F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Flat tyre monitor (doesn't tell you which one)
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-07-2012, 06:17 PM   #1
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Question Flat tyre monitor (doesn't tell you which one)

When initially playing with iDrive I saw the 'Flat Tyre Monitor' screen showing a picture of a transparent car with four green tyres. I assumed the point of this was that it would tell you which tyre had a puncture, but I think that was a wrong assumption now.

So, I'm driving up the A24 this evening... bong! Some message appears about tyre pressure loss and the iDrive switches to the transparent car picture, now with all four tyres showing orange! Why have this fancy graphic showing each tyre coloured in individually if it's not going to tell you which tyre is stuffed?

Anyway, pulled into a lay-by, checked the tyres for anything unusual - offside front felt ever so slightly warmer than the others, otherwise nothing. When I got home had another look and can see what could be a small stone stuck in the centre of the offside front. Prodded it with a screwdriver and it wasn't going to budge so I left it.

On the downside, can't find my tyre pressure gauge to confirm. On the upside, took out tyre insurance so shall leave the car at the dealer tomorrow morning and ask them to sort it
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 03:35 AM   #2
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Two rears and n/side front all 2.2 bar, front o/side 1.8 bar - does that sound a bit high to be a puncture?
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 03:50 AM   #3
MaestroAl
Major
United Kingdom
13

 
Drives: Superman 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK


Posts: 1,195
iTrader: (0)

Doesn't immediately make me think of puncture. Be a very slow one if it were

Get it back up to pressure and check it again after 24/48hrs I can't remember if you had tyres included with your package Rob?
__________________
"Superman 330D M Sport" Estoril Blue / Coral Red
2PF|ZAP|ZMP|ZVI|2VF|3AP|420|488|494|5DC|688|6NR
Just sold

"Sleeper 335D xDrive M Sport" Glacier Silver / Black
ZMS | ZNP | ZVI | 2VF | 2VL | 3AG | 494 | 6NS | 8TH
From Monday
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 04:49 AM   #4
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Yep, got the tyre package. Three punctures in two and a half years on my last car, so thought it wise.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 04:59 AM   #5
MaestroAl
Major
United Kingdom
13

 
Drives: Superman 330D M Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK


Posts: 1,195
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobUK View Post
Yep, got the tyre package. Three punctures in two and a half years on my last car, so thought it wise.
Good man. Less of an issue then if you do have a puncture
__________________
"Superman 330D M Sport" Estoril Blue / Coral Red
2PF|ZAP|ZMP|ZVI|2VF|3AP|420|488|494|5DC|688|6NR
Just sold

"Sleeper 335D xDrive M Sport" Glacier Silver / Black
ZMS | ZNP | ZVI | 2VF | 2VL | 3AG | 494 | 6NS | 8TH
From Monday
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 06:50 AM   #6
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroAl View Post
Doesn't immediately make me think of puncture. Be a very slow one if it were

Get it back up to pressure and check it again after 24/48hrs I can't remember if you had tyres included with your package Rob?
RE-SET the system after getting all tyre pressures correct, then you should be OK, the system thats on the car measures the "inflation difference" between the tyres.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 01:22 PM   #7
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Re-inflated and re-set after which the front offside lost 0.2 bar so dealer sorting it under the insurance. Incidentally, they seemed to think that in certain circumstances(?) the iDrive Flat Tyre Monitor will indicate which tyre has the problem.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 01:47 PM   #8
NISFAN
Brigadier General
England
54

 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK


Posts: 4,151
iTrader: (0)

Aren't there two options of tyre monitor? Think the standard one works on the ABS wheel speed sensors, the other has pressure sensors in each wheel.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 02:02 PM   #9
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Think I've seen on the US forum something about Flat Tyre Monitor (and tyres with rubber valve stems) vs. TPMS (and tyres with metal valve stems). Regards the F30/31 not sure if TPMS is a US-only thing or what?
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 03:11 PM   #10
NISFAN
Brigadier General
England
54

 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK


Posts: 4,151
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobUK View Post
Think I've seen on the US forum something about Flat Tyre Monitor (and tyres with rubber valve stems) vs. TPMS (and tyres with metal valve stems). Regards the F30/31 not sure if TPMS is a US-only thing or what?
The full tyre pressure monitor system is mandatory in the US thanks to the Firestone/Ford Explorer rolling issue.

I am thinking we only get the ABS speed differential system in the UK as standard.....I may be wrong though.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 05:17 AM   #11
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobUK View Post
Re-inflated and re-set after which the front offside lost 0.2 bar so dealer sorting it under the insurance. Incidentally, they seemed to think that in certain circumstances(?) the iDrive Flat Tyre Monitor will indicate which tyre has the problem.
THe flat tyre monitor should show which wheel is down!! I don't know what that guy was talking about. The only instance that it would not register correctly is if like my E90 M3, TWO wheels go down together, they fitted winter tyres to the M3 and left the Paper around the rim of the tyres at the rear, both tyres went down slowly over 40 miles NO indicators showed the fault, I was in the garage filling up and saw both tyres almost flat , I made them come out and sort it , they were well embarrassed.
I tested the system after and let some air out of a front wheel and it showed that wheel was at fault, so the TPM needs looking at.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 06:24 AM   #12
RobUK
Major
United Kingdom
20

 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK


Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Damn, didn't see your post in time - already got the car back, complete with new front tyre (sharp stone had managed to pierce it).

I will try letting down one tyre over the weekend and see if the Flat Tyre Monitor picks up which one. The system definitely showed me four orange tyres on Wednesday night though.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 07:25 AM   #13
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobUK View Post
Damn, didn't see your post in time - already got the car back, complete with new front tyre (sharp stone had managed to pierce it).

I will try letting down one tyre over the weekend and see if the Flat Tyre Monitor picks up which one. The system definitely showed me four orange tyres on Wednesday night though.
The way UK and I understand european TPM systems are monitored is by wheel/tyre diameter changes across axles, the US system runs TPM Valves which are a barstards to replace and are expensive.
The Yanks would like our system it's simpler and should in most cases show which wheel is at fault.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 07:42 AM   #14
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NISFAN View Post
The full tyre pressure monitor system is mandatory in the US thanks to the Firestone/Ford Explorer rolling issue.

I am thinking we only get the ABS speed differential system in the UK as standard.....I may be wrong though.
Correct.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 08:08 AM   #15
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
49

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region


Posts: 4,554
iTrader: (0)

The 'full fat' Tyre Pressure Monitor, which monitors the individual pressures and gives the read out, is an option in the 5-series. Option SO2VB, at 255

Can't see that option on the 3-series, so doesn't look as if anyopne can have a wheel specific readout.

Standard TPWS is only a puncture warning system, nothing more.

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 09:40 AM   #16
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighlandPete View Post
The 'full fat' Tyre Pressure Monitor, which monitors the individual pressures and gives the read out, is an option in the 5-series. Option SO2VB, at 255

Can't see that option on the 3-series, so doesn't look as if anyopne can have a wheel specific readout.

Standard TPWS is only a puncture warning system, nothing more.

HighlandPete
Well after all my other BMW's I "assumed" the TPM systems would be the same, I got the Book out for this loaner after reading your post and it does NOT specify which, if any wheel/tyre would be shown
I would assume that it does just advise a puncture and you have to search for the culprit, cheap sh*t system I you ask me.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 11:40 AM   #17
andrew520d
Enlisted Member
4

 
Drives: f11 520d
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ireland


Posts: 40
iTrader: (0)

On my 520d which has the basic system it tells you which tyre.
Please don't tell me that the 3 series has an even more basic system.
would have thought they were the same the graphic is identical
Appreciate 0
      11-09-2012, 11:45 AM   #18
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew520d View Post
On my 520d which has the basic system it tells you which tyre.
Please don't tell me that the 3 series has an even more basic system.
would have thought they were the same the graphic is identical
I am going to test the system sometime soon.
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2012, 11:08 AM   #19
JOHNBMWM5
Live for today tomorrow never comes
United Kingdom
81

 
JOHNBMWM5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: UK


Posts: 5,321
iTrader: (0)

Tested it today, needed to let 30% pressure out and it showed The correct wheel , so the picture comes up with the correct wheel that is the problem,
__________________
Live for now, life is too short.
2015 M6 GC with CP Alpine & Sakhir
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2012, 11:30 AM   #20
NISFAN
Brigadier General
England
54

 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK


Posts: 4,151
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbmw6 View Post
Tested it today, needed to let 30% pressure out and it showed The correct wheel , so the picture comes up with the correct wheel that is the problem,
Nice work inspector Clueso
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2012, 11:33 AM   #21
HighlandPete
Brigadier General
49

 
Drives: BMW F11 535i Touring
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Scotland, Highland Region


Posts: 4,554
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbmw6 View Post
Tested it today, needed to let 30% pressure out and it showed The correct wheel , so the picture comes up with the correct wheel that is the problem,
That makes a lot of sense, as it is the wheel speed sensor from the punctured wheel that is throwing up a different rotational speed.

Have been reading the 5-series manual and it does indicate the standard TPWS will show which wheel is at fault. If all wheels show the yellow/amber warning, TPWS is either not set, or there are issues with more than one wheel, possibly while resetting the system.

As I stated in the earlier post, there is the advanced TPM system for the 5-series, which does show the actual real time tyre pressures.

HighlandPete
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2012, 11:36 AM   #22
NISFAN
Brigadier General
England
54

 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK


Posts: 4,151
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HighlandPete View Post
That makes a lot of sense, as it is the wheel speed sensor from the punctured wheel that is throwing up a different rotational speed.

Have been reading the 5-series manual and it does indicate the standard TPWS will show which wheel is at fault. If all wheels show the yellow/amber warning, TPWS is either not set, or there are issues with more than one wheel, possibly while resetting the system.

As I stated in the ealier post, there is the advanced TPM system for the 5-series, which does show the actual real time tyre pressures.

HighlandPete
Yep the full pressure monitoring system is much better for the little scrotes that steal your BMW and drive over stingers. The standard system wouldn't pick up 4 simultaneous punctures
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST