F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > ASD retrofit?
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-07-2016, 09:41 AM   #1
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
20
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

ASD retrofit?

Hi,

I got a 328i 2013 with JB4, the power is enough but the sound from the inside is not very nice. I don't want to spend much money on a new exhaust (I don't like it when they sound too much). But I would love to get a better sound inside of the car. And that's why ASD would be perfect!

I know you can purchase the ASD module, but will it work on my car?

I have the HU_ENTRY, with a 6.5" screen and the standard speakers (+dash center speaker). I guess this is not the Hifi-package.
I checked the trunk on the left side, and there is no amp at all there.

Is it possible to fit the ASD and code it in without many additional retrofits?

I don't need a discussion about ASD and that it is fake and so on
Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2016, 03:58 PM   #2
Joshk123
Enlisted Member
Joshk123's Avatar
7
Rep
32
Posts

Drives: F30 estoril blue 320d
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Kent

iTrader: (0)

Yeah I'm also hoping this can be done. I have a 320d and would love for there to be more sound inside. Hopefully it's not too difficult.
I saw some of the units on eBay for sale
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2016, 05:36 PM   #3
Level3
1/2 Asian Sensation
Level3's Avatar
United_States
97
Rep
367
Posts

Drives: 2011 BMW M3 e92 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1102274
__________________
All too easy...
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2016, 05:38 PM   #4
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
20
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Level3 View Post
Yes, that's the thread I learned it was possible. But I can't figure out if I can do it in my car. As I haven't got any amp in the trunk. Do you need hifi to be able to retrofit asd?
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2016, 06:41 AM   #5
hsk1610
Lieutenant
45
Rep
415
Posts

Drives: 2013 328i xDrive
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Noticed that there is a ASD bypass harness by Technic now. Is there a harness available for those who want to connect an ASD to the hi-fi amp?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2016, 02:23 PM   #6
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joq3 View Post
Yes, that's the thread I learned it was possible. But I can't figure out if I can do it in my car. As I haven't got any amp in the trunk. Do you need hifi to be able to retrofit asd?
The retrofit should also be possible with only stereo system.
In Rheingold there are descriptions how it works with stereo, hifi and Hifi professional or bang & olufsen.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 02:47 AM   #7
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
20
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
The retrofit should also be possible with only stereo system.
In Rheingold there are descriptions how it works with stereo, hifi and Hifi professional or bang & olufsen.
Great news! Do you know more? What's needed, which cable you need and where to plug it in?

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 10:22 AM   #8
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joq3 View Post
Great news! Do you know more? What's needed, which cable you need and where to plug it in?

Thank you!
I found this circuit diagram in Rheingold (I hope you recognize something. It's not easy to print from RG).
The pins and connectors should be like in this thread

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...1102274&page=4
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 10:31 AM   #9
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
20
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
I found this circuit diagram in Rheingold (I hope you recognize something. It's not easy to print from RG).
The pins and connectors should be like in this thread

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...1102274&page=4
Thank you very much!
Are the numbers, the pin numbers on the head unit and the ASD-unit?
3,7,2 and so on, and 38,30,9 and so on for ASD.

I think this is a picture of a HU_ENTRY, which I have:


Does this mean I need to find which pin is what number, then just plug them in the right pin according to the picture you got. And the existing cables should be plugged in the ASD-unit?
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 12:00 PM   #10
Gabrola
Second Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
Egypt
57
Rep
267
Posts

Drives: 2016 F23
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

If you have the standard speaker system without an amp, this will be a bitch to wire. The speakers are connected directly to the headunit so you will need to remove the speaker pins from the headunit quadlock connector and somehow route these wires to the ASD module in the back. Then you need to install additional wires from the ASD module back to headunit again.
On the Hifi system this would have been much easier since all the wires you need are connected to the amp in the trunk.
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2016, 12:59 PM   #11
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabrola View Post
If you have the standard speaker system without an amp, this will be a bitch to wire. The speakers are connected directly to the headunit so you will need to remove the speaker pins from the headunit quadlock connector and somehow route these wires to the ASD module in the back. Then you need to install additional wires from the ASD module back to headunit again.
On the Hifi system this would have been much easier since all the wires you need are connected to the amp in the trunk.
He can also install the asd module near the head unit.
Because he has no amp there's no need to install the asd in the trunk.

@[joq3]
yes, these are the pin numbers.
And normally you should also find the cable colors like in the picture.
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2016, 01:40 AM   #12
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
20
Rep
236
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by atzebmw View Post
He can also install the asd module near the head unit.
Because he has no amp there's no need to install the asd in the trunk.

@[joq3]
yes, these are the pin numbers.
And normally you should also find the cable colors like in the picture.
That was what I was thinking too. Why not put it somewhere behind the head unit. And cut the wires that should to in the asd, make a plug or solder it.

Is it possible to make a plug?

Where should I take 12v from?
EDIT: And also K-CAN2, or is K-CAN2 and 12V included in the Rheingold blueprint?

Last edited by joq3; 05-24-2016 at 01:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2016, 03:13 AM   #13
Gabrola
Second Lieutenant
Gabrola's Avatar
Egypt
57
Rep
267
Posts

Drives: 2016 F23
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Egypt

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joq3 View Post
That was what I was thinking too. Why not put it somewhere behind the head unit. And cut the wires that should to in the asd, make a plug or solder it.

Is it possible to make a plug?

Where should I take 12v from?
EDIT: And also K-CAN2, or is K-CAN2 and 12V included in the Rheingold blueprint?
If it doesn't fit behind then headunit, try installing it in the passenger footwell. This is where the amp for the Alpine Hifi retrofit is installed, there's plenty of space there. And yes the wiring for the K-CAN wires and supply wire will be on Rheingold.
Appreciate 0
      05-24-2016, 08:03 AM   #14
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joq3 View Post
That was what I was thinking too. Why not put it somewhere behind the head unit. And cut the wires that should to in the asd, make a plug or solder it.

Is it possible to make a plug?

Where should I take 12v from?
EDIT: And also K-CAN2, or is K-CAN2 and 12V included in the Rheingold blueprint?
Ah yes, you are right. The 12V and K_CAN2 connection was missing on the diagram.
Here it is.
According to this wiring diagram the 12V should taken from F120 in the trunk.
So there is only one cable which must be routed to the front.
And yes, it's also possible to make a plug with the parts from the other thread.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 05:13 AM   #15
GeertB
Private
Belgium
9
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran coupé
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Just found this thread... and it confuses me
I have a 428i with base stereo (no amp) but I do have ASD. I have the ASD amp in the trunk. I ordered the bimmertech amp and a PnP base to hifi harness a while ago. Will this work? The PnP harness needs to be plugged in into the HU.
If I understand the schematic above correctly, normally in an OEM hifi config, the ASD will mix the sounds and then the sound will be amplified by the Hifi amp and then to the speakers. But in a base config the HU itself will amplify the sound and then the sound will be mixed by the ASD and then to the speakers.
I guess in my config the bimmertech amp will come before the ASD. Or am I wrong?
Is that ok?
Appreciate 1
      05-29-2016, 07:12 AM   #16
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

GeertB
You have to be careful, because the ASD works as an amp.
Here the text from Rheingold:
"Via the signal RAD_ON, the ASD control unit receives the information headunit ON. The audio signals are routed through the ASD control unit. In this audio system, the ASD control unit also functions as an audio amplifier."
I'm not sure if it a will work.
And then the right sequence should be: HU -> ASD -> AMP -> Speaker.
At Hifi-System the ASD also comes before AMP.
Appreciate 0
      05-31-2016, 04:30 PM   #17
GeertB
Private
Belgium
9
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran coupé
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

I went out to take a look at my ASD setup today:


As you can see, no amp, only ASD

Close-up of the ASD wiring:





If I understand correctly, the sound of the HU is arriving at the ASD and is amplified there and then going to all my speakers?
Could I plug in a harness in between the existing connecter and the ASD, that picks up the speaker wiring, running it by an aftermarket amp, before continuing to the speakers...?
Could be very easy to wire an aftermarket amp that way. Only need to run separate wires to the subs, and if I want, to a center speaker.
Correct? Or horribly wrong?
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2016, 05:43 PM   #18
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Yes, i think this idea could work.
But i'm not 100% sure.
The problem could be that the amplified signal from the ASD will be amplified again by your own amp.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 02:18 AM   #19
GeertB
Private
Belgium
9
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: 428i Gran coupé
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

That is ok I think, because in a normal car, the HU amplifies the sound. If you put in an aftermarket amp, you also use that signal.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 10:34 AM   #20
jag_alp
New Member
Belgium
1
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: Alpina D4
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

I got all goods delivered by Leebmann24,
I have the PIN Assignments but I'm confused with the wiring,

Can someone clarify how to start with the Wiring to retrofit the ASD, please ?

I have HIFI 676

Can I share the power of the HIFI Amp or do I specifically need to go to Terminal 30B ?
Same question for the K-CAN2.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 12:46 PM   #21
atzebmw
Second Lieutenant
Germany
47
Rep
289
Posts

Drives: BMW 335XD F30 LCI
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Berlin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jag_alp View Post
I got all goods delivered by Leebmann24,
I have the PIN Assignments but I'm confused with the wiring,

Can someone clarify how to start with the Wiring to retrofit the ASD, please ?

I have HIFI 676

Can I share the power of the HIFI Amp or do I specifically need to go to Terminal 30B ?
Same question for the K-CAN2.
Theoretically you can share the power of the hifi amp, but i wouldn't do it, because the original wiring has the extra cable and fuse from 30B.
And maybe it's to much power for only one fuse if you share it.
And the K-CAN2 you have to branch off when you find the yellow/red and yellow/brown cables in the trunk which should be somewhere on the left side.
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2016, 02:35 AM   #22
eluded
2JZ-GTE
eluded's Avatar
Bulgaria
450
Rep
1,559
Posts

Drives: 340 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Sofia

iTrader: (0)

Please take the exhaust off the car and be done with it.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST