F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Coding Idrive Office with Bimmercode
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2017, 11:47 AM   #1
bimmer4lif3
Private
19
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: 440 GC Msport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ny

iTrader: (2)

Coding Idrive Office with Bimmercode

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Bimmercode just recently gave us android users expert mode I was wondering has anyone successfully enabled Office on their cars with it and if so what settings did you use to turn it on. I was looking for a more current cheat sheet to the codes that can be activated but I can only find the one at the top of coding forum from 2014 and it didn't include any office settings.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2017, 08:20 PM   #2
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
777
Rep
5,732
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer4lif3 View Post
Bimmercode just recently gave us android users expert mode I was wondering has anyone successfully enabled Office on their cars with it and if so what settings did you use to turn it on. I was looking for a more current cheat sheet to the codes that can be activated but I can only find the one at the top of coding forum from 2014 and it didn't include any office settings.
Cheat sheets do not include VO coding (factory) options. There are just too many to list and would vary based on other packages.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2017, 11:05 PM   #3
bimmer4lif3
Private
19
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: 440 GC Msport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ny

iTrader: (2)

Thank you for the response. Do you happen to know how I would go about activating this this function? I have 2017 F36 with pro nav and ebt but no office icon. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Appreciate 1
      11-13-2017, 11:11 PM   #4
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
777
Rep
5,732
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer4lif3 View Post
Thank you for the response. Do you happen to know how I would go about activating this this function? I have 2017 F36 with pro nav and ebt but no office icon. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Esys is only way I do it.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2017, 06:59 AM   #5
steve498
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I just coded office via bimmercode in my 2016 no problems.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2017, 02:37 PM   #6
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
777
Rep
5,732
Posts

Drives: Coded '16 F10/F15 MSport
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve498 View Post
I just coded office via bimmercode in my 2016 no problems.
It can be done, but curious as to how you went about determining which FDL's to change.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2017, 04:25 PM   #7
steve498
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
It can be done, but curious as to how you went about determining which FDL's to change.
There was a cheat sheet page posted to facebook so followed that list. Took about 10 minutes. I'll try to post it here later.
Appreciate 2
      11-17-2017, 11:24 PM   #8
bimmer4lif3
Private
19
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: 440 GC Msport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ny

iTrader: (2)

Hey Steve,
That's great news! I would greatly appreciate that information when you get a chance.
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2017, 09:33 AM   #9
steve498
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer4lif3 View Post
Hey Steve,
That's great news! I would greatly appreciate that information when you get a chance.
https://imgur.com/a/f3i7E

You only need to change the codes in yellow. Worked for me so hopefully will for you too.
Appreciate 0
      11-22-2017, 10:38 PM   #10
jomigo
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2017 430i xDrive Gran Coupe MP
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, Oregon

iTrader: (0)

By coding the items in yellow, then is "Office" now displayed in iDrive and the options to change settings within that menu on the iDrive screen?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 02:54 AM   #11
delavan
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 435i Xdrive Gran Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Office options now show in iDrive, but...

Hey guys,

Thanks for posting all of this. I've coded my 2015 F36 as per the cheat posted above using Bimmercode. The Office menu and options now show in iDrive, but none of my messages, texts, etc. show. It says that there are no new messages when indeed there are. Is there something Im missing?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 06:00 PM   #12
jomigo
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2017 430i xDrive Gran Coupe MP
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, Oregon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by delavan View Post
Hey guys,

Thanks for posting all of this. I've coded my 2015 F36 as per the cheat posted above using Bimmercode. The Office menu and options now show in iDrive, but none of my messages, texts, etc. show. It says that there are no new messages when indeed there are. Is there something Im missing?

Thanks!
I'm no expert, but I had read somewhere else that you have to tell iDrive to forget your phone, and tell your phone to forget your iDrive, then shutoff the car/lock the car (I think to reset the system?). Then reconnect the two.

Will be interested if this works for you, as I may go for it next.

Did you receive any errors after coding this?
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 08:01 PM   #13
delavan
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 435i Xdrive Gran Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the heads up. I tried that but still no luck. I can only see my contacts but thats it.
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2017, 08:02 PM   #14
delavan
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 435i Xdrive Gran Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Oh, and no error codes
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 12:12 AM   #15
jomigo
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 2017 430i xDrive Gran Coupe MP
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Portland, Oregon

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by delavan View Post
Oh, and no error codes
That's good news.
If you resolve it, would be great to hear how.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 12:21 AM   #16
bimmer4lif3
Private
19
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: 440 GC Msport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ny

iTrader: (2)

Hey Steve thanks for getting the info I really appreciate it as do others here maybe you or almaretto can shed some light on the functionally portion.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 12:43 PM   #17
Mbbrewer
Captain
Mbbrewer's Avatar
92
Rep
612
Posts

Drives: 550i
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by delavan View Post
Hey guys,

Thanks for posting all of this. I've coded my 2015 F36 as per the cheat posted above using Bimmercode. The Office menu and options now show in iDrive, but none of my messages, texts, etc. show. It says that there are no new messages when indeed there are. Is there something Im missing?

Thanks!
You might need to go into the bluetooth menu on your phone, select the device your connected to, and make sure you have notifications turned on.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 03:11 PM   #18
steve498
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: BMW F30
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmer4lif3 View Post
Hey Steve thanks for getting the info I really appreciate it as do others here maybe you or almaretto can shed some light on the functionally portion.
I can access my text messages via office but not e-mails. I'm not sure on the e-mail part I can only assume it's because I'm using an android and getting mail isn't as straight forward as say an iPhone (They only use one mail application).

So not really sure on that part. Try re-pairing your phone but I wasn't the one who made the cheat sheet, it was posted on facebook I'm just reposting
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 10:05 PM   #19
gaushell
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2017 F23 230 convertible
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: memphis

iTrader: (0)

i had same issue on email - text working great, email is in the notification list, but don't see anything with any emails. when i press the voice button on steering and ask to text it works, when i ask it to email it says "function not available on current bluetooth device" have android turbo 2 - i'm i out of luck on email?
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2017, 07:13 AM   #20
Bambazonke
Private
Bambazonke's Avatar
Australia
4
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 2012 320d 2016 X3 & 2017 X5
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mackay Queensland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaushell View Post
i had same issue on email - text working great, email is in the notification list, but don't see anything with any emails. when i press the voice button on steering and ask to text it works, when i ask it to email it says "function not available on current bluetooth device" have android turbo 2 - i'm i out of luck on email?
I have a Samsung Galaxy J1 mini and a 2017 Galaxy A5 and both displayed my emails and SMS's in both my old CHAMP2 and new NBT2 units. You must use the default email app supplied on the phone NOT the Microsoft Outlook app or any other 3rd party app. Make sure Office is activated in the Bluetooth settings as well.

It is advisable to delete the device from your car and then re-pair the phone to the car. When you do this you will get a msg on the phone from the car HU requesting access to your contacts list SMS's and emails etc. Once you authorise these requests you should be good to go. Remember in some countries you cannot access your emails unless the car is in P and the handbrake is on.
__________________
MY 17 X5 2.5d sDrive & MY 16 X3 2.0d Motorsport

Last edited by Bambazonke; 12-02-2017 at 07:24 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2017, 11:06 PM   #21
gaushell
New Member
United_States
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2017 F23 230 convertible
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: memphis

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bambazonke View Post
I have a Samsung Galaxy J1 mini and a 2017 Galaxy A5 and both displayed my emails and SMS's in both my old CHAMP2 and new NBT2 units. You must use the default email app supplied on the phone NOT the Microsoft Outlook app or any other 3rd party app. Make sure Office is activated in the Bluetooth settings as well.

It is advisable to delete the device from your car and then re-pair the phone to the car. When you do this you will get a msg on the phone from the car HU requesting access to your contacts list SMS's and emails etc. Once you authorise these requests you should be good to go. Remember in some countries you cannot access your emails unless the car is in P and the handbrake is on.
I can't get anything to come up on pairing asking for email. did all you suggested - setup email on base app (which works), but i don't see how that connects to idrive in any way.

at least in idrive 4 i could connect to my email via bmw online.

any other ideas out there?
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2017, 05:35 AM   #22
Bambazonke
Private
Bambazonke's Avatar
Australia
4
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 2012 320d 2016 X3 & 2017 X5
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mackay Queensland

iTrader: (0)

I have had a look at the photo in the imgur link posted above and did a quick check of the settings of my NBT2 ncd file and noticed the "PIM_NEW_*" FDL codes in my NCD file are all active. The photo shows them as not active.

As Almaretto clearly pointed out using ESys software would be a whole lot easier to pin point where the problem lies as you can do simple ncd file comparisons with the free software that the tokenmaster developed for people like us to personalize our cars
My biggest issue with this bimmercode software is you don't know what it's doing in the background when you make these coding changes. There are very few cars that share identical coding in their ECU's and using 'generic coding" on one vehicle may not work necessarily work on another
__________________
MY 17 X5 2.5d sDrive & MY 16 X3 2.0d Motorsport

Last edited by Bambazonke; 12-04-2017 at 02:56 AM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST