F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Can u retrofit a Combox Media to a base F30?
proTUNING Freaks
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-08-2012, 03:55 PM   #1
yujyh
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Can u retrofit a Combox Media to a base F30?

Can it be done if the car has no sat nav and the smaller screen?
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2012, 10:05 PM   #2
PrazVT
Second Lieutenant
PrazVT's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
282
Posts

Drives: '15 228i M Sport Track 6mt
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Ramon, CA

iTrader: (0)

I exchanged a few e-mails w/ Patryk from bimmer-tech a month ago or so and he seemed to think it would work. Excerpt:

"If you have the Combox (no matter which one) you will be able to use the Apple white cable.

However I just checked the BMW diagrams and it seems that your car will have the USB port connected directly to the head unit
and this is why the Apple white cable might not work and this will be just basic iPod integration.

If you had taken the 6NL option then they would have installed the Combox Telematics and the USB port would have been connected to the Combox.

Assuming the head units that are installed in cars with 6NH and those installed with options 6NL are the same
we should be able to retrofit the Combox, but most probably we shall not be able to make it a permanent retrofit.
I mean that you would need to disconnect the Combox before your dealer could update the car software in the future.
I am thinking about the Media version that is cheaper than the Telematics."
__________________
2015 228i M Sport 6mt + Track Handling Package
2012 328i Sport 6mt (retired)
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 12:44 AM   #3
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,544
Posts

Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

Does ur can have enhanced BT and or BMW Assist?
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 06:12 AM   #4
yujyh
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

No my car has the base Bluetooth and iPod connects through Y-Cable. Thats why I thought the Combox Media might work but not the Combox Telematics.
My dealer is also checking with BMW but I have some doubts there as well.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2012, 07:58 AM   #5
yujyh
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

trying now to get 06nk fitted only, hopefully that doesn't need as much HW as 06nl
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 12:38 PM   #6
yujyh
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Dealer just told me it cannot be done, sniff...
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2012, 12:43 PM   #7
PrazVT
Second Lieutenant
PrazVT's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
282
Posts

Drives: '15 228i M Sport Track 6mt
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Ramon, CA

iTrader: (0)

It's not that BMW can't do it - they won't do it. Both Patryk (bimmer-tech) and Aleks (Alekshop) have said they can do it.
__________________
2015 228i M Sport 6mt + Track Handling Package
2012 328i Sport 6mt (retired)
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 08:14 AM   #8
yujyh
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: F30 320d Luxury S-Automatic
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: London, UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks, am returning the car now and getting one which has 6NL and a fix for the other problems I had so it's all good and lucky! Cant wait
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 11:14 AM   #9
john08135i
Major
john08135i's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
1,023
Posts

Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
What is the combox exactly?
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2016, 04:09 PM   #10
tarekelsakka
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 316i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

I apologize for reviving such an old thread, but did anyone get around to doing this? I have a 2013 F30 with the small screen and standard Bluetooth which only works for phone calls. I do have a USB port in the glovebox which I use for music playback through a USB flash drive.

I also have BMW's Connected Drive on the display but it only has one option, which is to contact the BMW Emergency Services in case anything happens on the road.

Replacing the iDrive with a nav one is extremely expensive and not easy to do, so I thought retrofitting a COMBOX would be cheaper and easier. Does anyone know if it's doable and exactly what it requires? And what exactly would it enable? Premium Bluetooth?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2016, 10:18 PM   #11
Adamr916
Lieutenant
Adamr916's Avatar
United_States
66
Rep
577
Posts

Drives: 2014 328d
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Houston, Texas

iTrader: (1)

You won't even have to retrofit the combox, you just need to get enhanced bluetooth turned on by coding.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2016, 06:37 AM   #12
tarekelsakka
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 316i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamr916 View Post
You won't even have to retrofit the combox, you just need to get enhanced bluetooth turned on by coding.
But I've read and heard that in order to get enhanced Bluetooth to work, I'll need a COMBOX installed in the trunk of the car, regardless of coding.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2016, 12:23 PM   #13
Patrys@BimmerTech
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Patrys@BimmerTech's Avatar
Poland
169
Rep
1,816
Posts


Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Warsaw/Poland

iTrader: (7)

If you send us an email at info@bimmer-tech.net with your VIN we will check if you need just software or the full Combox retrofit kit.
__________________
BimmerTech
Phone (USA): (646) 439-7920 (7:00am - 3:00pm ET) :: info@bimmer-tech.net :: www.bimmer-tech.net
Installation facilities worldwide.

Appreciate 0
      10-10-2016, 12:56 PM   #14
tarekelsakka
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 316i
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrys@BimmerTech View Post
If you send us an email at info@bimmer-tech.net with your VIN we will check if you need just software or the full Combox retrofit kit.
Thanks for your reply, Patrick. I've heard a lot about you here and in other forums.

I sent the VIN number to the email address you provided. Thank you!

Last edited by tarekelsakka; 10-10-2016 at 01:02 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST