F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > F30 - Base 320ix Audio Upgrade
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-04-2015, 02:57 PM   #1
carmo
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montrea;, QC

iTrader: (0)

F30 - Base 320ix Audio Upgrade

Hi Everyone,

So I finally had enough of the horrible audio system that came with my base 320ix. The base model does not have any tweeters or amplifier and distorts playing any song that has too much bass or treble. You can play one of those well but not both it seems.

So the plan

Part 1) Install Technics 2/4 harness and pass the wires back to the trunk. This part is on hold as the harness is in shipping and I am all the way in Canada. PS: It's freaking cold here this winter! Now fast forward to Part 2!

Part 2) Install necessary wiring to support a to be purchased Alpine MRP-F300 4 channel 300 watt amplifier with signal sensing and speaker level inputs. The first thing I did was to connect the power (red) wire to the battery positive terminal and pass this wire under the trim and through one of two holes I made in the cubby like compartment of the trunk. See pictures. Do you guys think it's ok that the ground and power cables are run so close to each other?

I also connected the ground cable to one of the combo box bolts. Do you think this is a good grounding point?

Anyways this is as far as I got tonight. About one hour of work so far. Let me know what you think.
Attached Images
     
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 04:50 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
11,691
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

I would suggest this grounding point...



... or direct battery ground post connection.

The problem that I have with your Combox chassis ground is that you will be sharing that chassis ground with a high powered amplifier. Although the assumption is that the Combox chassis is fully isolated electrically, nevertheless the assumption is that it is fully isolated electrically as is in that chassis location. Not to share that location chassis ground with a high power amplifier.

Perhaps is no big deal, but again there are better ground points than this one.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 04:57 PM   #3
carmo
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montrea;, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
I would suggest this grounding point...



... or direct battery ground post connection.

The problem that I have with your Combox chassis ground is that you will be sharing that chassis ground with a high powered amplifier. Although the assumption is that the Combox chassis is fully isolated electrically, nevertheless the assumption is that it is fully isolated electrically as is in that chassis location. Not to share that location chassis ground with a high power amplifier.

Perhaps is no big deal, but again there are better ground points than this one.
Hmm never thought of that Technic. I don't want to take any chances. Where is the ground point you mention? Near the battery? Thanks for the feedback.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 05:44 PM   #4
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
11,691
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carmo View Post
Hmm never thought of that Technic. I don't want to take any chances. Where is the ground point you mention? Near the battery? Thanks for the feedback.
Left fender top.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 09:07 PM   #5
carmo
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montrea;, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Left fender top.
Thanks for the advice. I am not planning on taking off the panels and my rear seat unfortunately do not fold down so I'm thinking that taking the left panel off would be a PITA. I decided to use the bolt that holds the battery in place. I thought this would look a bit neater than connecting directly to the battery post. I'll test it out and see though. Thanks for your help Technic.

One question though. Is there a way to turn on two signal sensing amps without a remote wire?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 10:09 PM   #6
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
283
Rep
11,691
Posts

Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by carmo View Post
Thanks for the advice. I am not planning on taking off the panels and my rear seat unfortunately do not fold down so I'm thinking that taking the left panel off would be a PITA. I decided to use the bolt that holds the battery in place. I thought this would look a bit neater than connecting directly to the battery post. I'll test it out and see though. Thanks for your help Technic.

One question though. Is there a way to turn on two signal sensing amps without a remote wire?
Split the high level inputs into the two amps.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2015, 10:31 PM   #7
carmo
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montrea;, QC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
Split the high level inputs into the two amps.
I see. Sounds easy enough. I am guessing that the signal will be split as well and I will have to adjust the gains on both amps to compensate right?

I saw a nice MRP-f500 for sale for 150$ last week. I should have jumped on it to power some future subs. I'm sure this stuff is cheaper in the US especially with what I see on the web but the exchange rate just kills any advantage I would gain with a cheaper price!

Thanks for your help...again
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2015, 01:36 PM   #8
carmo
New Member
1
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2014 320i xdrive
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Montrea;, QC

iTrader: (0)

Amp Rack and Dry Fit of Amp ....check

So decided to make an amp rack to fit my new Alpine MRP-F300. I used cardboard to make the outline and then plywood which I spray painted with that rock-like spray. I didn't feel like carpeting and to be honest I've never done that before. See the completed piece with the amp mounted in the pics below. My Technic 2/4 harnesses are clearing customs right now.....can't wait!

DO you guys feel that the amp rack color is too light?
Attached Images
    

Last edited by carmo; 03-09-2015 at 01:39 PM. Reason: forgot something.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2015, 12:31 PM   #9
kennywuhk
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F30 320d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

I would love to do the same

I would like to order :
Technic harness
JL 6 channel
SWS underseat woofer x 2

am I missing anything ?

I have already installed 4 mid HK speakers and 2 tweeters

can someone tell me what I should do?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2015, 12:32 PM   #10
kennywuhk
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: F30 320d
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Hong Kong

iTrader: (0)

mine is no-amp f30 320d
Appreciate 0
      03-19-2015, 09:40 AM   #11
monkeysaintfun
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: '15 318d Sport
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kennywuhk View Post
I would love to do the same

I would like to order :
Technic harness
JL 6 channel
SWS underseat woofer x 2

am I missing anything ?

I have already installed 4 mid HK speakers and 2 tweeters

can someone tell me what I should do?
I am in the same boat, got the base UK audio, no tweeters, amp and a heavily eq'd output to compensate...

Thinking of getting an 4 channel amp fitted and wires run to the front door speakers and underseat subs. Then eventually upgrading the subs to Earthquake SWS8Xi and Focal IFBMW-s speakers in the doors.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST