F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Fix automatic window
Extreme Power House
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-27-2016, 12:39 PM   #1
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Dealer updated coding on my car and ever since the automatic up on my windows doesn't work. Is there a way to fix this coding?
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2016, 08:15 PM   #2
Almaretto
Major
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

You mean the door switch no longer rolls up windows? Or opening window now stops movement? Or something else?

If it is the first, talk to the dealer. If it is the second, yes, that can be coded.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2016, 10:18 PM   #3
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
You mean the door switch no longer rolls up windows? Or opening window now stops movement? Or something else?

If it is the first, talk to the dealer. If it is the second, yes, that can be coded.
I mean 2 of the windows no longer go up automatically when you hit the second resistance point on the window switch. It will go up like a normal window if I hold the switch but won't go up completely by pulling the switch up completely like it did before.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2016, 10:20 PM   #4
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I thought I read somewhere that there was a sequence to recalibrate the windows if this feature stopped working but I can't remember where I read it or if I'm thinking about my last car. At first only the driver's window still rolled up completely after hitting the second resistance point with the window switch, then the passenger rear window started working again but after 2 weeks the passenger and rear driver window haven't gone back to normal.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2016, 10:33 PM   #5
Almaretto
Major
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadify View Post
I mean 2 of the windows no longer go up automatically when you hit the second resistance point on the window switch. It will go up like a normal window if I hold the switch but won't go up completely by pulling the switch up completely like it did before.
Sounds like it might be a blown fuse issue. I do not have latest firmware on my vehicles, but have not heard of software update causing such an issue.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2016, 11:08 PM   #6
340Dude
Captain
29
Rep
794
Posts

Drives: 2016 340i M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Potomac, MD

iTrader: (18)

Try this it worked on E90s...

1. Put key in, no need to start car.
2. Roll window all the way down, let go of button.
3. Hold window button DOWN for 20seconds. This resets the window in the down position. Now you must reset the window in the up position.
4. Roll window up. Do NOT panic if window doesn't go all the way up. Mine would only go up about 3inches. Then I would hold the up button again and it would only go up another 3inches or so. Keep doing this until the window is all the way in the up position as the window has not been reset in the up position yet. Let go of button.
5. Hold windown button UP for 20 seconds. This resets the window in the up position.
6. Go grab a beer because you just reset your window.
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2016, 01:12 PM   #7
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 340Dude View Post
Try this it worked on E90s...

1. Put key in, no need to start car.
2. Roll window all the way down, let go of button.
3. Hold window button DOWN for 20seconds. This resets the window in the down position. Now you must reset the window in the up position.
4. Roll window up. Do NOT panic if window doesn't go all the way up. Mine would only go up about 3inches. Then I would hold the up button again and it would only go up another 3inches or so. Keep doing this until the window is all the way in the up position as the window has not been reset in the up position yet. Let go of button.
5. Hold windown button UP for 20 seconds. This resets the window in the up position.
6. Go grab a beer because you just reset your window.
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried this but it didn't fix the issue.
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2016, 03:36 PM   #8
Almaretto
Major
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadify View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. I tried this but it didn't fix the issue.
Did you try scanning vehicle with ISTA+?
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2016, 05:28 PM   #9
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Did you try scanning vehicle with ISTA+?
I have absolutely no idea how to do that.
Appreciate 0
      10-28-2016, 05:30 PM   #10
Almaretto
Major
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadify View Post
I have absolutely no idea how to do that.
ISTA+ is diagnostic software.
Appreciate 1
      10-28-2016, 11:56 PM   #11
kadify
Lieutenant
77
Rep
447
Posts

Drives: 428i xDrive GC
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
ISTA+ is diagnostic software.
Oh well then to answer your question, I did not use that since I didn't know what it was lol. I just called the dealer, they said they'd have to take a look since it occurred after taking my car in.
Appreciate 0
      10-29-2016, 01:13 AM   #12
Almaretto
Major
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kadify View Post
Oh well then to answer your question, I did not use that since I didn't know what it was lol. I just called the dealer, they said they'd have to take a look since it occurred after taking my car in.
Dealer is always a good choice.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 AM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST