F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Sport Display
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-24-2013, 09:49 AM   #1
MNBart
Private
 
Drives: F30 335ix Sport Line - Alpine
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 72
iTrader: (0)

Sport Display

BIMMERPOST
     Featured on BIMMERPOST.com
Anyone else's sport display showing more max hp and torque than BMW claims?

I'm wondering if it's a product of BMW's inaccuracy (underrating) or the sport display's inaccuracy
MNBart is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 12:10 PM   #2
Teemo Panda
*Bimmerpost Plasti Dip Guru*
 
Teemo Panda's Avatar
 
Drives: E53, E46-M3, E70, F25-X3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Jersey (NJ)

Posts: 1,178
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW X3  [2.83]
Yes, I noticed this every time I merge into the highway, I would WOT, getting around 255-260 HP and 260-270 TQ.

BMW always underrates their engine estimates.

I read it somewhere that the n20 is capable of doing 260HP-280TQ stock.
__________________
Teemo Panda is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 01:36 PM   #3
ZF30
Enlisted Member
 
ZF30's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 335 sport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ottawa

Posts: 31
iTrader: (0)

I noticed it to. However ever since I got my car recoded for the auto start/stop last use memory I've had N-m. I have asked the dealer to program it back to hp but they say they cannot and that in Canada it is N-m. They did mention that whenever I go in for service to keep asking to see if the coding for Canada has changed. Just sucks having it and then not having it anymore.
ZF30 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 03:01 PM   #4
tdizzle
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Memphis

Posts: 1,751
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBart View Post
Anyone else's sport display showing more max hp and torque than BMW claims?

I'm wondering if it's a product of BMW's inaccuracy (underrating) or the sport display's inaccuracy
Combination of both in short. It's a fun tool, but I'm pretty sure it's not completely accurate.

That said, the cars are underrated. Most F30 335's are putting around 275hp/300tq down at the wheels. If you figure 10% drive train loss (which is probably actually higher) and you're around 305hp/330tq at the crank.
tdizzle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 03:12 PM   #5
TheObviousChild
First Lieutenant
 
TheObviousChild's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 335xi - M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Broomfield, CO

Posts: 363
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZF30 View Post
I noticed it to. However ever since I got my car recoded for the auto start/stop last use memory I've had N-m. I have asked the dealer to program it back to hp but they say they cannot and that in Canada it is N-m. They did mention that whenever I go in for service to keep asking to see if the coding for Canada has changed. Just sucks having it and then not having it anymore.



Yeah so this is an issue. I had the Nm & kw/hr measurements on my Sport displays. I took it in to get ASS set to last user mode and the sport displays fixed. Well, I picked it up and the Sport Displays were right, but ASS still defaulted to on. I just got it back after another 3 days in the shop. Turns out, they fixed the ASS, but doing so reset the Sport displays back to metric units. The tech had to go BACK in and fix that.

Ultimately, after a long wait and several attempts, I have it how I want it. ASS on Last User Mode and US measurements for HP and Torque.

Your dealer absolutely can do this for you. They are just being stubborn.
__________________
2013 BMW 335xi EBII over Coral Red / ///M sport / Premium / Cold Weather / 6MT / Nav / Dynamic Handling / HK audio
Previous: 2010 328i / MT
Previous: 2007 328i / AT (boo)
Previous: 2004 325i / MT
TheObviousChild is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 03:34 PM   #6
rich1068
has left the building
 
Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK

Posts: 3,363
iTrader: (0)

I'm confused by this thread. Can't you alter the units yourself? I know I did when I had a 330d M Sport demo for 24 hours. I can't remember what the default was but I know I changed it to hp and ft/lb.



I was more annoyed about having to choose Sport Display every time I started the car rather than iDrive remembering.
rich1068 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 04:24 PM   #7
tdizzle
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Memphis

Posts: 1,751
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich1068 View Post
I'm confused by this thread. Can't you alter the units yourself? I know I did when I had a 330d M Sport demo for 24 hours. I can't remember what the default was but I know I changed it to hp and ft/lb.



I was more annoyed about having to choose Sport Display every time I started the car rather than iDrive remembering.
I dont think so, I wish you could. Mine is sporting metric units, not that it's something I'd look at often, but still...
tdizzle is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 05:17 PM   #8
Agamemnon
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 335ix EB2, Mppk, Akra
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Richmond BC

Posts: 355
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZF30 View Post
I noticed it to. However ever since I got my car recoded for the auto start/stop last use memory I've had N-m. I have asked the dealer to program it back to hp but they say they cannot and that in Canada it is N-m. They did mention that whenever I go in for service to keep asking to see if the coding for Canada has changed. Just sucks having it and then not having it anymore.
I took delivery of my M sport in late December. I live in the Greater Vancouver area. My sport displays are in HP and LB/FT.
Agamemnon is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-24-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
jdong
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 BMW ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NorCal

Posts: 503
iTrader: (0)

You definitely can on the NBT nav, which it seems like tdizzle has, given the shiny-ness of the iDrive knob icon.
jdong is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST