F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > how to install or activate Launch Control
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-14-2014, 03:04 AM   #1
rheza
New Member
 
Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jakarta

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

how to install or activate Launch Control

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Dear all
i have a 2013 f30 328i, it was built in march 2013.

can we check whether launch control is available in the car?

what is the correct steps to activate the launch control?

if its not available, is it possible to add or code the launch control?


thank you
rheza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 06:30 PM   #2
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
EGS 3000 SPORTSHALTER >aktiv
EGS 3000 LC >aktiv

Note that your car has to be on at least 50.4 in order for this to work.

The other way to do it is to VO code EGS with a build date of 07/13 but I don't know if anyone has tried that yet.
__________________
2012 328i Luxury line | 03/12 production | Premium Package| Saddle Brown Dekota Leather

Mods
M Performance Grilles | M Sport Steering Wheel w/ Paddles | NBT Navigation | Touch Controller | 6NR BMW Apps | 655 Satellite Radio |
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 07:13 PM   #3
buco702
Private
 
Drives: 2013 Alpine White 328i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

Posts: 69
iTrader: (0)

You can also code the Sport Automatic Transmission too:

http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=920617
buco702 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 09:02 PM   #4
kapkanimd
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 276
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
EGS 3000 SPORTSHALTER >aktiv
EGS 3000 LC >aktiv

Note that your car has to be on at least 50.4 in order for this to work.

The other way to do it is to VO code EGS with a build date of 07/13 but I don't know if anyone has tried that yet.
I did successfully update my EGS with the newer software which allowed me to activate LC, however I would not recommend it. It was pretty scary and I thought I bricked the ecu.. but if you are ballsy it can be done...
kapkanimd is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 10:23 PM   #5
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapkanimd View Post
I did successfully update my EGS with the newer software which allowed me to activate LC, however I would not recommend it. It was pretty scary and I thought I bricked the ecu.. but if you are ballsy it can be done...
Wow, you flashed it with 52.1? That's ballsy indeed. You could have just taken it back to the dealer and made up some BS problem to get them to do a software update.

I'm on 51.3 because my 2012 model was up for a recall in February and I got a free software update which of course also updated EGS.

By the way, don't VO code EGS with 07/13. I did that and my transmission was overheating after driving 1 mile.

I VO coded EGS back with my original FA and just FDL coded launch control and coasting; everything is fine now. I don't think 2012 and 2013 models have all the same hardware compared to a 2014 model.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2012 328i Luxury line | 03/12 production | Premium Package| Saddle Brown Dekota Leather

Mods
M Performance Grilles | M Sport Steering Wheel w/ Paddles | NBT Navigation | Touch Controller | 6NR BMW Apps | 655 Satellite Radio |

Last edited by Aritaurus; 04-14-2014 at 10:32 PM.
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 10:31 PM   #6
kapkanimd
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 276
iTrader: (2)

I'm don't remember which version it was exactly, but I haven't had any problems (it has been a few months now). What is coasting?
kapkanimd is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2014, 10:37 PM   #7
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapkanimd View Post
I'm don't remember which version it was exactly, but I haven't had any problems (it has been a few months now). What is coasting?
If you're driving faster than 30 miles an hour, it will try to keep that speed while your foot is not on the pedal. I tried it and I was able to stay on 40 miles an hour for about 30 seconds.

You'll also have to code the following on your KOMBI for it to show up properly on your cluster.

EDA Variant -> Variant 2
__________________
2012 328i Luxury line | 03/12 production | Premium Package| Saddle Brown Dekota Leather

Mods
M Performance Grilles | M Sport Steering Wheel w/ Paddles | NBT Navigation | Touch Controller | 6NR BMW Apps | 655 Satellite Radio |
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2014, 03:45 PM   #8
kapkanimd
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 276
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
If you're driving faster than 30 miles an hour, it will try to keep that speed while your foot is not on the pedal. I tried it and I was able to stay on 40 miles an hour for about 30 seconds.

You'll also have to code the following on your KOMBI for it to show up properly on your cluster.

EDA Variant -> Variant 2
interesting.. maybe I will give that a try next time I hook my computer up. what is the actual code to activate it?
kapkanimd is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-15-2014, 11:58 PM   #9
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapkanimd View Post
interesting.. maybe I will give that a try next time I hook my computer up. what is the actual code to activate it?
EGS 3000 Sagin -> Aktiv
__________________
2012 328i Luxury line | 03/12 production | Premium Package| Saddle Brown Dekota Leather

Mods
M Performance Grilles | M Sport Steering Wheel w/ Paddles | NBT Navigation | Touch Controller | 6NR BMW Apps | 655 Satellite Radio |
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2014, 09:34 AM   #10
pr0lene
New Member
 
Drives: 328
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ina

Posts: 16
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rheza View Post
Dear all
i have a 2013 f30 328i, it was built in march 2013.

can we check whether launch control is available in the car?

what is the correct steps to activate the launch control?

if its not available, is it possible to add or code the launch control?


thank you
hi rheza
the easiest way to know you have newer software in your car is to kick your car's butt

if it open immediately then you have older i step, if you have to wait 1 second then you have new i step
pr0lene is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2014, 09:47 AM   #11
hsk1610
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2013 328iX
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 122
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
EGS 3000 Sagin -> Aktiv
What does EGS 3000 Sagin do? I had previously coded Sport and Sport + mode with LC but had not bothered to code this one.

Went to EGS > 3000> but don't see anything for Sagin. Am I missing something?

Last edited by hsk1610; 04-16-2014 at 04:30 PM.
hsk1610 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-16-2014, 11:22 PM   #12
DXL XLR8
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nebraska

Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)

I thought the f30 doesn't have launch control
DXL XLR8 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 12:58 AM   #13
falar
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2014 335i M-sport/2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: California

Posts: 285
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DXL XLR8 View Post
I thought the f30 doesn't have launch control
'14s do.
__________________
2014 335i M-Sport Mineral Grey / Sport Auto / Black Dakota / Aluminum Hex / Prem,Tech,DA packages / DHP / M-Sport Brakes / MPPK / MPE / Black Kidney Grilles, SS Pedals, M-Performance CF spoiler / some other comfort features

2013 X3 35i...wife's car
falar is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 11:07 AM   #14
DXL XLR8
Private
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nebraska

Posts: 78
iTrader: (0)

Is there any additional hardware to retrofit this in my 2013 or is it all software that I can code
DXL XLR8 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 11:31 AM   #15
kapkanimd
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 328i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tampa, FL

Posts: 276
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DXL XLR8 View Post
Is there any additional hardware to retrofit this in my 2013 or is it all software that I can code
This is talked about above, it is a lot more than just simple coding to activate this in a 2013. It requires updating the entire ECU. It is not possible to brick an ECU with just coding, but you can certainly do it with reprogramming/flashing it with new software. I did it, but I was scared shitless and I am not sure if I would have the balls to try it again. I guess you can just ask yourself if you have the ability to pay the repair bill if you do brick it, then it is not that big of a gamble.
kapkanimd is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2014, 02:15 PM   #16
rheza
New Member
 
Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jakarta

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

Can we do the entire software upgrade at the dealer? Are they willing to put the 2014 software to our 13 car? Anyone done this before?
rheza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 10:26 AM   #17
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 824
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rheza View Post
Can we do the entire software upgrade at the dealer? Are they willing to put the 2014 software to our 13 car? Anyone done this before?
The software found a on 2014 model is the same software that would be applied to a 2012 or 2013 in the case of a repair or a recall.

A lot of these features are not enabled if the build date on your vehicle order does not match the minimum build level.

For example, if you have a 2013 335i with a build date of 03/13 and your car has been updated to 52.1, you will need to change the build date on your vehicle order to 07/13 to have Launch Control, Sailing and some other features enabled.
__________________
2012 328i Luxury line | 03/12 production | Premium Package| Saddle Brown Dekota Leather

Mods
M Performance Grilles | M Sport Steering Wheel w/ Paddles | NBT Navigation | Touch Controller | 6NR BMW Apps | 655 Satellite Radio |

Last edited by Aritaurus; 04-18-2014 at 05:22 PM.
Aritaurus is online now   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 10:59 AM   #18
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
The software found a on 2014 model is the same software that would be applied to a 2012 or 2013 in the case of a repair or a recall.

A lot of these features are not enabled the build date on your vehicle order is not at a minimal date.

For example, if you have a 2013 335i with a build date of 03/13 and your car has been updated to 52.1, you will need to change the build date on your vehicle order to 07/13 to have Launch Control, Sailing and some other features enabled.
Thanks! That may explain my observations...

I've coded LC for several people, but they have all reported that it's not functional. They all had newer than the minimum required version (2.50.4) and SAT. All were 2013 builds.

I assume you mean that you changed the build date to 07/13 in the FA and wrote it to the car, right?

After changing and writing the FA back to the car, do you need to VO code EGS and then re-enable LC again, or is writing the new FA (assuming LC was already set to aktiv) sufficient?

Another way to ask this is: Do the ECU's read the FA build date and adjust their behavior dynamically, or is the build date only using during VO and/or FDL coding?

Last edited by Frogman; 04-18-2014 at 11:05 AM.
Frogman is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 11:03 AM   #19
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,746
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The FA Date is used only initially during the VO Coding of an ECU to set the parameters accordingly. After that ECU does not consider FA.

It is not considered at all during FDL Coding.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 12:00 PM   #20
rheza
New Member
 
Drives: F30 328i 2013
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jakarta

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

So you mean even after upgrading or installing the new software, we still can't activate the launch control? And this is because it's restricted by the original built date?
rheza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 12:42 PM   #21
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,746
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It is not restricted by the original date. You can change the VO Date, then VO Code the ECU, and it will use different coding parameters with new date then it did with older date.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2014, 02:19 PM   #22
jeppe777
New Member
 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SA

Posts: 24
iTrader: (0)

Still cant get it working on a f30 335i

Ive got all the coding done correctly
jeppe777 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST