F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Help!!How to retrofit my new cluster into my F30
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-28-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
img76
New Member
4
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: F30 328
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore

iTrader: (0)

Help!!How to retrofit my new cluster into my F30

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I had upgrade my basic kombi to the S6WAA Instrument panel with extended scope..
Problem is my guy try to retrofit but could find the new cluster detected in his computer to do coding, Anybody here had changed before.could u share with me the way and step to retrofit this cluster into my F30 328..

Help and reply is appreciate...
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 08:43 PM   #2
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by img76 View Post
I had upgrade my basic kombi to the S6WAA Instrument panel with extended scope..
Problem is my guy try to retrofit but could find the new cluster detected in his computer to do coding, Anybody here had changed before.could u share with me the way and step to retrofit this cluster into my F30 328..

Help and reply is appreciate...
First you need to add 6WA to your FA (VO) and write it to the car. Then you need to inject CAFD into Kombi ECU. Lastly, you need to VO Code Kombi ECU.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 02:12 AM   #3
img76
New Member
4
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: F30 328
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore

iTrader: (0)

Kombi

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
First you need to add 6WA to your FA (VO) and write it to the car. Then you need to inject CAFD into Kombi ECU. Lastly, you need to VO Code Kombi ECU.
Thank u so much...I will try and see if can
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 03:51 AM   #4
img76
New Member
4
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: F30 328
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
First you need to add 6WA to your FA (VO) and write it to the car. Then you need to inject CAFD into Kombi ECU. Lastly, you need to VO Code Kombi ECU.


We added 6WA in VO, but my guy can not find the "KOMBI" in ECU LISY.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 03:56 AM   #5
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by img76 View Post
We added 6WA in VO, but my guy can not find the "KOMBI" in ECU LISY.
With the Cluster Connected and Powered up, he read SVT, and there is no Kombi or DKombi or Kombi anything?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 04:07 AM   #6
img76
New Member
4
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: F30 328
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
With the Cluster Connected and Powered up, he read SVT, and there is no Kombi or DKombi or Kombi anything?
If we read svt, then we still can see the BKombi (not DKombi), but if we read ecu, no kombi at all.

BTW, we have added the optical cables and make the MOST ring.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 04:10 AM   #7
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by img76 View Post
If we read svt, then we still can see the BKombi (not DKombi), but if we read ecu, no kombi at all.

BTW, we have added the optical cables and make the MOST ring.
Does BKombi have CAFD with Green Dot next to it, and if so, did you VO Code it with 6WA in VO?

This Kombi is brand new or used?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 04:35 AM   #8
img76
New Member
4
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: F30 328
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Does BKombi have CAFD with Green Dot next to it, and if so, did you VO Code it with 6WA in VO?

This Kombi is brand new or used?
Yes, there is green cafd with green dot next to BKombi, but can not even "read coding data", because it is in fact not in the car, if I do CODING the BKombi, a lot of error msg come out.

This 6WA Instrument Cluster is a brand new set.
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2013, 04:57 AM   #9
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by img76 View Post
Yes, there is green cafd with green dot next to BKombi, but can not even "read coding data", because it is in fact not in the car, if I do CODING the BKombi, a lot of error msg come out.

This 6WA Instrument Cluster is a brand new set.
There has to be something wrong at the hardware level. If the wiring was correct, this Kombi would appear in SVT.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2014, 01:15 PM   #10
Serpent720
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Dear Shawn,

I am having a similar problem as Img76, and the ECU is not found even with 6WA in FA. Tried injected the CAF but no success.

F31 328i
13-11-502
Psdzdata 51.1
6WA in the FA
MOST Ring installed

Only BKOMBI (but not DKOMBI) showing in the SVT

HU CIC retrofited (should i restore it back to the original basic Head Unit before 6WA retrofit?)

(With RACE-CHIP TUNE Box installed in the engine), should remove it before flashing the F6WA?

Really hope you may share some idea.
Many thanks in advance

Last edited by Serpent720; 01-29-2014 at 12:18 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 02:11 AM   #11
Serpent720
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Dear Shawn,

I am having a similar problem as Img76, and the ECU is not found even with 6WA in FA. Tried injected the CAF but no success.

F31 328i
13-11-502
Psdzdata 51.1
6WA in the FA
MOST Ring installed

Only BKOMBI (but not DKOMBI) showing in the SVT

HU CIC retrofited (should i restore it back to the original basic Head Unit before 6WA retrofit?)

(With RACE-CHIP TUNE Box installed in the engine), should remove it before flashing the F6WA?

Really hope you may share some idea.
Many thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 08:00 AM   #12
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Did you wire 6WA to the Most Bus?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-29-2014, 10:52 AM   #13
Serpent720
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn,
Many thanks for your reply.
Yes, the MOST BUS cable was installed from the cluster to the HU.
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2014, 02:33 AM   #14
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Retrofitted CIC and Race Chip shouldn't matter at all.

What happens when you Read ECU instead of Read SVT?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      01-30-2014, 05:35 AM   #15
Serpent720
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Hi Shawn, I will try to read the ECU and let you know after Chinese New Year holiday.
Greetings, and many thanks for your kind help!
Cheers
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2014, 12:42 PM   #16
mougwai
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: FRANCE

iTrader: (0)

Hello,

I have similar problem with my f30, we tryed to retrofit 6wa cluster and it is not seen from impa or esys, this is unbelievable ! We added the most ring, bUt does not change anything..

Cluster is connected to the fem through pt can bus, it seems thant the fem does not handle 6wa cluster...

I am working with inpa and you can see easily module connected amp. Cic. Trsvc... But 6wa cluster does not appear !


I suppose that fem is not compatible with 6wa cluster and should be changed ...
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2014, 01:43 PM   #17
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
What does FEM ECU have to do with Kombi ECU?

When you connect with E-Sys, and "Read ECU" does new Kombi show in SVT?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2014, 05:06 PM   #18
mougwai
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: FRANCE

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
What does FEM ECU have to do with Kombi ECU?

When you connect with E-Sys, and "Read ECU" does new Kombi show in SVT?
Kombi is directly connected to the FEM (or CAS4) by PT CAN bus.

The entry point for diagnose, is the CAS and it does not see the high kombi..

E-SYS/INPA do not see kombi even with FA coded properly.


Kombi gets some informations from the car, i.e kilometers, turn signal, high beam light... but does not work for benzin level, and tachymeter.

Tomorow, i will check error with tool32 from FEM with 6WA instrument connected.
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2014, 05:14 PM   #19
shawnsheridan
Major General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
234
Rep
6,247
Posts

Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Ok. Good luck.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
Appreciate 0
      02-09-2014, 05:58 PM   #20
mougwai
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: FRANCE

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Ok. Good luck.
Thanks you !

i retrofited HUD in my F30 car... but whitout 6WA kombi i cannot use this option


I have similar issue with xenon headlight...

0xD90D16 operating unit light (BEL ), ( LIN): wrong version installed

Stupid FEM.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2014, 11:34 PM   #21
Serpent720
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: F31 328i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Hi Mougwai, are you using 51.1 PsDzdata during coding?
Thanks,
Ken
Appreciate 0
      02-16-2014, 06:51 AM   #22
mougwai
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

Drives: F30 320I
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: FRANCE

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serpent720 View Post
Hi Mougwai, are you using 51.1 PsDzdata during coding?
Thanks,
Ken

Hello,

I am using 50.4 data.

retrofit done !

I swapped my FEM Middle line to FEM Max.. wired most ring to the Head unit and now i can see 6WA Kombi in E SYS or INPA: if you do not connect Most ring, you will not able to see kombi for coding: HeadUnit must have most ring : my business navigation comes without most ring ! (no matter i replaced by NBT)

I don't know why, I was not able to see 6WA Kombi with my orginal FEM (middle line version)... with HU NBTconnected.

for shawnsheridan, you are familar with cluster retrofit, i retrofited used kombi, and in eeprom, we changed vin to my vin car: but the red dot still there !

Cluster is running fine, we can reset service, can be coded... and in identification from kombi, we can see correct VIN

Do i need to reset Vin using FF byte ?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:03 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST