F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Incorrect Exit Names
RW Carbon
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2012, 11:19 PM   #1
bacampbe
Private
 
Drives: 2012 328i Sport, 2007 MX-5
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)

Incorrect Exit Names

The nav system seems to have many of the freeway exits in the DFW area are listed with by name of the access road, instead of the name of the cross street. Most of the time, that's the same name as the highway you are on. So, basically, the voice prompt keeps telling you to exit onto the road you are already on. And on several freeways, it does this for every singe exit, making the voice prompt almost useless.

I had an old Garmin stand-alone nav unit that did this a few years back. I'm surprised to see the F30 Nav system doing the same thing. I assume they use the same map data. The Navigon iPhone app doesn't have this problem, nor did my wife's old Acura TSX.
bacampbe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2012, 08:11 AM   #2
shoptb
Captain
 
shoptb's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 328i MSport EBII 8A
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus OH

Posts: 696
iTrader: (0)

It's because of all of those frontage roads down in Texas....Navigation Systems (and most humans) can't figure out how those crazy Texas versions of "freeways" are supposed to work. LOL. :-)
__________________
'13 F30 328i, 8SA, EBII, ZMM, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP, ZDA, ZCW, ZDH
shoptb is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-10-2012, 05:51 PM   #3
bacampbe
Private
 
Drives: 2012 328i Sport, 2007 MX-5
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 93
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoptb View Post
It's because of all of those frontage roads down in Texas....Navigation Systems (and most humans) can't figure out how those crazy Texas versions of "freeways" are supposed to work. LOL. :-)
As I mentioned, my wife's previous car (a 6 year old Acura TSX) could figure them out :-) So can Navigon on my iPhone.
bacampbe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-11-2012, 07:33 AM   #4
shoptb
Captain
 
shoptb's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 328i MSport EBII 8A
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Columbus OH

Posts: 696
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bacampbe View Post
As I mentioned, my wife's previous car (a 6 year old Acura TSX) could figure them out :-) So can Navigon on my iPhone.
That was tongue-in-cheek. Any navigation system should be able to figure it out.
__________________
'13 F30 328i, 8SA, EBII, ZMM, ZPP, ZTP, ZLP, ZDA, ZCW, ZDH
shoptb is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST