F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Sport automatic -- 2TB do it!
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-12-2015, 09:26 PM   #1
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Sport automatic -- 2TB do it!

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
I have had the sports automatic coded on my F30 for almost a year now and really took it for granted. Before going to the dealer this week, I reverted back to the regular automatic tranny programming. What a difference!!!

The sport automatic is the best coding you can do for your car imo. Not only are the shifts faster in every mode including comfort, but the gear changes are so much more responsive. In Sport mode the tranny feels like a DCT with a nice jolt every time you up shift with WOT. It boggles my mind why this programming is not default on a BMW.

In other words, code your auto transmission and see what it's all about if you haven't yet!
Appreciate 3
      06-18-2015, 06:14 PM   #2
onet
Registered
1
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

Can you please describe what you have coded.
I am not sure if need to change the FA 205 with 2TB, then CODE the whole SVT tree or if the following configuration will also work.
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_4=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_4=> menue_3

ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut

The reason why I ask is because I never made an VO coding before.
Appreciate 1
      06-18-2015, 07:21 PM   #3
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

I FDL coded only the following:

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> LC -> aktiv

The last one is for launch control, I don't think it's mandatory.

I didn't code ICM because my car already had Sport+, I'm not sure if that's mandatory either. Try the 3 items above, then put car into sport mode, shifter to the left and step on it. If you get nice kicks when the car switches gears, you have the sports auto coded successfully.
Appreciate 1
      06-18-2015, 08:22 PM   #4
gpjustinn
First Lieutenant
gpjustinn's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
301
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 320i - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (0)

Is the FDL coding necessary? All I did was change 205 to 2TB in the FA, and VO code EGS, ICM, and KOMBI. I've seen those FDL instructions on the F30 Coding Reference Guide, and I wasn't sure whether to follow those instructions or follow instructions provided by the member's who did it the way I did?

I had already coded Sport+ previously.
__________________
2014 BMW 320i Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2015, 02:11 AM   #5
onet
Registered
1
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

In my case, there was no sport+ setting.
And in the FA SA205 appears on the list .
The following settings I have already coded to to get sport+
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_1=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_2=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_3=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_TEXT_4=> menue_3
FDS_MENUE_SIGNAL_4=> menue_3

ICM Module/ 3000 Daten/ IcmKod_B_Sportlenkung/ verbaut

EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv

The question now is whether and which of the following code are in addition necessary to get the SAT.
Kombi => 300C ECO_FDS =>Function
ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut
ICM/IcmKod_B_S205A -> nicht_verbaut.

Since I have not changed yet a FA or performed a VO Coding I am unsure in that matter.
So if necessary and possible , I would like to just perform the missing coding without the change to 2TB.
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2015, 09:28 AM   #6
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjustinn
Is the FDL coding necessary? All I did was change 205 to 2TB in the FA, and VO code EGS, ICM, and KOMBI. I've seen those FDL instructions on the F30 Coding Reference Guide, and I wasn't sure whether to follow those instructions or follow instructions provided by the member's who did it the way I did?

I had already coded Sport+ previously.
FDL coding and VO coding produce the same result.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2015, 10:09 AM   #7
onet
Registered
1
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: germany

iTrader: (0)

Sorry that I ask again.
Does anyone know which of the following codes are necessary for SAT?
Kombi => 300C ECO_FDS =>Function
ICM/IcmKod_B_S2TBA -> verbaut
ICM/IcmKod_B_S205A -> nicht_verbaut.

Just for clarification, the reason is to get the faster shift times of the normal automatic transmission.

Last edited by onet; 06-20-2015 at 10:16 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2015, 10:52 AM   #8
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

I don't think you need to touch ICM unless you want Sport+.

Just code the following:
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter_alt -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> Sportschalter -> aktiv
EGS/3000 Applikation -> LC -> aktiv

Try it out.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2015, 12:51 AM   #9
Vegetable
Major
Vegetable's Avatar
United_States
161
Rep
1,121
Posts

Drives: 435i M-Sport MT
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB_123_99 View Post
I have had the sports automatic coded on my F30 for almost a year now and really took it for granted. Before going to the dealer this week, I reverted back to the regular automatic tranny programming. What a difference!!!

The sport automatic is the best coding you can do for your car imo. Not only are the shifts faster in every mode including comfort, but the gear changes are so much more responsive. In Sport mode the tranny feels like a DCT with a nice jolt every time you up shift with WOT. It boggles my mind why this programming is not default on a BMW.

In other words, code your auto transmission and see what it's all about if you haven't yet!
The whole point, at least I thought, of having a torque converter was to make it not feel like a DCT. I have driven a few sport autos and I don't get any "jolt" that you speak of.. But I do agree the sport auto shifts faster than the non.
__________________
435i in MG | 6-MT | Msport | DHP | MPPK| Open AFE | BMS 10mm/15mm | 403M/PSS | 35% |
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2015, 10:02 AM   #10
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegetable View Post
The whole point, at least I thought, of having a torque converter was to make it not feel like a DCT. I have driven a few sport autos and I don't get any "jolt" that you speak of.. But I do agree the sport auto shifts faster than the non.
You only get a kick at WOT above 3500rpm in the first 2-3 gears. I wouldn't call it a jolt I guess, just a feeling of the drivetrain engaging aggressively that is felt throughout the car. Also, the car needs to be in Sport/Sport+ and shifter to the left.
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2015, 10:14 PM   #11
whoisthis
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
201
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: michigan

iTrader: (0)

i already have a switch for Sport +. But if i change this coding then the gears would change quicker even in comfort mode?
No effect in MPG?
__________________
F30 328i sedan
Appreciate 0
      07-02-2015, 06:28 PM   #12
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoisthis View Post
i already have a switch for Sport +. But if i change this coding then the gears would change quicker even in comfort mode?
No effect in MPG?
It changes faster even in comfort mode, but it is still very smooth. In Sport mode the changes are more harsh.

No clue about MPG, depends on your right foot.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2015, 12:30 AM   #13
menncars
Captain
74
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: F30-320i Sport
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KGB_123_99 View Post
It changes faster even in comfort mode, but it is still very smooth. In Sport mode the changes are more harsh.

No clue about MPG, depends on your right foot.
Really? Jeez, I'd better put that on the car this weekend. I have sport line car with the Sport+. It changes pretty fast now but if faster is available well . . . . better put it on then.

Folks, we're in a crisis here. Carbon-based fuel is destroying our planet. So, let's use it up ASAP. We're never going to get rid of the stuff driving at a 100 kph.
Appreciate 0
      07-04-2015, 12:37 AM   #14
whoisthis
Second Lieutenant
15
Rep
201
Posts

Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: michigan

iTrader: (0)

IMO, after the coding, it shifts wayyy to quickly in comfort mode. kinda like it.
__________________
F30 328i sedan
Appreciate 1
      07-04-2015, 01:31 AM   #15
twincam23
Private First Class
twincam23's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2014 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Will try this. Thanks OP
Appreciate 1
      07-06-2015, 02:11 PM   #16
twincam23
Private First Class
twincam23's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
122
Posts

Drives: 2014 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I must be drunk, I couldn't find the FDL codings. So all I did was change 205 to 2TB in the FA.
Now I have the S1-S8 settings when moving the lever to the left.
it's much more responsive after making the change. I would recommend for all AH3 users to give it a try.
Appreciate 1
      07-06-2015, 03:16 PM   #17
tnsguypat
Private
United_States
2
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Do you need to have the Sport Automatic Transmission with the paddle shifters in order to have this coding done? I have a 335xdrive msport package with the sport and sport+ button on the drive dynamics but I don't have paddle shifters. Will I still be able to code my transmission to get launch control and have faster shifts?
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 03:31 PM   #18
gpjustinn
First Lieutenant
gpjustinn's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
301
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 320i - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tnsguypat View Post
Do you need to have the Sport Automatic Transmission with the paddle shifters in order to have this coding done? I have a 335xdrive msport package with the sport and sport+ button on the drive dynamics but I don't have paddle shifters. Will I still be able to code my transmission to get launch control and have faster shifts?

You don't need to have the paddle shifters or the leather-wrapped gear selector, the coding will just change the programming of the transmission to make the shift points faster. As for Launch Control, you can code that as well, but from what I've read in other posts, if your car didn't already come with Launch Control, it can take a toll on your engine without the proper hardware, so just be careful with that one.

I've coded Sport+ and Sport Automatic Transmission. I love the SAT, but IMO, driving in Sport mode w/ the gear selector in the Sport position is too much for me in terms of shift points. I think they're too quick for me and a little harsh. I usually only drive with those settings when I'm feeling really aggressive! My favorite driving setting is Sport mode w/ the selector in Drive position. The actual shifts are still quick, but lets the engine rev a little more, I think. And the acceleration is nice too!
__________________
2014 BMW 320i Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 03:35 PM   #19
KGB_123_99
Lieutenant
Canada
82
Rep
578
Posts

Drives: '13 328iX Sport, '14 F-Type
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montreal, QC

iTrader: (0)

Do you find the shifts are also faster in Comfort mode? They're still soft (unlike in DS mode) but it feels faster than with non-SAT.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 03:42 PM   #20
gpjustinn
First Lieutenant
gpjustinn's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
301
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 320i - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, I would say shifts are faster with SAT, but like you said, still very comfortable in Comfort mode.
__________________
2014 BMW 320i Alpine White
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 05:01 PM   #21
tnsguypat
Private
United_States
2
Rep
65
Posts

Drives: 2007 335I Coupe
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Awesome! What else would you need to not put strain on the transmission and still have launch control. In order to get launch control from the factory all they add is the sport auto tranny with paddles and you just need the M Performance Package which is just a tune. They don't add any extra parts so it should be just as reliable if you can code it in after the fact right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpjustinn View Post
You don't need to have the paddle shifters or the leather-wrapped gear selector, the coding will just change the programming of the transmission to make the shift points faster. As for Launch Control, you can code that as well, but from what I've read in other posts, if your car didn't already come with Launch Control, it can take a toll on your engine without the proper hardware, so just be careful with that one.

I've coded Sport+ and Sport Automatic Transmission. I love the SAT, but IMO, driving in Sport mode w/ the gear selector in the Sport position is too much for me in terms of shift points. I think they're too quick for me and a little harsh. I usually only drive with those settings when I'm feeling really aggressive! My favorite driving setting is Sport mode w/ the selector in Drive position. The actual shifts are still quick, but lets the engine rev a little more, I think. And the acceleration is nice too!
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2015, 05:16 PM   #22
gpjustinn
First Lieutenant
gpjustinn's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
301
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 320i - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (0)

Honestly, I'm not too familiar with the components of the MPPK or Launch Control, but from I've understood from other members, there's some type of cooling hardware needed for Launch Control? Like I said, I'm not too savvy about that stuff, but that's enough for me to not take the risk!

Also, I've heard that Launch Control is a joke, but I've never tried it myself, so an invalid opinion on my part

Here's a quote from another thread on Launch Control. Kitster seems pretty knowledgeable about his stuff:
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitster View Post
You should not enable launch control if your car didn't come with it. The launch control requires additional cooling hardware, so you run the risk of breaking your motor.
__________________
2014 BMW 320i Alpine White
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST