F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > ASS system--remember last setting ?
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-23-2012, 09:09 PM   #1
emtrey
Captain
 
emtrey's Avatar
 
Drives: 13 335 AW sport 06 Carrera S
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Midwest

Posts: 651
iTrader: (0)

ASS system--remember last setting ?

I had mine programmed when I took delivery in early September to "remember last setting". It works great for me.

Last week, my friend had his F30 deivered at the same dealership and they said "no longer allowed by BMW" for CAFE requirements.

Anyone else have a similar experience ? I hope they don't "undo" my software when I go in for service.
emtrey is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 09:22 PM   #2
Tsuyoi
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 F30 328i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York

Posts: 561
iTrader: (0)

Dunno, seems to be a rash of reluctance by dealerships to do ASS programming now, I'm guessing with pressure from BMW. My dealer told me that ASS coding would make navigation malfunction and wouldn't code it for me either.
Tsuyoi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 09:28 PM   #3
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

Picked up my car on December 17th and ASS Last User Mode was correctly programmed.

As I understand all M's have the same as standard.

Bet your dealer $500 that he's full of shit and let us know how it works out.
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 09:46 PM   #4
claykin
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,837
iTrader: (0)

BMW is asking for car to be delivered and for owner to use A.S.S. in its factory config first. Reason for this is that EPA can/may require BMW re-test vehicles if they don't meet a certain standard (what that standard is I have no clue).

Dealer asked me to drive for a few weeks then schedule an appt. for the A.S.S. to be re-coded. They promised to do it while I wait which means sending off the PUMA case before I arrive for my appt.

No biggie. A.S.S. not bothering me right now. Dash shows 20MPG which is 3MPG better than my E90 335i MSport. And I've spent quite a bit of time with the car sitting idle in my driveway (playing with stuff since it was my first week of ownership). Oh, and I've only tried EcoPro once for a short trip.
claykin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2012, 10:15 PM   #5
utenigma
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i 8SA M-Adaptive
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dallas, Tx (Frisco)

Posts: 518
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
If the dealer won't do it for you ask someone in your bmw community who codes to do it for you-takes about 2 min once you know what you're doing
utenigma is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 01:50 AM   #6
pkimM3r
Major General
 
pkimM3r's Avatar
 
Drives: m3 saloon in granny mode.
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: lost angeles

Posts: 7,217
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by utenigma
If the dealer won't do it for you ask someone in your bmw community who codes to do it for you-takes about 2 min once you know what you're doing
Yep i dont know what all this takes an hour to change settings or navi will malfunction. You just toggle literally two things. Lol.
__________________
the intardnet is 95% troll, 5% actual good shit. so are my posts.
my channel: pkim
pkimM3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 02:46 AM   #7
ES_TRADER
Colonel
 
Drives: 328i, 335i, M3, 535i, X5, 36M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: OC

Posts: 2,491
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2014 Ford Raptor  [0.00]
2012 328i E92  [5.00]
2013 X5  [0.00]
2013 335i F30  [4.00]
1990 Toyota Previa  [0.00]
1997 E36 M3  [5.00]
2011 E92 M3  [0.00]
2011 535i  [0.00]
What's wrong with just pushing the OFF button right after start? Seems easier
ES_TRADER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 04:00 AM   #8
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

This is a simple customer satisfaction issue.

If my dealer told me no when I asked for the recode, citing a BMW request that I try it out for a few weeks first, I would have complained. I'm not a child. Leaving the showroom on Day 1 with a homework assignment and the need for a scheduled appointment with the service department before I even got into the car would have annoyed me.

Last User Mode is analogous to memory buttons for seat adjustments and radio stations; it just makes sense.

And FWIW I tried ASS and am not a fan. I default to OFF. Easy.
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 07:17 AM   #9
Heiznberg
Private
 
Drives: 2013 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 54
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_TRADER
What's wrong with just pushing the OFF button right after start? Seems easier
Pushing the button every time seems easier than not pushing the button every time
__________________
2013 BMW 335i Sedan | M Sport Line
Heiznberg is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-24-2012, 10:34 AM   #10
ES_TRADER
Colonel
 
Drives: 328i, 335i, M3, 535i, X5, 36M
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: OC

Posts: 2,491
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2014 Ford Raptor  [0.00]
2012 328i E92  [5.00]
2013 X5  [0.00]
2013 335i F30  [4.00]
1990 Toyota Previa  [0.00]
1997 E36 M3  [5.00]
2011 E92 M3  [0.00]
2011 535i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hznbrg
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_TRADER
What's wrong with just pushing the OFF button right after start? Seems easier
Pushing the button every time seems easier than not pushing the button every time
Seems easier than making an appt with service, risk having them effing it up, dealing with hassles after that.

I'm just not too thrilled about having my car reprogrammed by the dealer unless necessary. I've had them reprogram my m3 once and it had transmission failure after that because they programmed wrong. I've also had a 335 reprogrammed once and had engine failure after that. Different dealers, same ol clowns.
ES_TRADER is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-25-2012, 09:01 AM   #11
fshubert
First Lieutenant
 
fshubert's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F30 335i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northwest NJ

Posts: 320
iTrader: (0)

I was going to have mine recoded whenever I brought mine into the dealer but have not had the need to yet. So far, 4800 miles and very used to hitting the ASS button and selecting sport+ to the point where it's just a natural part of starting the car. At this point I probably will forget to ask them to recode it whenver I do bring the car in for something.
__________________
2013 F30 335i | Sportline | Imperial Blue Metallic | Black Dakota | 6-speed | HK | Cold | Premium | 19" Staggered Sports | M-Performance Exhaust
Previous loves:
2009 E90 335i
2007 E90 328xi
fshubert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2012, 11:20 PM   #12
azzurro
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Del Mar, CA

Posts: 398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_TRADER View Post
Seems easier than making an appt with service, risk having them effing it up, dealing with hassles after that.

I'm just not too thrilled about having my car reprogrammed by the dealer unless necessary. I've had them reprogram my m3 once and it had transmission failure after that because they programmed wrong. I've also had a 335 reprogrammed once and had engine failure after that. Different dealers, same ol clowns.
+100
azzurro is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2012, 11:23 PM   #13
azzurro
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Del Mar, CA

Posts: 398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hznbrg View Post
Pushing the button every time seems easier than not pushing the button every time
??????
azzurro is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2012, 11:45 PM   #14
BavarianFanatic
Too much is never enough
 
Drives: Too Many
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SE PA

Posts: 1,695
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Scott View Post
This is a simple customer satisfaction issue.

If my dealer told me no when I asked for the recode, citing a BMW request that I try it out for a few weeks first, I would have complained. I'm not a child. Leaving the showroom on Day 1 with a homework assignment and the need for a scheduled appointment with the service department before I even got into the car would have annoyed me.

Last User Mode is analogous to memory buttons for seat adjustments and radio stations; it just makes sense.

And FWIW I tried ASS and am not a fan. I default to OFF. Easy.
Because the EPA could toss their ratings and make them resubmit for testing/readjust their fleet rating if they instantly undo the tech they used to get the ratings in the first place. At least they gave us a button to disable it. Frankly, I'm surprised they were even allowed to get that one by. It's sort of akin to installing an exhaust cutout that bypasses the cat converter.
BavarianFanatic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST