F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > changing sport display to show HP.TQ
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-15-2012, 05:38 PM   #23
Roki_014
Major
100
Rep
1,236
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

can anyone from US whos car is not codded post a pic of this, I went through all the options last nite and I couldn't find it
Appreciate 0
      12-15-2012, 07:06 PM   #24
JamesMA
First Lieutenant
JamesMA's Avatar
31
Rep
313
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

I had the same issue on a car delivered in mid August, metric on the sports display. After messing with the idrive etc for a month herenand there, I took the car to the dealer and they fixed it via coding.
__________________
2013 F30 335i 6MT M-Sport - Blk Saph. / Beige Lthr / Wood Tr. - Tech Pk - VSS M-Adp. Susp. M-Perf Stainless Exhaust M-Perf. brakes
Appreciate 0
      12-16-2012, 09:29 AM   #25
marseille82
Second Lieutenant
marseille82's Avatar
6
Rep
249
Posts

Drives: F30 335i / E60 535i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boogie down Bronx

iTrader: (0)

here you go. Mine is a US build, picked up as ED in September. Never coded.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #26
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
106
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

We coded TreDirtyFive's car last night and got the sports display to show HP/ft-lbs.

We activated the EFF_DYN_SPORT_UNIT value. That enables the Power units to be changed via the Settings -> Language/Units screen. We changed them to HP and ft-lb.

We also coded the TPMS and that showed up in metric units too. Adding TPMS also adds pressure units to the Language/Units screen, so we just switched to psi/F.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 02:41 PM   #27
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
23
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

Is it at all possible to have the non-navi display coded to show the sports display?
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 03:01 PM   #28
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
106
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elistan View Post
Is it at all possible to have the non-navi display coded to show the sports display?
We can get the sports screen to come up, but no actual data is displayed (no red power meters are shown). It's just an empty/static display.

Several people have been working on it, but no joy yet. Sorry.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 03:21 PM   #29
shivaswrath
Brigadier General
shivaswrath's Avatar
United_States
430
Rep
4,312
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost in NJ

iTrader: (3)

yeah I confirmed, it needs to be coded.
__________________
CURRENT: 2017 RS3 (miss you guys)
SOLD: 2012 335i Mineral Gray

M Performance Exhaust/Brakes/Suspension/LSD|Bav Stage 1/AMP||ER CP/IC/DP/OC | Dinan CAI/N55 PWG BIG TURBO|BMWF30.com
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 03:48 PM   #30
Roki_014
Major
100
Rep
1,236
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
We coded TreDirtyFive's car last night and got the sports display to show HP/ft-lbs.

We activated the EFF_DYN_SPORT_UNIT value. That enables the Power units to be changed via the Settings -> Language/Units screen. We changed them to HP and ft-lb.

We also coded the TPMS and that showed up in metric units too. Adding TPMS also adds pressure units to the Language/Units screen, so we just switched to psi/F.
is this done at the dealer or you do it? thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 04:02 PM   #31
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
106
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roki_014 View Post
is this done at the dealer or you do it? thanks
We did it ourselves along with some other coding (mirrors, TPMS, ring tone, etc).


I think I've seen that other people have had it done at the dealer.

Maybe it's something that was supposed to have be done at the VPC for ED cars, but got missed.

Mine came from the factory in US units; I didn't do ED.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 04:06 PM   #32
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
Frogman's Avatar
United_States
106
Rep
1,893
Posts

Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
We coded TreDirtyFive's car last night and got the sports display to show HP/ft-lbs.

We activated the EFF_DYN_SPORT_UNIT value. That enables the Power units to be changed via the Settings -> Language/Units screen. We changed them to HP and ft-lb.

We also coded the TPMS and that showed up in metric units too. Adding TPMS also adds pressure units to the Language/Units screen, so we just switched to psi/F.
Also, without the coding change, I don't think you get the power unit items in the Langauge/Units list (At least I don't). Mine is fixed to HP/ft-lb and I have no option to change the units, which is fine with me.

So, when this is done by the dealer, they must change something else to force the display to HP/ft-lb.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 04:12 PM   #33
TheObviousChild
Lieutenant
TheObviousChild's Avatar
United_States
82
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: '16 340xi M-Sport MPPSK 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: CO

iTrader: (0)

Well this kinda sucks. I would love to hear an explanation on why some cars show ft/lbs and others don't. I can't see a pattern.

Just sucks that I have to set up a service appt just to get this adjusted.
__________________
2016 340xi EBII over Coral Red / ///M sport / Premium / Cold Weather / 6MT / Nav / Dynamic Handling / HK audi
Previous:2013 335xi EBII over Coral Red / ///M sport / Premium / Cold Weather / 6MT / Nav / Dynamic Handling / HK audio
2010 328i / MT - Previous: 2007 328i / AT (boo) - Previous: 2004 325i / MT
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 11:02 PM   #34
JamesMA
First Lieutenant
JamesMA's Avatar
31
Rep
313
Posts

Drives: 2013 F30 335i M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: MA

iTrader: (0)

Mine was one of the first M-Sports in the US, so I expect they just made a small mistake at the factory
__________________
2013 F30 335i 6MT M-Sport - Blk Saph. / Beige Lthr / Wood Tr. - Tech Pk - VSS M-Adp. Susp. M-Perf Stainless Exhaust M-Perf. brakes
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 10:18 AM   #35
elistan
First Lieutenant
United_States
23
Rep
386
Posts

Drives: F30 328i, AP1 S2000
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Longmont, CO

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
We can get the sports screen to come up, but no actual data is displayed (no red power meters are shown). It's just an empty/static display.

Several people have been working on it, but no joy yet. Sorry.
Got it, thanks.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 10:26 AM   #36
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
United_States
120
Rep
3,782
Posts

Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rochester Hills MI

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
We can get the sports screen to come up, but no actual data is displayed (no red power meters are shown). It's just an empty/static display.

Several people have been working on it, but no joy yet. Sorry.
I really hope this is something that can be coded. It should be there on the M-Sport regardless of package.
__________________

'98 Dinan/RMS stage 2+(VAC cams, CES Cutring etc)
'15 Buick Regal "T"(wife)
'06 Saab 9-5 Combi 5mt (full suspension, LSD, clipped turbo etc)
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 02:42 PM   #37
1.fresh.f30.335
Second Lieutenant
United_States
64
Rep
286
Posts

Drives: 2014 535xdrive M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NH-CT

iTrader: (0)

Was told that a software update would change this to hp/tq, and that was from the dealer... Next time I'm in there I will get it done
__________________
'12 335i Sport Apline White w/black... Totaled

'14 535i xdrive M-Sport Carbon Black w/Mocha Nappa
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 04:16 PM   #38
Roki_014
Major
100
Rep
1,236
Posts

Drives: 2014 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: chicago

iTrader: (0)

whats the software number for those that didn't code it but hp ft/lb came without coding?
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 09:22 PM   #39
john08135i
Major
john08135i's Avatar
United_States
45
Rep
1,025
Posts

Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesMA View Post
Mine was one of the first M-Sports in the US, so I expect they just made a small mistake at the factory
Ditto but I coded mine.
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 03:24 PM   #40
RJK993
Eurowerkz Co-Founder
United_States
5
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: '95 993 cabrio/13 335xi Msport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

mine is NOT in horsepower.

took delivery 12/14. the car was a 11/6 US build 335xi msport from regensberg

do i need to code my car?
__________________


Past:2010 MB C300 Sport
2001 BMW 330ci AA Supercharged
1999 Shelby SP360 #150
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 03:44 PM   #41
shivaswrath
Brigadier General
shivaswrath's Avatar
United_States
430
Rep
4,312
Posts

Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost in NJ

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
I really hope this is something that can be coded. It should be there on the M-Sport regardless of package.
Yeah, it'll need to be coded man...

I took it to the dealer, they "billed" 3 hours to figure it out and concluded "Can't be done."

We need to get the coding meet here soon so this can be done...not that I mind, it's just annoying to think in SI units. Bloody europeans.
__________________
CURRENT: 2017 RS3 (miss you guys)
SOLD: 2012 335i Mineral Gray

M Performance Exhaust/Brakes/Suspension/LSD|Bav Stage 1/AMP||ER CP/IC/DP/OC | Dinan CAI/N55 PWG BIG TURBO|BMWF30.com
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 05:55 PM   #42
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
United_States
120
Rep
3,782
Posts

Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rochester Hills MI

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shivaswrath View Post
Yeah, it'll need to be coded man...

I took it to the dealer, they "billed" 3 hours to figure it out and concluded "Can't be done."

We need to get the coding meet here soon so this can be done...not that I mind, it's just annoying to think in SI units. Bloody europeans.
I don't have the screen period, let alone the incorrect units of measure.
__________________

'98 Dinan/RMS stage 2+(VAC cams, CES Cutring etc)
'15 Buick Regal "T"(wife)
'06 Saab 9-5 Combi 5mt (full suspension, LSD, clipped turbo etc)
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 06:09 PM   #43
BMWFanatic2008
Major
BMWFanatic2008's Avatar
103
Rep
1,016
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New York

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamesons Viggen View Post
I don't have the screen period, let alone the incorrect units of measure.
You don't have Navi, do you?
__________________
F82 M4 | Yas Marina Blue | SO Extended Leather | DCT
F80 M3 | Sakhir Orange | SO Extended Leather | DCT (Gone)
F30 335xi | MSport | Estoril Blue | Sport 8AT (Gone)
F30 335xi | MSport | Estoril Blue | 6MT (Gone)
E92 335xi | MSport | Le Mans Blue Metallic | AT (Gone)
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2012, 06:30 PM   #44
Jamesons Viggen
Brigadier General
United_States
120
Rep
3,782
Posts

Drives: '98 M Roadster stg 2+ S/C
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Rochester Hills MI

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWFanatic2008 View Post
You don't have Navi, do you?
Nope.
__________________

'98 Dinan/RMS stage 2+(VAC cams, CES Cutring etc)
'15 Buick Regal "T"(wife)
'06 Saab 9-5 Combi 5mt (full suspension, LSD, clipped turbo etc)
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST