconsin

iTrader: (1)

I'm going to be doing the same swap in my F22. Any update on your progress?
__________________
Current: 2015 BMW X5d | 2014 BMW 228i | 2008 BMW 535xiT
Gone but not forgotten: 1998 BMW 328iC, 1991 BMW 325iC
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 05:56 AM   #10
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nelsdvn View Post
I'm going to be doing the same swap in my F22. Any update on your progress?
my progress finished with no problem. I also installed 8.8" display and touch idrive controller (no touch function of course) as well. if you have any questions i will be glad to try to answer.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2017, 06:10 PM   #11
MaxBmw
Registered
Italy
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: BMW 318D F30
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Brindisi - Italy

iTrader: (0)

Hi,
I bought the same Navi Magneti Marelli to replace the radio.I'm new could you please help me?
Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2017, 11:37 AM   #12
amwilson
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Little Rock, AR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxBmw View Post
Hi,
I bought the same Navi Magneti Marelli to replace the radio.I'm new could you please help me?
Thanks in advance.
+1
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2017, 04:16 PM   #13
Atiqofsweden
New Member
Atiqofsweden's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 318d Sportline -14
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I would also like to know how you did this, i am thinking about doing this mod!

I have the hu_entry and the cmb_media combox in the trunk! Will it work even if i have the combox?
__________________

BMW F30 Alpine White II Sportline
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2017, 09:21 AM   #14
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

You basically remove the headunit like on this video:



just remove the old headunit and put the new one. Cables don't need modification (unless you also want the 8.8 inch nbt display).

About the coding as far as i remember you just delete 6VB and add 6NH.

If you want to add the big 8.8 inch display you trim outside of the purple video cable and reverse it 180 degrees. And add this code:

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480
HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2017, 09:22 AM   #15
gotomoto
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: F30 3.20ied
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ankara, TR

iTrader: (0)

I am afraid I have no idea how things work with the combox. I know they can retrofit NBT if you have combox but i dont know about the case with entrynav. Maybe some retrofit gurus on the forum can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atiqofsweden View Post
I would also like to know how you did this, i am thinking about doing this mod!

I have the hu_entry and the cmb_media combox in the trunk! Will it work even if i have the combox?
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2017, 09:38 PM   #16
rlmesq
Second Lieutenant
74
Rep
227
Posts

Drives: 2014 435i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chico, CA

iTrader: (0)

I saw a Ducati rider at a trackday wearing a t-shirt that said "Magneti Marelli is Italian for Lucas."

That's some really obscure motorcycle (and car) humor.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2017, 05:48 AM   #17
ceste
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: Bmw f30 316i Sport Line
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

what kind of gps antenna i need to buy, this one with fakra connector? and can You tell me which connector in HU_Entrynav is the gps? thanks

Last edited by ceste; 07-18-2017 at 07:00 AM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:51 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST