F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior & interior) > Successfully Retrofited 10.2" Screen to my F30
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-08-2017, 12:09 PM   #1
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Hey there, I know that this has been done before but just wanted to share my successful story about this retrofit.

I had the LCD laying in my room but I didn't have the guts to install it. This last weekend, I manned up and successfully completed the retrofit. This screen makes a lot of difference to my driving experience (bigger camera view, split screen is actually functional, Movies look great.

One of the hardest part (for me) of this retrofit is actually to connect the plug to the new 10.2" Screen. I probably spent 1 hour trying.

Besides showing my little project I'll try to answer any questions that you may have as best as I can.












Last edited by kevinjt; 03-08-2017 at 12:14 PM.
Appreciate 1
      03-08-2017, 12:17 PM   #2
Abi
New Member
United Kingdom
0
Rep
23
Posts

Drives: BMW 318d
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Derby

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW 318d  [0.00]
What about cutting the dash?
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 12:22 PM   #3
Kingpin4
Private First Class
United_States
28
Rep
134
Posts

Drives: 2015 black 435i xdrive f32
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Pennsylvania

iTrader: (0)

Looks great!
Well done!
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 12:30 PM   #4
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abi View Post
What about cutting the dash?
I just had to widen a little bit on both sides where the screen sits with a dremel and round tip. And of course i had to trim the plastic housing of the screen a little
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 12:52 PM   #5
bill_f31
Private
bill_f31's Avatar
17
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: BMW F31 M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Greece

iTrader: (0)

Nice job there !
Do you remember the part number of the screen?
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2017, 01:23 PM   #6
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bill_f31 View Post
Nice job there !
Do you remember the part number of the screen?
I'm pretty sure it was this one, 6550 9296939. But just search for F15, F16 screens.

Last edited by kevinjt; 03-08-2017 at 01:32 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2017, 03:39 PM   #7
CazuaLLUK
Brigadier General
CazuaLLUK's Avatar
1064
Rep
4,492
Posts

Drives: 2014 320d F30 M Sport
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Portsmouth, UK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Bloody cool!!
Appreciate 1
      03-09-2017, 04:10 PM   #8
13PTK
Private
13PTK's Avatar
United Kingdom
3
Rep
58
Posts

Drives: E92 330d,F32 435d xDrive
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: FAIR OAK

iTrader: (0)

Well done ,u did a better job i did i have it in my F32
Appreciate 1
      03-09-2017, 04:13 PM   #9
vorph
Second Lieutenant
49
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Now I'm gonna buy for myself 😆
Appreciate 1
      03-09-2017, 04:33 PM   #10
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13PTK View Post
Well done ,u did a better job i did i have it in my F32
It's such a great retrofit to have right?, thanks for the compliment!
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2017, 04:35 PM   #11
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
Now I'm gonna buy for myself ��
Do itttt!

The plug that connects to the new Screen its such a bi#$%#.. If you struggle to connect the cable (because is too short) feel free to trim a little bit of the plastic where the cable comes out. This will give you more room to play with the cable.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2017, 04:49 PM   #12
vorph
Second Lieutenant
49
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Got screen, I did this retrofit few weeks ago with EVO ID5.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2017, 04:59 PM   #13
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
Got screen, I did this retrofit few weeks ago with EVO ID5.
Pics!!
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2017, 06:09 PM   #14
CazuaLLUK
Brigadier General
CazuaLLUK's Avatar
1064
Rep
4,492
Posts

Drives: 2014 320d F30 M Sport
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Portsmouth, UK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
Now I'm gonna buy for myself 😆
buy me one while your at it!?
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2017, 02:55 AM   #15
vorph
Second Lieutenant
49
Rep
237
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: South

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CazuaLLUK View Post
buy me one while your at it!?
Will keep eyes wide open for your screen.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2017, 12:08 PM   #16
CazuaLLUK
Brigadier General
CazuaLLUK's Avatar
1064
Rep
4,492
Posts

Drives: 2014 320d F30 M Sport
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Portsmouth, UK

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vorph View Post
Will keep eyes wide open for your screen.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2017, 12:59 PM   #17
jeffc83
First Lieutenant
68
Rep
302
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i XDrive Luxury Line
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Philly Burbs, PA

iTrader: (0)

Still looking for one of these at a good price; too much gouging on eBay now.
Appreciate 1
      03-15-2017, 03:37 PM   #18
magic77
Brigadier General
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
125
Rep
3,655
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (1)

Can you take a picture of the back of the unit through the windscreen interested how the fit is on that side
__________________

F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2017, 03:50 PM   #19
jeffc83
First Lieutenant
68
Rep
302
Posts

Drives: 2015 328i XDrive Luxury Line
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Philly Burbs, PA

iTrader: (0)

If anyone and I mean anyone can find me a unit for under 300, I'd greatly appreciate it! STILL searching here...
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2017, 04:10 PM   #20
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by magic77 View Post
Can you take a picture of the back of the unit through the windscreen interested how the fit is on that side
I'll try to take a pic for you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffc83 View Post
If anyone and I mean anyone can find me a unit for under 300, I'd greatly appreciate it! STILL searching here...
I'll keep an eye out, i was lucky to find mine for $150 , I bought the screen before i even got the car...
Appreciate 0
      03-17-2017, 01:42 PM   #21
steelerfan
Lieutenant
steelerfan's Avatar
66
Rep
401
Posts

Drives: F30 335i Msport 6MT F25 X3.35
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NC

iTrader: (4)

can you confirm if you have HU_NBT? Guessing so since it's a 2014... The larger screen would never display on my HU_CIC. i need to get back at see what model my screen i purchased was.
__________________
OEM 437M Wheels | Dinan Exhaust & CAI | MPE: Front Aero Lip | Rear Diffuser | Rear Spoiler | Interior trim | Red Brakes |
Click here to see my entire Build Thread

Appreciate 0
      03-17-2017, 02:21 PM   #22
kevinjt
Private First Class
23
Rep
173
Posts

Drives: 335i M-Sport 14'
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Puerto Rico

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelerfan View Post
can you confirm if you have HU_NBT? Guessing so since it's a 2014... The larger screen would never display on my HU_CIC. i need to get back at see what model my screen i purchased was.
Yes, I do have HU_NBT. Unfortunately, You need to do an NBT Retrofit
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
10.2, f15, f30, lcd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST