F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Cosmetic and Lighting Modifications (exterior & interior) > Additional lights to flash with high beams
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-26-2018, 07:03 AM   #1
randyc
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F30 328i MSport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

Additional lights to flash with high beams

Hi guys, i've recently purchased myself a pair of LED light bars and i intend to hook them up in a way that it flashes/turns on together with the high beam. But i have no idea where to start. I looked at the fuse box and am totally clueless. I believe if i tap into the actual high beam wire connected to the Bi-Xenon headlamps, i might get some sort of fault warning due to the spike in current drawn ?

Any ideas and suggestions please?

Thanks

F30 2012 328i with Bi-Xenon headlights.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 09:32 AM   #2
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
979
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

The problem wiring to bi-xenon is that they're not fed by 12v. You can't wire to the fuse box, because that's not switched, it's always on.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 12:56 PM   #3
Daftasabrush
Fool
Daftasabrush's Avatar
England
985
Rep
2,857
Posts

Drives: F31 340i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

You may find your best bet is to interpret the CAN signals that are used to activate high beams and use those to switch a relay to power the additional lighting. Failing that, you'll need to hang relays off the correct outputs on the lighting control module on each headlamp. I wish you luck because I fear you'll need it!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 07:51 PM   #4
a803sgo
Lieutenant
91
Rep
510
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M-SPORT (F30)
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Easy, splice them into the wires that supply the high beams, they draw such a low current you'll be fine, I did mine like this no problem.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2018, 11:27 PM   #5
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
979
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a803sgo View Post
Easy, splice them into the wires that supply the high beams, they draw such a low current you'll be fine
With halogens yes, but the high start voltage provided by the ballast to bi-zenon may blow LEDs.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2018, 07:40 PM   #6
a803sgo
Lieutenant
91
Rep
510
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M-SPORT (F30)
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Nope, LEDs have a inline voltage regulator on them, no probs since fitting them.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2018, 10:11 PM   #7
2bad4u
Enlisted Member
2bad4u's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: BMW - Derrrrrr.
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia

iTrader: (0)

I've just posted a question in the "Australian" section asking the same question. Normally you would wire the lights direct to the battery and have them switched through a relay on the high beam circuit. This provides the low amp switching on the relay and high amp supply to the lights.

In the past I have used a piggy back plug on the back of the lights for the switching circuit but I'm not sure how to go about it with the Bi-xenon lights and any other electrical issues that may come up with the BMW.
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2018, 05:18 AM   #8
randyc
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F30 328i MSport
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Malaysia

iTrader: (0)

i guess the easiest way is to find the correct wires that actuates the high beam cutoff flap, and splice into it to actuate the relays.. or just replace the headlight assy to LCI LED's hehe

thanks for the replies
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2018, 10:42 AM   #9
Billfitz
Brigadier General
United_States
979
Rep
3,561
Posts

Drives: '15 328iX GT
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by a803sgo View Post
LEDs have a inline voltage regulator on them, no probs since fitting them.
Some LED lamps may have built in voltage regulation, but by no means do all.
Quote:
In the past I have used a piggy back plug on the back of the lights for the switching circuit but I'm not sure how to go about it with the Bi-xenon lights
You may be able to connect the trigger of the relay to the input of the bi-zenon ballast. You might be able to trigger it off the shutter relay also. If you know what you're doing you should be able to map where there is 12v nominal present only when the high beams are on.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST