F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Installed donor vehicle's NBT but no sound
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-30-2013, 01:44 AM   #1
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Installed donor vehicle's NBT but no sound

So I got my NBT head unit, CAN-Filter, 8.8" CID today and my friend was able to help me swap this out for my current CIC head unit.

So far, I am able to access most of the menus, and the following features are working:

PDC
Navigation (With CAN-Filter but it is currently on EU maps)
Sports Display
Driving Mode indicators

My main concern right now is that the sound is not working at all. My F30 originally came with Hi-Fi SA676 and it does not seem to be getting any output at all. The head unit came from a 2013 F31 German Spec but I'm not sure if this even makes a difference.

Another problem is that when I try to VO code HU_NBT, it will not take anything from my VO, the default language will stay German, radio frequencies are still European and my PDC and Driving mode diagrams still show a image of an F31 and not a F30.

I've removed 6VA from my VO and still no avail. Disconnected the combox and still no sound.

Does anyone have any idea how I can at least get sound to work? Right now, there is no communication between my KOMBI and HU_NBT and the trip computer does not record any data.

I realize that the AUX, Bluetooth Antenna and USB all currently go into the combox but I should be at the very least be able to hear sound without plugging all those in.

Last edited by Aritaurus; 11-30-2013 at 01:49 AM.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 02:43 AM   #2
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Ok, I changed the build date on the VO from 07/12 to 11/12 and now it took all the changes on my VO and applied it to the head unit. The default language is now English, the PDC shows a F30 and not a F31 and the radio frequencies are correct.

There's still no sound and no communication with the KOMBI. I tried VO coding KOMBI with the same build date and it would not take it.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 02:47 AM   #3
Steve33
Captain
 
Steve33's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal

Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

I give you the props for having the nuts to do this to your car... take pics, a writeup would be nice when you figure it out!
__________________
Steve33 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 10:45 AM   #4
yungming
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SG

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

you can change the F31 to F30 in the HU_NBT FDL

you need to change the kombi to kombi_low in HU_NBT FDL to sync the time and date
yungming is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 10:47 AM   #5
yungming
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SG

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

can you PM me the vehicle VIN?

what is the current i-level of your car?
yungming is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 11:31 AM   #6
1lyfe
Major
 
1lyfe's Avatar
 
Drives: AW F30 328i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve33 View Post
I give you the props for having the nuts to do this to your car... take pics, a writeup would be nice when you figure it out!
too bad he didnt do the install by himself...
he was sitting at work while i was doing all the work on his car!

i grabbed a couple of shots but i will get a full write-up done when we figure out how to get the sound working.

we also have to work on patching the cables that go to the combox back into the NBT unit so that USB, aux and bluetooth work.
__________________
Current Mods: BMS Stage 2 , Ultra Racing Strut Bar , 19" M5 Reps Staggered , more to come!
Awaiting funds: ER Catless Downpipe , BMW PE , M-Sport BBK, Coils.... Donations Welcomed
Awaiting developement: Sway bars
1lyfe is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 01:29 PM   #7
Steve33
Captain
 
Steve33's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SoCal

Posts: 638
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1lyfe View Post
we also have to work on patching the cables that go to the combox back into the NBT unit so that USB, aux and bluetooth work.
You mean you don't want to re-run the miles of wire in the car? Sounds like an easy job


That's sarcasm by the way... the internet doesn't do a good job of showing that
__________________
Steve33 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 02:11 PM   #8
1lyfe
Major
 
1lyfe's Avatar
 
Drives: AW F30 328i Xdrive
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 1,035
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve33 View Post
You mean you don't want to re-run the miles of wire in the car? Sounds like an easy job


That's sarcasm by the way... the internet doesn't do a good job of showing that
right now the aux input, usb and blue tooth mic is hooked up to the combox. but since nbt has a built in combox, we got to run those wire back into the back of NBT so it will work
otherwise its just a navigation unit with cd radio and sat capabilities lol
__________________
Current Mods: BMS Stage 2 , Ultra Racing Strut Bar , 19" M5 Reps Staggered , more to come!
Awaiting funds: ER Catless Downpipe , BMW PE , M-Sport BBK, Coils.... Donations Welcomed
Awaiting developement: Sway bars
1lyfe is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-30-2013, 03:03 PM   #9
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yungming View Post
you can change the F31 to F30 in the HU_NBT FDL

you need to change the kombi to kombi_low in HU_NBT FDL to sync the time and date
I ended up changing the build date on my VO to 11/12 and now the HU_NBT has my car's specs on it as opposed to what was on the F31. Before, all the menus were in German and my PDC showed a F31 but now it's all correct. The weird part is though, when I FDL code something, it will change everything back to German which is totally strange.

I guess I can try kombi_low and see what happens. It wouldn't let me VO code my KOMBI with the later build date since I think my I-step isn't new enough. I have 6WA (Instrument Cluster Expanded Equipment) so I'm not sure if this will apply.

I have a feeling that I need to get my car reprogrammed at the dealer to 50.4 or greater to get most of this working.

As for the sound, we still can't seem to figure out what the problem is. I re-connected my CIC and it's working fine there.

1lyfe is going to try and install the NBT unit into his 2013 F30 that has a higher I-step than mine and without the factory CIC to see if anything's different.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 01:45 AM   #10
yungming
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SG

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

from the VIN you gave me, your car already have a NBT installed!

did you change to another NBT?
yungming is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 03:29 AM   #11
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yungming View Post
from the VIN you gave me, your car already have a NBT installed!

did you change to another NBT?
I gave you the correct VIN and it's for a 2012 F30 328i so there's absolutely no way that I would have NBT from the factory.

Did you type it in wrong by any chance?
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 03:47 AM   #12
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Made some progress after playing around with the coding. Now the trip computer, service menu and vehicle info screens all work flawlessly as if it was from factory. Previously, I also had no communication with KOMBI and now the scroll wheel works fine and the time is fully synchronized.

I honestly did not expect the check control and the service required me to even work but they're all showing up perfectly with my vehicle's data. Efficient dynamics is also working without any problems.

Still not having much luck with the sound though
Attached Images
 
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 03:49 AM   #13
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The mobile app won't let me upload several photos at a time.... Arg
Attached Images
 
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 03:51 AM   #14
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Service intervals
Attached Images
 
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 03:53 AM   #15
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Kombi fully communicates now; and no, those are not my songs. They belong to the previous owner of the head unit!
Attached Images
 
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 05:11 AM   #16
yungming
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SG

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

in your VIN that you gave me I saw there was already a 609 there!
yungming is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 05:31 AM   #17
yungming
New Member
 
Drives: F30
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SG

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

Another question, can you try to use your steering controller to adjust the volume?

or the communication from the climate controller with volume controller is not connected properly?
yungming is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 11:24 AM   #18
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yungming View Post
in your VIN that you gave me I saw there was already a 609 there!
609 Option code by itself means nothing, as it is only the Option Code for Navigation Professional, and that can be either CIC or NBT Head Unit just the same.

The best indication of which head unit came from the factory is the presence of a standalone Combox:

609 Navigation Professional + 6VC Combox = CIC Head Unit (stand alone Combox)
609 Navigation Professional Only = NBT Head Unit (Combox integrated into the Head Unit)
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 12:46 PM   #19
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by yungming View Post
Another question, can you try to use your steering controller to adjust the volume?

or the communication from the climate controller with volume controller is not connected properly?
Climate control is just one wire on the baseplate and it all works fine.

I think this NBT is on idrive 4.2 because before I VO coded it, I saw a volume bar on the screen when I adjust the volume with the buttons on the steering wheel and there was also a touchpad menu. After I VO coded it with the 1112 build date, those were gone.

Shawn, if I give you the name of the CAFD file on HU_NBT, would you be able to tell what it was flashed with and the max build date I can VO code it with?
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 12:50 PM   #20
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Before I VO coded the car, I actually had a volume bar in the screen when I use the steering wheel to adjust the volume. Climate control is just one wire on the baseplate and it all works fine.

I think this NBT is on idrive 4.2 because before I VO coded it, I saw a volume bar on the screen when I adjust the volume with the buttons on the steering wheel and there was also a touchpad menu. After I VO coded it with the 1112 build date, those were gone.

Shawn, if I give you the name of the CAFD file on HU_NBT, would you be able to tell what it was flashed with and the max build date I can VO code it with?
Not really. Highlight NBT in SVT, click on Detect CAF for SWE, and you will see what CAFD's are associated with what I-Levels.

As for Max build date, I would use 0713, which is the beginning of iDrive 4.2.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 01:15 PM   #21
Aritaurus
Captain
 
Aritaurus's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i Luxury Line
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto

Posts: 806
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Not really. Highlight NBT in SVT, click on Detect CAF for SWE, and you will see what CAFD's are associated with what I-Levels.

As for Max build date, I would use 0713, which is the beginning of iDrive 4.2.
Thanks. I'll check that out.

Here's something else that's strange. When I first connected the NBT to my car, it had the original vehicle's bluetooth name BMW6XXXX. Last night, I noticed that my iPhone 5 was already paired and when I went back to check the bluetooth name, it had the one from my original head unit BMW43XXX.

The only thing I did different this time was reconnect the combox in the back. When I go to the external devices menu, Bluetooth Audio also works. I wonder it is getting the data from my combox or from the NBT.

Looks like if I can get sound to work, at the very least I will have Bluetooth Audio streaming.
Aritaurus is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      12-01-2013, 01:20 PM   #22
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,691
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aritaurus View Post
Thanks. I'll check that out.

Here's something else that's strange. When I first connected the NBT to my car, it had the original vehicle's bluetooth name BMW6XXXX. Last night, I noticed that my iPhone 5 was already paired and when I went back to check the bluetooth name, it had the one from my original head unit BMW43XXX.

The only thing I did different this time was reconnect the combox in the back. When I go to the external devices menu, Bluetooth Audio also works. I wonder it is getting the data from my combox or from the NBT.

Looks like if I can get sound to work, at the very least I will have Bluetooth Audio streaming.
The old Combox needs to me disconnected, the Fiber Loop terminated, and the Aux, USB, Microphone, and Bluetooth connections moved to NBT.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST