F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires > Swapping wheels...
MINHS Auto Care Center
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-05-2012, 05:05 PM   #1
JamesMA
First Lieutenant
JamesMA's Avatar
12
Rep
309
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

Swapping wheels...

My car came with standard M-Sport 18" all season wheels from the factory.

I had my dealer throw on M405 20" rims/parellis before delivery and I kept the 18" to put on for winter use.

I recall my dealer suggesting that the car needed to be coded to use the need wheel set.

Dors any one know if coding is necessary when changing wheel sizes some have to bring the car to the dealer to "sync" the wheels, or can I do it myself?
__________________
2013 F30 335i 6MT M-Sport - Blk Saph. / Beige Lthr / Wood Tr. - Tech Pk - VSS M-Adp. Susp. M-Perf Stainless Exhaust M-Perf. brakes
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
justinnum1
Brigadier General
63
Rep
4,007
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i Msport
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMA View Post
My car came with standard M-Sport 18" all season wheels from the factory.

I had my dealer throw on M405 20" rims/parellis before delivery and I kept the 18" to put on for winter use.

I recall my dealer suggesting that the car needed to be coded to use the need wheel set.

Dors any one know if coding is necessary when changing wheel sizes some have to bring the car to the dealer to "sync" the wheels, or can I do it myself?
have the dealer do it.
__________________
F30 335i Msport Estoril Blue/Black leather sport auto. black grills, Performance Exhaust, HK,
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 05:52 PM   #3
E36toF30
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
298
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CO

iTrader: (0)

Why would any coding be necessary when changing wheel sizes?
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:04 PM   #4
justinnum1
Brigadier General
63
Rep
4,007
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335i Msport
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36toF30 View Post
Why would any coding be necessary when changing wheel sizes?
Speedometer... larger wheel needs to be calibrated
__________________
F30 335i Msport Estoril Blue/Black leather sport auto. black grills, Performance Exhaust, HK,
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:13 PM   #5
Maz335i
BMW 4 Life...
Maz335i's Avatar
Canada
57
Rep
3,225
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 SO M3 (on order)
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Mississauga, Ontario

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E36toF30
Why would any coding be necessary when changing wheel sizes?
I never had anything done to my car. What will u do when u put winter tires on? Code it again?

Just leave it as it is.
__________________
MODS: *** / M Sport + Performance / Meisterschaft / Challenge / MORR / more to come! ***
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
Rick4345
Lieutenant
Rick4345's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
461
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 328i Mineral Gray
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Illinois

iTrader: (7)

Just because you have larger wheels shouldn't matter. If everything is done right, the total diameter should be the same. Hence, you don't need anything coded. He's more full of crap than a Christmas turkey.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
EnerJi
Second Lieutenant
United_States
3
Rep
238
Posts

 
Drives: '13 BMW 335i M-Sport EB-II
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami Beach

iTrader: (0)

Just be warned, assuming the diameter of your new tires is roughly equal to the difference between the 18" and 20" wheels (1/9 larger), then your speed (and the trip meter and odometer) will be approximately 90% of the true value. Your speed will show 65 when in actuality you're going about 72.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:46 PM   #8
auptown
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 328xi
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Boulder, CO

iTrader: (0)

Wait - can coding adjust the speedometer? Mine reads high, I would love to make it accurate!


Andrew
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 06:58 PM   #9
BMoutlaW
Team Blop
BMoutlaW's Avatar
United_States
14
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i M-sport
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Renton, Washington

iTrader: (0)

Depends on tire size because if they dont match up perfectly it will effect your speedo. As the others have said
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
ZMM_OMG
First Lieutenant
ZMM_OMG's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
328
Posts

 
Drives: '01 325i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The dealer might have been referring to re-setting the Tire Pressure Monitoring System so that your car doesn't throw an error code after the new wheelset is installed.

Dunno how to do this myself, but apparently it's in the owner's manual.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 08:22 PM   #11
ric124
Lieutenant Colonel
ric124's Avatar
Jamaica
28
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335i SP 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMM_OMG View Post
The dealer might have been referring to re-setting the Tire Pressure Monitoring System so that your car doesn't throw an error code after the new wheelset is installed.

Dunno how to do this myself, but apparently it's in the owner's manual.
I changed my wheels and I used a set of new TPMS. Once I drove off after wheel install iDrive prompts to reset TPMS when come to a complete stop. At my next stop light i run the reset and thats it.

figure out what is the correct size tyres to mount so that the diameter does not change and you should be fine.

you can use this site to help
http://www.rimsntires.com/specs.jsp
__________________
Timeline: 335i Sport W/ Adaptive M suspension| Sport Variable steering| Technology PKG| HK Sound PKG| BMW apps| BMW Assist| Sport line hand brake grip| M Performance black kidneys|
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 09:06 PM   #12
AWF30MSPORT
Lieutenant
AWF30MSPORT's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
497
Posts

 
Drives: '15 Porsche 981 Cayman GTS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnerJi View Post
Just be warned, assuming the diameter of your new tires is roughly equal to the difference between the 18" and 20" wheels (1/9 larger), then your speed (and the trip meter and odometer) will be approximately 90% of the true value. Your speed will show 65 when in actuality you're going about 72.
Outside diameter remains very close to the same when properly upsizing...larger wheel means lower profile tire. When going from the OEM 18s to the OEM 20s, the difference in outside diameter of tires is miniscule and the difference in speedo readout is practically nonexistent. Not sure if the speed is measured from the rotation of the front or rear tires, but see the attached file to see the speedo differences for front and rear. (That's not to say that some of the configurations that I have seen on here won't make a difference as I have seen several setups here where the outside diameter is smaller/larger by a more significant amount based on the tires sizes people are using)

To the OP, I'm pretty sure your dealer/service advisor is just referring to the TPMS reset, which as ric124 notes is very easily done yourself.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 09:53 PM   #13
E36toF30
Second Lieutenant
6
Rep
298
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick4345 View Post
Just because you have larger wheels shouldn't matter. If everything is done right, the total diameter should be the same. Hence, you don't need anything coded.
That's why I was confused. Maybe with 20" wheels it's best to go with higher diameter tires though, so they aren't super low profile. Although, as lukeb817 said they're probably just talking about the TPMS reset.

Last edited by E36toF30; 10-05-2012 at 09:59 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2012, 11:59 PM   #14
JamesMA
First Lieutenant
JamesMA's Avatar
12
Rep
309
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the responses guys, I am going to measure the wheels/tires themselves and compare.
__________________
2013 F30 335i 6MT M-Sport - Blk Saph. / Beige Lthr / Wood Tr. - Tech Pk - VSS M-Adp. Susp. M-Perf Stainless Exhaust M-Perf. brakes
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST