F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Code out TPMS
Heel & Toe Apparel
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-14-2016, 05:06 AM   #1
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Code out TPMS

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Well, winter has finally hit the UK and I've gone over to my winter wheels on my 2015 LCI. However, the new wheels do not have the TPMS sensors on. I tried coding out the TPMS and bring back the old RPA with the following code:

In HU_NBT > 3001, code RDC to nicht_activ
In HU_NBT > 3001, code RDC_SAFETY to nicht_activ
In HU_NBT > 3001, code RPA to active

This still leaves the nag triangle and I get the chimes when I start up. So looking further into this I've found this for an F10:

Removed 2VB from FA and VO code HU_NBT and KOMBI.

(there was also some fuse pulling mentioned on the F10 but I'm not sure where the fuses are on F30 or if it needs to be done?)

Will this work for a LCI F30 or are there further steps?

And when summer finally arrives in Scotland, is it just a case of reversing this?

*** SOLVED See this Post ****
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i

Last edited by stu14t; 02-02-2016 at 04:44 AM.
Appreciate 1
      01-15-2016, 12:45 PM   #2
Alarbus
Private First Class
3
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2015 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Philly

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu14t View Post
Well, winter has finally hit the UK and I've gone over to my winter wheels on my 2015 LCI. However, the new wheels do not have the TPMS sensors on. I tried coding out the TPMS and bring back the old RPA with the following code:

In HU_NBT > 3001, code RDC to nicht_activ
In HU_NBT > 3001, code RDC_SAFETY to nicht_activ
In HU_NBT > 3001, code RPA to active

This still leaves the nag triangle and I get the chimes when I start up. So looking further into this I've found this for an F10:

Removed 2VB from FA and VO code HU_NBT and KOMBI.

(there was also some fuse pulling mentioned on the F10 but I'm not sure where the fuses are on F30 or if it needs to be done?)

Will this work for a LCI F30 or are there further steps?

And when summer finally arrives in Scotland, is it just a case of reversing this?
I've considered doing this on my E90. The reference I found is from the E84 side here http://e84.xbimmers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1145078 (I have not done it yet)

Hopefully that helps!
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 01:24 PM   #3
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alarbus View Post
I've considered doing this on my E90. The reference I found is from the E84 side here http://e84.xbimmers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1145078 (I have not done it yet)

Hopefully that helps!
Thanks for that, it's definitely worth a look. I'll give it a go tomorrow.
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 04:06 PM   #4
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

I've found another setting in addition to these:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RDC to nicht_activ
HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RDC_SAFETY to nicht_activ
HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RPA to active

There is also:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > REFEINUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA which can be rdc, rpa or nicht_activ

I'm going to try setting this to rpa to see if that activates the greyed out reset
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2016, 01:12 AM   #5
smithf32
Brigadier General
smithf32's Avatar
United_States
799
Rep
3,919
Posts

Drives: '14 F32 428 MSport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to smithf32
I've heard that TPMS is hard to code out (at least on the E90) because its a safety feature.
__________________

2014 F32 428i XDrive - MSport, Premium, Cold Weather, Drivers Assistance, Navi - Click for build thread
Mods (so far): M Performance Exhaust, Diffusor, and Grills. Trunk Lip, Painted Reflectors, Coding
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2016, 07:49 AM   #6
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Right - here's an update -

This is what I've coded so far-

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RDC to nicht_activ
HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RDC_SAFETY to nicht_activ
HU_NBT_EVO > 3001, code RPA to active

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > REFEINUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA Code to rpa

This has go rid of the tyre pressure failure nag and activates the RPA reset. However, when you reset you get he message that the pressures will be reset when the car is moving but that seems to never happen.

You are left with the small triangle and at startup it nags you to reset the RPA but no bongs during driving and no tyre failure nags either.
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 12:39 AM   #7
wildcatcrazy
Banned
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
221
Rep
1,540
Posts

Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf32
I've heard that TPMS is hard to code out (at least on the E90) because its a safety feature.
Not true, you just have to unplug the module. 5 min of coding and you're done.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 05:39 AM   #8
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smithf32 View Post
I've heard that TPMS is hard to code out (at least on the E90) because its a safety feature.
I agree windcatcrazy. I think it's for the runflats

How many of us remember do this every time we had a flat?

__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 06:04 AM   #9
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I've got this exact same problem on my LCI F20. Did you try removing 2VB and coding NBT & KOMBI?

I'm wondering if there is another setting required in the ICM for RPA?
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 07:53 AM   #10
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
I've got this exact same problem on my LCI F20. Did you try removing 2VB and coding NBT & KOMBI?

I'm wondering if there is another setting required in the ICM for RPA?
I was trying to see if I could get away with using the old RPA monitor and not code it out completely.

I did have a look in KOMBI and found some settings associated with the RPA but they also have DSC in the setting, so I thought it best not to touch in case it affected the stability programme.

I'll have a look at the ICM too
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 07:56 AM   #11
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu14t
Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
I've got this exact same problem on my LCI F20. Did you try removing 2VB and coding NBT & KOMBI?

I'm wondering if there is another setting required in the ICM for RPA?
I was trying to see if I could get away with using the old RPA monitor and not code it out completely.

I did have a look in KOMBI and found some settings associated with the RPA but they also have DSC in the setting, so I thought it best not to touch in case it affected the stability programme.

I'll have a look at the ICM too
I don't want to code it out either, I want to use the RPA. I'm getting the same error, I can't reset the RPA - KOMBI says RDC resetting but it doesn't actually work then in get an RPA failure after 20 mins of driving
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 08:37 AM   #12
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
I don't want to code it out either, I want to use the RPA. I'm getting the same error, I can't reset the RPA - KOMBI says RDC resetting but it doesn't actually work then in get an RPA failure after 20 mins of driving
I've managed to stop the warning by coding this:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > Code REFEINUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA to rpa

And i've driven for more than 20mins. It just nags to reset the RPA monitor. When I do reset the RPA monitor is where it differs. In my old F30 it said you must be stationary to reset the RPA whereas the RDC needs to be in motion to reset the pressures.

Now there is another setting which I've not changed:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > RDC_FORTSHRITTSANZEIGE (currently set to active)

now FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE means progress indicator. Maybe if I code that to nicht_activ and see what happens.
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i

Last edited by stu14t; 01-20-2016 at 05:04 AM.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 09:37 AM   #13
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu14t
Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
I don't want to code it out either, I want to use the RPA. I'm getting the same error, I can't reset the RPA - KOMBI says RDC resetting but it doesn't actually work then in get an RPA failure after 20 mins of driving
I've managed to stop the warning by coding this:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > Code REFEINUEBERWACHUNG_RDC_RPA to rpa

And i've driven for more than 20mins. It just nags to reset the RPA monitor. When I do reset the RPA monitor is where it differs. In my old F30 it said you must be stationary to reset the RPA whereas the RDC needs to be in motion to reset the pressures.

Now there is another setting which I've not changed:

HU_NBT_EVO > 3001 > RDC_FORTSHRITTSANZEIGE (currently set to active)

now FORTSCHRITTSANZEIGE means progress indicator. Maybe if I cade that to nicht_activ and see what happens.
I've tried all of those and mine is still the same.
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 10:08 AM   #14
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Me too.

I found this: in ICM

ICM > Daten 3000 > IcmKod_B_SA2VB and set it to nicht_verbaut (not installed) but this upset the DSC and I coded it back
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 12:12 PM   #15
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu14t
Me too.

I found this: in ICM

ICM > Daten 3000 > IcmKod_B_SA2VB and set it to nicht_verbaut (not installed) but this upset the DSC and I coded it back
there are some settings in the DSC for RPA & RDC - might be worth trying those.
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 02:31 PM   #16
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
there are some settings in the DSC for RPA & RDC - might be worth trying those.
Which ECU? I've just updated my PSDZData as I could not access all ECU's
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 02:32 PM   #17
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stu14t
Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
there are some settings in the DSC for RPA & RDC - might be worth trying those.
Which ECU? I've just updated my PSDZData as I could not access all ECU's
the DSC ecu. are you using the TokenMaster launcher?
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2016, 04:14 PM   #18
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
the DSC ecu. are you using the TokenMaster launcher?
Yes, Version 2.4.3 Build 98
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2016, 11:55 PM   #19
Cloud IX
First Lieutenant
60
Rep
329
Posts

Drives: 2017 ZCP M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sky

iTrader: (3)

Any progress? Would love to be able to code out the TPMS on my F22.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2016, 04:58 AM   #20
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

No more progress yet but I've not given up!
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2016, 09:12 AM   #21
wibbles
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
11
Rep
353
Posts

Drives: M135i AT LCI
Join Date: May 2012
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

try removing 2VB from the VO and then code the ICM, DSC, NBT and KOMBI
__________________
Current: F21 M135i
Previous:
2015 F31 330dX, 2011 F20 120d SE , E90 335i, 2010 Alpine White N55 135i 6MT, 2009 LMB LCI N54 135i - Cobb tuned!, 2010 F10 530d SE, 1986 E30 318i,1981 E21 320i Auto
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2016, 03:56 AM   #22
stu14t
Captain
stu14t's Avatar
Scotland
92
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: F30 LCI 320d MSport+ Step Auto
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wibbles View Post
try removing 2VB from the VO and then code the ICM, DSC, NBT and KOMBI
I'll give it a go later on.

I take it you mean remove 2VB from the FA and VO code the ECU's you mention? (Just for clarity)
__________________
New - 2015 F30 LCI 320d M Sport+ Step Auto
Gone - 2012 F30 320 ED
Gone - 2011 E87 118d
Gone - 2008 Vauxhall Vectra 1.9 CDTI (Company car no choice)
Gone - 1998 E36 320i
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST