F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Active sound with bimmertech amp experience?
Heel & Toe Apparel
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-23-2016, 12:13 PM   #1
LeVous
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 2015 f31 (328xi touring/wagon)
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Near Atlanta, ga

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Active sound with bimmertech amp experience?

I'd like to hear from folks who LIKE the sound of Active Sound in their car and installed the bimmertech amp. I'm hoping it isn't unreasonably loud. There is a cable available to disable the sound but I really love it. It makes the car feel faster and is just fun. In fact, I would find it entertaining to code the m6 sound in my f31 grocery getter

Is it going to be annoying once I receive and install my amp?
Is there any way to attenuate that engine noise signal?

Thanks for your support
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2016, 03:42 PM   #2
sandwi54
Captain
sandwi54's Avatar
123
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: F80, F36, F15 50i
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California

iTrader: (1)

With Bimmertech amp, you will have to code off the active sound. It's extremely loud and drones as well. I would not install the amp unless you know how to code the AS off immediately after installation, since the AS is unbearable with the amp.
__________________
2017 M3 YMB DCT
2016 435i GC EBII (wife's)
2015 X5 50i (family car)
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2016, 12:08 AM   #3
ecompk
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2014 328i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

You can play around with the DSP tuning to make ASD reasonable. The default BimmerTech tune makes ASD unbearably loud. I'm using a slightly modified version of "Marshalltj _Aug 3 _Revised_TUNE_BSW_LHD" and I feel the ASD is only slightly louder than the base HiFi amp and still very reasonable. (I modified it so the center channel is only getting input from the front channels and I turned down the level slightly)

If you have the time, try all the different settings people posted and tweak your favorite one as needed.

ASD audio level isn't controlled by the head unit's volume control. So a quick way to tell if the ASD is going to be too loud is if you have to turn down the volume for your music compared to the original HiFi amp.

http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...mmertech+audio
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2016, 11:58 AM   #4
evssss1
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: F36 428i MSport Alpine White
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: HK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Agree with ecompk, you can tune the amp by pushing down the gain of channels in order to make ASD less loud. I am doing the same. Indeed I have tuned my amp in the way the ASD is little bit quieter than factory hifi amp.

Another point to note is the EQ. You really need to play around the EQ (best using a mic to fine tune the EQ using the ATF software) to fit your cabin acoustic environment. By doing so I get a very impressive music quality (even with stock speakers) and a very balanced ASD sound.
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2016, 09:41 AM   #5
shivaswrath
Brigadier General
shivaswrath's Avatar
United_States
337
Rep
4,076
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost in NJ

iTrader: (3)

thank god I don't have ASD (they didn't have $hit in 2012!)
__________________
2012 335i Mineral Gray
JB4|M Performance Exhaust/Brakes/Suspension/LSD|Bav Stage 1/AMP||ER CP/IC/DP | Dinan CAI/N55 PWG BIG TURBO|BMWF30.com
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2016, 10:17 AM   #6
LeVous
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

Drives: 2015 f31 (328xi touring/wagon)
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Near Atlanta, ga

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
So my active sound is gone when I plug in the bimmerTech. I don't have access to a Windows laptop to check the tune yet. Any thoughts on why?
__________________
Grey f31
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2016, 06:00 PM   #7
ecompk
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2014 328i
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Maybe they forgot to load the BimmerTech tune when they shipped you your unit. I vaguely remember the default tune being very quiet.

I think there's a way to load the tune with a micro SD card if you don't have a Windows laptop. I think I read that some where, but I haven't tried it myself.

You might also want to play with the balance and fader in the head unit to make sure each individual speaker is playing audio. I got a bad cable where a few of the pins came loose so I would randomly loose audio from a corner of my car.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST