F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Confused - CD versus DVD
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-23-2012, 11:57 PM   #1
rs3tier
New Member
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tasmania

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Confused - CD versus DVD

I fear this is a somewhat stupid question, so I apologise in advance.

I recently picked up my new 328i.
I wanted one from dealer stock as I am not very patient, and settled on a SportLine that had most of the options I would have ordered anyway.

During my reading before purchasing, I seem to recall that I would get a DVD player and an onboard hard drive for music etc. (12GB I think) - but it seems I have only got a CD player.

I have the business Nav option if that makes a difference.

I looked up my car using bmwvin.com and it said S700A, AREA-CODE 4, Area-Code 4 for DVD - does this mean anything?

I think my question is - what particular option or upgrade would I have had to order to get a DVD player.
rs3tier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 12:26 AM   #2
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,678
iTrader: (0)

This stuff varies country by country.

If you got the NAV, then you should have a HD.

Why do you think you don't have one? Have you tried importing music only the HD from the USB port in the glove box or ripping a CD to the HD?
There is also a iDrive display that will show you how much free HD space you have.

Did you try putting a DVD in the slot and playing it? What happens?
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 12:33 AM   #3
rs3tier
New Member
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tasmania

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Good point about the HDD - I havent tried uploading anything - The intent of my question was actually about the DVD player (my reference to the HDD just confused things)

I tried playing 2 different DVD's and it said unrecognised - when I look at the iDrive buttons it says "CD" - Would it actually say DVD if I had one?
rs3tier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 01:13 AM   #4
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,678
iTrader: (0)

My iDrive button (upper left) says MEDIA, not CD. What does yours say?


Also, try this:

Press Settings, then select and press CD/Multimedia.
The top item on the left side of the screen says CD/DVD on my car. What does yours show?

The other reason I can think that the car is rejecting you DVD because of a region code mismatch. Try playing a region free disk.


Second, do you have the CD/DVD changer in the trunk? That's an option in some markets.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 01:48 AM   #5
rs3tier
New Member
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tasmania

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Sorry (again) you are right. The button says media and when I go into the cd/multimedia setting screen the top item says CD not CD/DVD - so I guess I am definitely CD only
rs3tier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 02:47 AM   #6
AntBabeee
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 570
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman
My iDrive button (upper left) says MEDIA, not CD. What does yours say?


Also, try this:

Press Settings, then select and press CD/Multimedia.
The top item on the left side of the screen says CD/DVD on my car. What does yours show?

The other reason I can think that the car is rejecting you DVD because of a region code mismatch. Try playing a region free disk.


Second, do you have the CD/DVD changer in the trunk? That's an option in some markets.
Does the US Spec have the cd DVD changer in the trunk?
__________________
F30 BMW 335i M-Sport: Estoril Blue II, 19" Rims, Sports Auto, Premium, Technology, Harmon Kardon, Heated Front Seats, Driver Assistance...
AntBabeee is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 08:38 AM   #7
Cyberdemon
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Long Island NY

Posts: 694
iTrader: (0)

The US Spec has no option for a CD/DVD Changer.

And you can put DVD's directly into the drive, including DVD's that are loaded with MP3's. I took my music collection from my old car (all on MP3 DVD's) and began copying them all to the hard drive.
__________________
2013 335i M Sport /// Alpine White/Coral Red
Cyberdemon is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 09:00 AM   #8
elistan
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

Posts: 315
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs3tier View Post
I looked up my car using bmwvin.com and it said S700A, AREA-CODE 4, Area-Code 4 for DVD - does this mean anything?
Yes. You certainly do have a DVD player based on your VIN report. Area Code 4 is Australia, Central and South America, and New Zealand. What region code is the DVDs you are trying to play? Code 1 is USA and Canada. Code 1 DVDs will not play in a Code 4 drive.
elistan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 10:11 AM   #9
arnsbrae
Lieutenant
 
arnsbrae's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 520d
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom

Posts: 508
iTrader: (0)

OP has Business Navigation (not available in USA?). In Europe at least that means no DVD player - and I suspect it will be the same down under.
__________________
August 2012 F10 520d SE sport automatic, Jet Black, Oyster\Black Leather, light ash wood trim, Professional media/ navigation, mobile apps, Internet, DAB radio.
arnsbrae is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 03:05 PM   #10
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnsbrae View Post
OP has Business Navigation (not available in USA?). In Europe at least that means no DVD player - and I suspect it will be the same down under.
Yes, it's the same for Oz as well as the Middle East (where business nav is available).
So, no HDD & DVD.
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 03:51 PM   #11
rs3tier
New Member
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: tasmania

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Thanks everyone.
So it seems the option required to get DVD (At least here in Aus) is Professional Nav.
rs3tier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-24-2012, 11:43 PM   #12
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs3tier View Post
Thanks everyone.
So it seems the option required to get DVD (At least here in Aus) is Professional Nav.
This applies worldwide unless u have AH3.
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 12:20 AM   #13
David328M-Sport
Brigadier General
 
Drives: F30 M-Sport 328i Estoril Blue
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia

Posts: 3,453
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rs3tier View Post
During my reading before purchasing, I seem to recall that I would get a DVD player and an onboard hard drive for music etc. (12GB I think) - but it seems I have only got a CD player.

I have the business Nav option if that makes a difference.

I think my question is - what particular option or upgrade would I have had to order to get a DVD player.
For our market, the business nav comes with a CD drive.
The DVD drive & additional 12Gb storage comes when you order Professional nav.
__________________
328i M-Sport, Estoril Blue, Carbon XP 35 Tint, front heated seats, black Dakota, Sports Suspension, Anthracite Headliner, HUD, Pro Nav, Sunroof, hk 600w, Bi-Xenon, 19" 403M wheels, Reversing Camera, DAB+, Xenon, BT Ext Connect.
David328M-Sport is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 08:34 AM   #14
elistan
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

Posts: 315
iTrader: (0)

Is it odd then that his VIN query reports DVD information? Or is that normal for CD-only cars?

S700A, AREA-CODE 4, Area-Code 4 for DVD
elistan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-25-2012, 11:49 PM   #15
clarence
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F30 328i M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,544
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elistan View Post
Is it odd then that his VIN query reports DVD information? Or is that normal for CD-only cars?

S700A, AREA-CODE 4, Area-Code 4 for DVD
Normal. All cars have a variation of this option code.
clarence is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST