F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Transferring addresses from Google Maps into F30 BMW Assist
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-28-2012, 02:17 PM   #1
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

Transferring addresses from Google Maps into F30 BMW Assist

Cool, but only a little.

From what I can tell you can only transfer an address from Google to "Messages" in the car, where they appear as an unalphabetized list of messages. You cannot transfer any of these addresses to the stored contacts in the nav system.

So if you want to spend a few hours at the computer at home to enter your favorite addresses, you have to reenter them again in the car to store them as contacts. Let me know if you think I'm missing something, but is this nuts or what?

Coupled with the inability of BMW to handle iPhone messages and emails, I'm heavily unimpressed with their mobile services.
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 02:27 PM   #2
Monkeycmonkeydo
Private
 
Monkeycmonkeydo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i sedan
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: City of angels

Posts: 86
iTrader: (0)

After you start guidance with the address sent to the car. Go into your last destinations and it should appear there. At that point you can save the address for future use.
Monkeycmonkeydo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
jzcrna
Captain
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida

Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeycmonkeydo
After you start guidance with the address sent to the car. Go into your last destinations and it should appear there. At that point you can save the address for future use.
I actually just figured out how to use the options button by scrolling over a "last destination" and saving it to my address book.

I have to give props to the BMW remote. It makes it so seamless to send addresses to the car.
jzcrna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 07:57 PM   #4
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,714
iTrader: (0)

You don't even need to set it as a destination to store it.

Just click on the address entry in the message list and then click the option button. There will be a "save address in vehicle" option and still save it to the car.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 08:14 PM   #5
jzcrna
Captain
 
Drives: 2012 BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Florida

Posts: 904
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman
You don't even need to set it as a destination to store it.

Just click on the address entry in the message list and then click the option button. There will be a "save address in vehicle" option and still save it to the car.
you are correct. sorry I didn't clarify this
jzcrna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 10:33 PM   #6
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
You don't even need to set it as a destination to store it.

Just click on the address entry in the message list and then click the option button. There will be a "save address in vehicle" option and still save it to the car.
LOL, the BMW Assist Customer Relations rep told me it could not be done. I was actually put on a 3-4 minute hold while she tried to research it...

Very odd thing happened however. When I stored one address of a local restaurant from Messages, hitting the "Business Name" entry, it actually changed the street name and kept the address number and city name. The new street was close but wrong. Never saw anything like it!

A few other addresses stored correctly...
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
shivaswrath
Brigadier General
 
shivaswrath's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lost in NJ

Posts: 3,073
iTrader: (3)

so do I have to call BMW Assist to activate this feature? I've been trying to sort this out...
__________________
2012 335i Mineral Gray
M Performance Whore: PPK|Exhaust|Brakes|Performance Suspension Struts & Springs|LSD|Black Kidney Grilles|CF Spoiler and Mirror Caps|Bav Stage 1|400Ms|BMWF30.com
shivaswrath is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 12:09 AM   #8
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shivaswrath View Post
so do I have to call BMW Assist to activate this feature? I've been trying to sort this out...
Yes.
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 01:27 AM   #9
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,714
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Scott View Post
LOL, the BMW Assist Customer Relations rep told me it could not be done. I was actually put on a 3-4 minute hold while she tried to research it...

Very odd thing happened however. When I stored one address of a local restaurant from Messages, hitting the "Business Name" entry, it actually changed the street name and kept the address number and city name. The new street was close but wrong. Never saw anything like it!

A few other addresses stored correctly...

I think the nav system validates the address you send it against it's database. If the address is not there, it complains (or adjusts as you noticed).
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2012, 06:13 AM   #10
Ron Scott
Captain
 
Drives: 2013 335 M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island

Posts: 631
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman View Post
I think the nav system validates the address you send it against it's database. If the address is not there, it complains (or adjusts as you noticed).
Interesting. The system finds the input address when entered directly. My Google message contained the restaurant name. I see 2 possibilities here:

1. It has access to a db of business names with addresses, reads the business name from the Google message and modifies the address without asking for confirmation even when the input address is legitimate. Odd GIS coding.

2. It has access to the geocoordinates of the business and reverse engineers the address from the point. Ballsy to say the least.

Any other explanations?
Ron Scott is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST