F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Ground location for aftermarket amp
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-05-2012, 10:14 PM   #1
NateDog07V
Private First Class
3
Rep
124
Posts

 
Drives: '13 335i M-Sport BSM/CoralRed
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Arlington, VA

iTrader: (0)

Ground location for aftermarket amp

Anyone located a good spot to run a ground wire for an aftermarket amp?? Towards the front section of the trunk (near the seats) would be preferable. I haven't really looked back there much yet so sorry if there is an obvious location.
BTW, I totally didn't realize the battery is in the trunk! Should make running the battery lead a heck of a lot easier than to under the hood which i've done on all my old cars. I'm installing a Alpine MRP-M500 and 12" Alpine Type R to beef up the stock HiFi system
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2012, 09:48 AM   #2
JYohay
Banned
24
Rep
2,011
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 X5
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

just use the battery negative terminal.
i am running this and have no interference
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2012, 10:02 AM   #3
NateDog07V
Private First Class
3
Rep
124
Posts

 
Drives: '13 335i M-Sport BSM/CoralRed
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Arlington, VA

iTrader: (0)

I think the ground wire in my amp wiring kit is only like 3 or 6 ft long though which won't reach unless i mount my amp behind the carpeting near the battery somehow.... where did you mount your amp ?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2012, 12:26 PM   #4
Kaitain
Private
2
Rep
86
Posts

 
Drives: Estoril Blue II F30 M Sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SF Bay Area

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NateDog07V View Post
I think the ground wire in my amp wiring kit is only like 3 or 6 ft long though which won't reach unless i mount my amp behind the carpeting near the battery somehow.... where did you mount your amp ?
So go to an audio store and buy a 10 foot grounding cable that is 2 or 4 gauge, for $15 and you no longer have this problem....
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2012, 04:38 AM   #5
Ermagerd
Private
Ermagerd's Avatar
0
Rep
67
Posts

 
Drives: a huffy
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Va Beach

iTrader: (0)

What size amp are you running? If you're going to make a long run to the battery, I'd use at a minimum 2ga. If it was my own car, I'd run 1/0 to the amp, no matter if it's a 600 or 1800 watt amp. Long story short, long runs on those cables really increase resistance.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST