F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Enabling Office function in NBT
TAG Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-10-2013, 11:10 AM   #1
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Enabling Office function in NBT

Hi all,

Last friday I took delivery of my Belgium-spec 316d.
Since I ordered the 609 Prof. GPS System, I got the new NBT hardware.

Since the salesman told me the only added function of 6NK over 6NH was audio over bluetooth and I don't really need this, I skipped this pricey option.

Now it turns out also the Bluetooth Office functions (eg email, sms etc) are also part of this 6NH upgrade - at least for the BE market.

Has anyone found this in the coding options for the NBT system?
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 01:40 PM   #2
cronek
New Member
 
Drives: '12 F31 320d
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Belgium

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

pm me your email and I can send you my cafd files.
cronek is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-11-2013, 07:48 PM   #3
vithy
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 F30 320i
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 158
iTrader: (0)

Can Office be activated with 6NH? or do I need Combox for this? I have base 6NH no Nav.
vithy is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-13-2013, 08:51 PM   #4
alf233
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328 xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Would like to know as well
alf233 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-14-2013, 03:43 AM   #5
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

After some research, found out it might be enabled by changing 6NH to 6NK. Think combobox will be necessary (not applicable with NBT nav)

Might need changes to ADRESSBOOK and MACRO_PIM.

Needs testing but don't have cable and EST token atm
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 07:52 PM   #6
alf233
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328 xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Hey Kapitein,
did you do any more testing on this?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitein Iglo View Post
After some research, found out it might be enabled by changing 6NH to 6NK. Think combobox will be necessary (not applicable with NBT nav)

Might need changes to ADRESSBOOK and MACRO_PIM.

Needs testing but don't have cable and EST token atm
alf233 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:12 PM   #7
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alf233 View Post
Hey Kapitein,
did you do any more testing on this?
Will test this on saturday!
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 08:49 AM   #8
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

So, as promised, the results.

Change VO from 6NH to 6NK and coded the HU_NBT
Enabled some parameters (changed to "true"):

3002 PIM_PARAMETER
EMAIL_EIN_AUS
SMS_EIN_AUS
CONTACTS_EIN_AUS
CALENDAR_EIN_AUS
TEXT_NOTES_EIN_AUS
AUDIO_NOTES_EIN_AUS
REMINDER_EIN_AUS
TASK_EIN_AUS
PIM_BILDER_EIN_AUS
REMINDER_TRIGGERS_EIN_AUS
MACRO_PIM > this actually show the word OFFICE in idrive menu

Office function seems to work for new incoming email and text. Haven't been able to view calendar items, but I don't know if this is supported without the Apps?

Last edited by Kapitein Iglo; 04-27-2013 at 08:59 AM.
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 04:50 PM   #9
alf233
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 328 xDrive
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Toronto

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

Nice job

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitein Iglo View Post
So, as promised, the results.

Change VO from 6NH to 6NK and coded the HU_NBT
Enabled some parameters (changed to "true"):

3002 PIM_PARAMETER
EMAIL_EIN_AUS
SMS_EIN_AUS
CONTACTS_EIN_AUS
CALENDAR_EIN_AUS
TEXT_NOTES_EIN_AUS
AUDIO_NOTES_EIN_AUS
REMINDER_EIN_AUS
TASK_EIN_AUS
PIM_BILDER_EIN_AUS
REMINDER_TRIGGERS_EIN_AUS
MACRO_PIM > this actually show the word OFFICE in idrive menu

Office function seems to work for new incoming email and text. Haven't been able to view calendar items, but I don't know if this is supported without the Apps?
alf233 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 02:21 AM   #10
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Can anyone with Office standard enabled on their NBT confirm what works/does not work with the iPhone?
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2013, 08:21 PM   #11
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Changing the 6NH to 6NK can also solve the bluetooth audio issue?
My 328i have 609, 6NH, 6NR. As other post, 609 should include the BT audio, but I can not use it and find the BT audio option in iDrive.
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2013, 03:41 AM   #12
Kapitein Iglo
New Member
 
Drives: F31
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

You must first activate bluetooth audio in the bluetooth pairing options of your phone in the iDrive
Kapitein Iglo is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2013, 10:58 AM   #13
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitein Iglo View Post
You must first activate bluetooth audio in the bluetooth pairing options of your phone in the iDrive
There is no Audio option, only phone. When I finished paring, and go to the device option.
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      07-20-2013, 11:35 AM   #14
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 897
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillperson View Post
Changing the 6NH to 6NK can also solve the bluetooth audio issue?
My 328i have 609, 6NH, 6NR. As other post, 609 should include the BT audio, but I can not use it and find the BT audio option in iDrive.

Yes, if you change 6NH to 6NK on your VO, you will have Bluetooth Audio and Office but you must have 609 in order for this to work. This works for both HU_CIC and HU_NBT.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2013, 08:44 AM   #15
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Yes, if you change 6NH to 6NK on your VO, you will have Bluetooth Audio and Office but you must have 609 in order for this to work. This works for both HU_CIC and HU_NBT.
I have 609 on my list, but when I try to change VO from 6NH to 6NK, and code HU_NBT, there is a error "cafd_00000ded-002_002_008 not executable".

And if I add 6NK into the VO list, keep 6NH and 6NK exist together, then I can code HU_NBT successfully, there is no error. And I can also see the bluetooth and office in the menu, but they can not work. Maybe because 6NH still exist in the VO list.

So I don't know where is the problem, I can only add 6NK, but can not change 6NH to 6NK.......

BTW: I have 609, 6NH, 6NR in my vehicle.
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      07-21-2013, 11:02 AM   #16
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 897
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hillperson View Post
I have 609 on my list, but when I try to change VO from 6NH to 6NK, and code HU_NBT, there is a error "cafd_00000ded-002_002_008 not executable".

And if I add 6NK into the VO list, keep 6NH and 6NK exist together, then I can code HU_NBT successfully, there is no error. And I can also see the bluetooth and office in the menu, but they can not work. Maybe because 6NH still exist in the VO list.

So I don't know where is the problem, I can only add 6NK, but can not change 6NH to 6NK.......

BTW: I have 609, 6NH, 6NR in my vehicle.
You can't have 6NK and 6NH together. As for VO coding HU_NBT, what's your I-step and what version of the psdzdata files are you using?
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-22-2013, 08:07 AM   #17
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
You can't have 6NK and 6NH together. As for VO coding HU_NBT, what's your I-step and what version of the psdzdata files are you using?
My ESys is 3.22.5, Psdzdata is 49.4.
And the I-step is F020-13-03-503
Thanks
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2013, 11:05 PM   #18
shag
The Black Wagon Man
 
shag's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 328xdT M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada

Posts: 460
iTrader: (0)

Try coding 6NS instead. 6NK is incompatible with HU_NBT iirc.
__________________

'14 328d xDrive Touring M Sport, BSM/CR.
shag is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2013, 01:31 AM   #19
RSC27
New Member
 
Drives: 320D M Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: England

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Is it 6NK or 6NS that will work?

I've read that 6nk has worked but when I spoke to BMW they've said 6ns is what I should have had.

Thanks
RSC27 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2013, 06:51 AM   #20
shag
The Black Wagon Man
 
shag's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 328xdT M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada

Posts: 460
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSC27
Is it 6NK or 6NS that will work?

I've read that 6nk has worked but when I spoke to BMW they've said 6ns is what I should have had.

Thanks
Most if not all NBT-equipped cars with Office functionality seem to use 6NS afaik... Try that & post your results!
__________________

'14 328d xDrive Touring M Sport, BSM/CR.
shag is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2013, 10:47 AM   #21
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shag View Post
Most if not all NBT-equipped cars with Office functionality seem to use 6NS afaik... Try that & post your results!
Thanks
I will post the result after my trial.
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2013, 10:50 AM   #22
hillperson
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F30 328i Sport Line
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: China

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shag View Post
Try coding 6NS instead. 6NK is incompatible with HU_NBT iirc.
BTW: You mean I change 6NH to 6NS and code HU_NBT? I want to confirm that.
hillperson is offline   China
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST