F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Deactivate Comfort Access Hands-Free Trunk Release
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-23-2017, 09:07 PM   #1
DMVisions
New Member
4
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Deactivate Comfort Access Hands-Free Trunk Release

Hi Everyone!

This may seem like an odd request, but I'm seeking advice for how to deactivate my hands-free trunk release on my 2017 330i Wagon.

Reason: I just had an invisihitch installed and unfortunately this interferers with the motion detectors for the comfort access hands-free trunk release. This is a basic 1 1/4" hitch designed for carrying a bike rack. As a result, the trunk/hatch will open based on the slightest movement from my hitch and/or hitch mounted bike rack.

As you can imagine this is very troublesome as the hatch will open directly into my bike!!!! I'm happy I noticed quickly after install before I had the opportunity to accidently damage both my bike and my hatch!

Unlike the sedans, the wagons don't have a "trunk lock" button located in the glove box. It seems like there must be a way to deactivate the hands-free sensor. Is this something that I could simply unplug?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated! I can't imagine I'm the only wagon guy who's ran into this problem.

PS: Roof only isn't a solution. I have two (road) bike racks on the roof of my car as well. Sometimes it's necessary I have the ability to carry 2 mountain bikes or 4 road bikes.

Thanks everyone!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 09:34 PM   #2
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
806
Rep
3,023
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

This would be a coding fix. If you unplug the sensor you'd probably have a permanent warning on the dash.
You can code just about anything, the hard part is finding the code to change, unless you speak German.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 10:48 PM   #3
DMVisions
New Member
4
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
This would be a coding fix. If you unplug the sensor you'd probably have a permanent warning on the dash.
You can code just about anything, the hard part is finding the code to change, unless you speak German.
Unfortunately I don't! The dealer wasn't to helpful when I called a few days ago and asked the question if they could fix the issue through coding.
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2017, 11:11 PM   #4
jtskariah
Bud Light General
jtskariah's Avatar
United_States
48
Rep
339
Posts

Drives: f30 335i
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMVisions View Post
Unfortunately I don't! The dealer wasn't to helpful when I called a few days ago and asked the question if they could fix the issue through coding.
Contact bimmertech they can do remote coding for you. They should be able to solve your problem at a cheaper rate than the dealer.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 03:26 PM   #5
2kaccordocoupe
Brigadier General
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
260
Rep
3,647
Posts

Drives: MY2017 M4
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Six

iTrader: (2)

It's the same coding that happens when you install a CF rear diffuser, the dealer should know about it.

15. Concluding work and coding
The retrofit system is relevant to programming/coding only if the carbon rear diffuser retrofit set is installed.
– Connect the battery
– Connect the battery charger to the car
– Connect the car to the ISTA work shop system
– Call up the ISTA/P car programming facility
– If using ISTA/P, please note the instructions provided in the ISTA/P application documentation
– Retrofit K-word: Select"DSMO"via the-Conversion-path and work through the created action plan
– If necessary, carry out a car test using the ISTA system and note or work through any entered error memory
– Conduct a function test
– Re-assemble the car in a logical manner
– Give the customer the customer information

Last edited by 2kaccordocoupe; 04-24-2017 at 03:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 03:42 PM   #6
Gabreigns
Captain
Gabreigns's Avatar
251
Rep
895
Posts

Drives: F3x
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I have a wagon with the same invisihitch for a few years now and I never have had this issue.
I have a Thule bike rack that I mount on there into the 1.25 hitch receiver.
When the hitch was installed the installer made sure that the comfort access system was reinstalled properly.
I am thinking if it is either a faulty install or a faulty comfort access system in the trunk area.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 06:56 PM   #7
DMVisions
New Member
4
Rep
9
Posts

Drives: 2017 330i xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtskariah View Post
Contact bimmertech they can do remote coding for you. They should be able to solve your problem at a cheaper rate than the dealer.
I will give them a call. Looks Promising.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
It's the same coding that happens when you install a CF rear diffuser, the dealer should know about it.

15. Concluding work and coding
The retrofit system is relevant to programming/coding only if the carbon rear diffuser retrofit set is installed.
Connect the battery
Connect the battery charger to the car
Connect the car to the ISTA work shop system
Call up the ISTA/P car programming facility
If using ISTA/P, please note the instructions provided in the ISTA/P application documentation
Retrofit K-word: Select"DSMO"via the-Conversion-path and work through the created action plan
If necessary, carry out a car test using the ISTA system and note or work through any entered error memory
Conduct a function test
Re-assemble the car in a logical manner
Give the customer the customer information
Is this information what I would provide my local dealer and ask them to perform?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabreigns View Post
I have a wagon with the same invisihitch for a few years now and I never have had this issue.
I have a Thule bike rack that I mount on there into the 1.25 hitch receiver.
When the hitch was installed the installer made sure that the comfort access system was reinstalled properly.
I am thinking if it is either a faulty install or a faulty comfort access system in the trunk area.
I think my problem is I have the M Performance rear diffuser that just "barely" touches the hitch. The movement from the hitch causes the diffuser to slightly move. As a result it activates the hand's free trunk release. Are you ever worries about your remote button accidently being pushed and opening into your bike? My last car didn't have automatic hatch opening so I never even thought about this!

Thanks everyone!
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 08:11 PM   #8
Gabreigns
Captain
Gabreigns's Avatar
251
Rep
895
Posts

Drives: F3x
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Gotcha makes sense about the diffusor.
Yes I am worried it accidentally opening about when I have the key in my pocket and the bikes on. But I also take off and put the rack on whenever I need going off on my bike rides and I use the CA far to regularly to code it permanently off when the hitch is off.
But I do see your predicament.
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2017, 10:57 PM   #9
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
806
Rep
3,023
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DMVisions View Post
Unfortunately I don't! The dealer wasn't to helpful when I called a few days ago and asked the question if they could fix the issue through coding.
Post the question in the Coding section, someone probably knows how to do it. As for coding, it's intimidating until you do it the first time, and there's way too much useful stuff you can code to not learn how.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2017, 08:50 AM   #10
2kaccordocoupe
Brigadier General
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
260
Rep
3,647
Posts

Drives: MY2017 M4
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Six

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billfitz View Post
Post the question in the Coding section, someone probably knows how to do it. As for coding, it's intimidating until you do it the first time, and there's way too much useful stuff you can code to not learn how.
To code it off/disable it your self is very easy, FEM_BODY --> CAM_SMART_OPENER = nicht_aktiv

I also saw a few members that moved the antenna to the left a bit and it fixed it. This was also with the m perf diffuser.
I disabled mine via coding but I do miss this feature so I am going to try to play with the antenna placement this week.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:56 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST