F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Cruise Control
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-17-2012, 10:15 PM   #1
Frankisme
Private
Frankisme's Avatar
6
Rep
70
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Alpine White
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Cruise Control

Why do I have to turn this on every time I start the car? Is there anyway to leave it on?

P.s. Automatic start stop comes on every damn time. Why not the cruise?
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

Doesn't it come ON when you set the CC speed ?
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 10:39 PM   #3
LousyShot
Private First Class
LousyShot's Avatar
1
Rep
127
Posts

 
Drives: MY13 MGM 335i
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankisme View Post
Why do I have to turn this on every time I start the car? Is there anyway to leave it on?

P.s. Automatic start stop comes on every damn time. Why not the cruise?
I'd be a little saddened if I have to turn on cruise before I can use it. I know it sounds lazy,
but I like the setup on my E90. It's ready when I want to set a speed without having to enable the system then set the speed. I'm still waiting on my F30 so I guess it's time to get back in my downloaded copy of the manual.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2012, 10:52 PM   #4
Spikey
Captain
Australia
8
Rep
777
Posts

 
Drives: erratically
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: around town~

iTrader: (0)

In the online manual it states:
Quote:
Switching on
Press the button on the steering wheel. The marking in the speedometer is set to the
current speed.
This appears to work the same way as my current E92... I would find it a tad annoying to have to 'switch the functionality on' before I could do the above quote....
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 01:02 AM   #5
RobUK
Major
RobUK's Avatar
United Kingdom
20
Rep
1,100
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
My hunch would be that it's a safety feature for the vehicle to forget all Cruise Control settings between engine starts, as you'd want the driver to consciously activate and set the system.

Having the car recall a previous state/setting could be dangerous. For example I wouldn't want the car to remember any Cruise Control settings from when my other half was driving the car previously.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 02:26 AM   #6
TonyS
Captain
United Kingdom
11
Rep
601
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South West

iTrader: (0)

My 10 year old E46 switches off the cruise control every time. I'd assumed all BMWs did it. Agreed that it's a little annoying but I'm sure it's a safety thing to avoid them being sued by idiots who don't know what they're doing.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 03:01 AM   #7
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

On my car the CC has a switch, so it is always "On" or "Off". But i am pretty sure it forgets the last set speed on restart.

I never tested it by pressing recall while on traffic, maybe it does nothing, maybe it goes Toyota...
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 03:54 AM   #8
F30Driver
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: 330D M-Sport RWD
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

CC needs two button presses to activate.

First to switch the system on/standby. The second to set the current speed as target. Then you use the rocker to move the target speed around the speedo.

Turning the system off from its active state also takes two presses. One to put it into standby and another to turn off completely.

This operation makes sense to me. Especially good now that the 'set' button used to be Volume Up if I recall correctly. Much safer...
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 04:33 AM   #9
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

Sounds complicated, what's wrong with one button to turn on and set to current speed ? I don't see anything dangerous happening if set by accident, it just keep a constant speed, and if you break it deactivate anyway no ?
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 05:24 AM   #10
F30Driver
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

 
Drives: 330D M-Sport RWD
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

It is more about consciously activating it... Rather than a slip of a finger - especially since it was a volume control on previous models!

The safety aspect is probably most extreme in this example. You're accelerating onto the motorway and the system is accidentally activated as you pass 40mph. You make it to 80, realise you're going a little too fast and take your foot off the gas. After a short delay cruise control decides it needs to brake to achieve 40mph in a reasonable time and the car slows down unexpectedly.

There shouldn't be a risk of someone going into the back of you before you work out what's happening - but tailgaters exist and this is a real possibility...
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 05:41 AM   #11
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

Sounds more like poor ergonomics, my CC is a button at the end of the left stalk, so there is no risk of setting it by mistake.

Safety is a poor excuse, if there is a dual of mishandling making it 2 steps does not change that fact. You could set CC ON before getting on the freeway, then still get what you described.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 06:28 AM   #12
PhiTauFord
Private First Class
PhiTauFord's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
160
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i xDrive
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwickers
Sounds complicated, what's wrong with one button to turn on and set to current speed ? I don't see anything dangerous happening if set by accident, it just keep a constant speed, and if you break it deactivate anyway no ?
Wife's new X3 has this cruise setup and it isn't complicated to operate.
__________________
2013 335i xDrive
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 07:12 AM   #13
bananachipz
Captain
16
Rep
819
Posts

 
Drives: F30 Mineral Gray 335i
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwickers View Post
Sounds more like poor ergonomics, my CC is a button at the end of the left stalk, so there is no risk of setting it by mistake.

Safety is a poor excuse, if there is a dual of mishandling making it 2 steps does not change that fact. You could set CC ON before getting on the freeway, then still get what you described.
ZOMG! another .5 millisecond button press! I'm surprised you aren't complaining you need to actually press the accelerator pedal to move forward. After all, "Safety is a poor excuse".

Joking aside, is it really that bad? Every other car I've ever had works the same way.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 07:21 AM   #14
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

Lol actually I don't have to press the gas to move forward, I just release the break and cruise at 5mph
And no I don't care the slightest about CC I almost never use it, I am an engineer so I am just curious about poor implementations.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 08:27 AM   #15
TonyS
Captain
United Kingdom
11
Rep
601
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South West

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwickers View Post
And no I don't care the slightest about CC I almost never use it, I am an engineer so I am just curious about poor implementations.
Interesting - I find the exact opposite. I hate driving a car without CC now because I'm constantly having to look down to check my speed. With CC I can just set it and concentrate on the road.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 09:00 AM   #16
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

That what the HUD is for. Personally I find that CC makes the drive too boring, I prefer to stay alert and play with the car while watching for radars
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 09:05 AM   #17
TonyS
Captain
United Kingdom
11
Rep
601
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: South West

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwickers View Post
That what the HUD is for
Only if you have the HUD. In the UK that's an 800 option.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 09:17 AM   #18
chrisny
Colonel
United_States
32
Rep
2,482
Posts

 
Drives: Msport '13 335xi & '14 X5 35i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

I sense a lot of you have people that tie your shoes for you. Can't that guy push the CC on button for you?
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 09:47 AM   #19
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,700
Posts

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisny View Post
I sense a lot of you have people that tie your shoes for you. Can't that guy push the CC on button for you?
Yeah, the same guy who switches the ASS off, puts the car into sport mode, switches on the auto wipers and sets the dual climate to same (ALL) temperatures. Life is so hard these days.... What were BMW thinking of?

Just give Jeeves the check list....

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 09:59 AM   #20
chrisny
Colonel
United_States
32
Rep
2,482
Posts

 
Drives: Msport '13 335xi & '14 X5 35i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

If Jeeves is willing to switch your ASS off, that guy deserves a raise
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 10:01 AM   #21
chrisny
Colonel
United_States
32
Rep
2,482
Posts

 
Drives: Msport '13 335xi & '14 X5 35i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

The wipers I'm on board with not staying on. Keeps them from going on at the gas station every time the attendant cleans my windshield like my Mercedes does.

CC, who uses this so much that it matters? Why but a BMW if you use cruise that often....

Sport mode, that one I agree should be easily programmable in the standard menus, but still, it's just a push of the button.

ASS, well that one is deserving of its name and at the very least, should default to off when you go through the labor intensive process of putting the car in sport .

Realistically, aside from those they've deemed relevant to safety, all of this should be programmable in the standard menus. It's all computerized, let us configure it how we want. I don't think any of it is worth more than an "ehhh," but no reason it can't be customizable either
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2012, 10:19 AM   #22
jwickers
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
243
Posts

 
Drives: 328i GT
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Shanghai - China

iTrader: (0)

That's so true, otherwise it starts to look like your not driving a car but an airplane. Lucky we can code most otherwise It's button fest at each startup...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST