F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Buying a ID5 EVO unit
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-21-2017, 06:55 PM   #1
MyFastM3
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
253
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Za

iTrader: (0)

Buying a ID5 EVO unit

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Hi all,

I have a FY14 F30 with Connected drive etc but it was pre all the goodies that were released. Been looking at Ebay and see a few EBAY units out there, but have a few questions.

I am comfortable with coding as I have done this many times before on the car. The car had a recent update to all components (two months ago) and all the components including the current headunit are up to latest firmware.

Questions:

1. Do I have to buy the Screen as well as the head unit?
2. Do I need the iDrive controller as well or will the current iDrive controller I have work?
3. The unit I am looking at now has
S6AE Teleservices
S6AK Connected Drive Services

I have "Internet" as well (Pairing BT gives me weather etc) do I lose this or is it part of S6AK? Given that the original VIN has Connected Drive Services how does one carry on with the services or is it bound to the entire car's VIN (would love to retrofit RTTI)

Anyone on the forum doing these units?
Appreciate 0
      03-21-2017, 07:53 PM   #2
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
266
Rep
1,582
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyFastM3 View Post
Hi all,

I have a FY14 F30 with Connected drive etc but it was pre all the goodies that were released. Been looking at Ebay and see a few EBAY units out there, but have a few questions.

I am comfortable with coding as I have done this many times before on the car. The car had a recent update to all components (two months ago) and all the components including the current headunit are up to latest firmware.

Questions:

1. Do I have to buy the Screen as well as the head unit?
2. Do I need the iDrive controller as well or will the current iDrive controller I have work?
3. The unit I am looking at now has
S6AE Teleservices
S6AK Connected Drive Services

I have "Internet" as well (Pairing BT gives me weather etc) do I lose this or is it part of S6AK? Given that the original VIN has Connected Drive Services how does one carry on with the services or is it bound to the entire car's VIN (would love to retrofit RTTI)

Anyone on the forum doing these units?


1. Do I have to buy the Screen as well as the head unit?

Yes, NBT1 screen will not work as NBT EVO uses APIX2.

2. Do I need the iDrive controller as well or will the current iDrive controller I have work?

Current one will work as so will the touch functionality.

3. The unit I am looking at now has
S6AE Teleservices
S6AK Connected Drive Services

I have "Internet" as well (Pairing BT gives me weather etc) do I lose this or is it part of S6AK? Given that the original VIN has Connected Drive Services how does one carry on with the services or is it bound to the entire car's VIN (would love to retrofit RTTI)

You will lose all of these services as your vehicle is using TCB and not ATM for Telematics. SOS will still work as it will go through the loud speaker underneath the steering wheel.


Also take note that you would need to get an ID5 unit that has the GPS connector. If you decide to go for a native ID5 unit, you will need either an ATM module from a donor vehicle or an ATM emulator as native ID5 units are not equipped with the GPS connector and grabs the signal from the ATM module.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 2:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2017, 04:00 AM   #3
MyFastM3
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
253
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Za

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmercoders View Post
1. Do I have to buy the Screen as well as the head unit?

Yes, NBT1 screen will not work as NBT EVO uses APIX2.

2. Do I need the iDrive controller as well or will the current iDrive controller I have work?

Current one will work as so will the touch functionality.

3. The unit I am looking at now has
S6AE Teleservices
S6AK Connected Drive Services

I have "Internet" as well (Pairing BT gives me weather etc) do I lose this or is it part of S6AK? Given that the original VIN has Connected Drive Services how does one carry on with the services or is it bound to the entire car's VIN (would love to retrofit RTTI)

You will lose all of these services as your vehicle is using TCB and not ATM for Telematics. SOS will still work as it will go through the loud speaker underneath the steering wheel.


Also take note that you would need to get an ID5 unit that has the GPS connector. If you decide to go for a native ID5 unit, you will need either an ATM module from a donor vehicle or an ATM emulator as native ID5 units are not equipped with the GPS connector and grabs the signal from the ATM module.
Mr.SugarSkulls

And that is why you ask people like you thank you @bimmercoders

So here is the thing:

Get the screen - Check
Get the iDrive controller - Check
Understand the services - Check (this can also be done with coding?)
- Question: Can you change the original VIN on the unit back to the VIN of my car so the services of my car can be white listed again or will this not work. - Really don't want to lose the internet functionality use the Google search for when BMW maps (yes even the latest maps fail me) fail.

If one can't really access any of the new features due to it all being online account based now by BMW (clever buggers) {I don't have a online services account right now and BMW in our country doesn't allow us to subscribe to it unless you buy a new car with the services} - then is there really any point spending the money on the new unit?
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2017, 10:57 AM   #4
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
266
Rep
1,582
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyFastM3 View Post
Mr.SugarSkulls

And that is why you ask people like you thank you @bimmercoders

So here is the thing:

Get the screen - Check
Get the iDrive controller - Check
Understand the services - Check (this can also be done with coding?)
- Question: Can you change the original VIN on the unit back to the VIN of my car so the services of my car can be white listed again or will this not work. - Really don't want to lose the internet functionality use the Google search for when BMW maps (yes even the latest maps fail me) fail.

If one can't really access any of the new features due to it all being online account based now by BMW (clever buggers) {I don't have a online services account right now and BMW in our country doesn't allow us to subscribe to it unless you buy a new car with the services} - then is there really any point spending the money on the new unit?

Bottom line is, if you come from a pre-2016 setup, there is no way for you to have a 100% working ID5 retrofit even if you have the proper head unit. I've heard of some guys in Russia who were able to install an ATM module from a donor vehicle but it will be difficult to find one.

Only 2016+ models for the F2x, F3x, F80, F82, F83, F87 have the proper Telematics hardware to fully work with ID5.

I currently hold the only fully working ID5 retrofit in North America and I am only able to do it because my vehicle is a 2016 model that has the necessary prerequisites.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 2:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      03-22-2017, 01:31 PM   #5
MyFastM3
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
253
Posts

Drives: m3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Za

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmercoders View Post
Bottom line is, if you come from a pre-2016 setup, there is no way for you to have a 100% working ID5 retrofit even if you have the proper head unit. I've heard of some guys in Russia who were able to install an ATM module from a donor vehicle but it will be difficult to find one.

Only 2016+ models for the F2x, F3x, F80, F82, F83, F87 have the proper Telematics hardware to fully work with ID5.

I currently hold the only fully working ID5 retrofit in North America and I am only able to do it because my vehicle is a 2016 model that has the necessary prerequisites.
@bimmercoders - thats just sad

Great that you got it working though

They changed so much in these versions throughout the years wow! I bet the new Tacho is going to require the ID5 - watch.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2017, 10:53 AM   #6
AGONXF30
Lieutenant
United_States
77
Rep
406
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i S-Line/Melbourne Red
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Upstate

iTrader: (0)

So if I have a 2012, there is not way to have a fully working ID5/6?
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2017, 03:12 PM   #7
steve@codemybimmer
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
steve@codemybimmer's Avatar
Canada
266
Rep
1,582
Posts


Drives: 2016 M235i xDrive Cabriolet
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto, ON

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGONXF30 View Post
So if I have a 2012, there is not way to have a fully working ID5/6?
It will be possible to have everything working minus ConnectedDrive.
__________________
Codemybimmer
USA Toll Free: +1(866)480-8094 Canada: +1(647)849-1003 (9:00am - 2:00pm) EST info@codemybimmer.ca;.;www.codemybimmer.ca
2018 CIC & NBT Map Updates | Remote Coding Package| Sirius XM Retrofit Save 10% With Promo Code "Bimmerpost"
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2017, 07:57 PM   #8
Mwahab
Banned
Egypt
35
Rep
193
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Cairo,Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW F30  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmercoders
Quote:
Originally Posted by AGONXF30 View Post
So if I have a 2012, there is not way to have a fully working ID5/6?
It will be possible to have everything working minus ConnectedDrive.
If i have a headunit nbt2 taken out from a car, what else do i need to complete the kit in order to retrofit it on pre-lci? emulator, wiring harness etc
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2018, 06:15 PM   #9
Chestermix
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 335d xdrive
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Ireland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mwahab View Post
If i have a headunit nbt2 taken out from a car, what else do i need to complete the kit in order to retrofit it on pre-lci? emulator, wiring harness etc
Just wondering if you managed to finish your project?
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2018, 06:55 PM   #10
deneyer
Private
5
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

If you can get bmw to sell you an atm module with the EMEI nr linked to your vin a fully working retroft of nbt evo with connect function is possible. Don't know if bmw will sell you a new module and the atm is about 600 euro if im correct
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:50 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST