F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Launch Control
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-18-2012, 11:37 PM   #1
DarkTrigger
Professional
DarkTrigger's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
977
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Launch Control

Sorry if this has already been talked about but I haven't seen any recent discussion on it.

1) How is it done with the ZF auto. Just set it to sport plus, hold the break, rev. to 2k RPM, then let go of the break while smashing the gas pedal till it clicks?
2) Who's actually done it. How many miles did you have on your car when you first did it?
3) If you do it too many times will it void the warranty? Does the car log how many times you utilize launch control?

(Does the car even have enough power to lose traction while launching?)

I'd like to hear your general thoughts on it....

Last edited by DarkTrigger; 12-19-2012 at 12:47 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 11:44 PM   #2
Dan_335i
Captain
19
Rep
879
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 335i EBII MSport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkTrigger View Post
Sorry if this has already been talked about but I haven't seen any recent discussion on it.

First, how is it done with the ZF auto. Just set it to sport plus, hold the break, rev. to 2k RPM, then let go of the break while smashing the gas pedal till it clicks?

Second, who's actually done it. How many miles did you have on your car when you first did it?

Third, if you do it too many times will it void the warranty? Does the car log how many times you utilize launch control?

I'd like to heard your general thoughts on it....

(Does the car even have enough power to lose traction while launching?)
Yeh what u said was right, theres no voiding warranty for that its just made for the tires, it doesnt record how many times u do it

Its just fun
Appreciate 0
      12-18-2012, 11:58 PM   #3
woderd
Private
3
Rep
91
Posts

 
Drives: boat
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: home

iTrader: (0)

so you just have the car in drive. hold the break hit the gas until 2k then let go of break and mash it?
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 12:00 AM   #4
Joshhleee
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
280
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328 jet black/coral sport
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Socal

iTrader: (0)

we have launch control? yes!
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 12:44 AM   #5
DarkTrigger
Professional
DarkTrigger's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
977
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

iTrader: (0)

I don't think it's talked about enough. I really want to know if other people have used it.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 12:50 AM   #6
buildbright
Captain
buildbright's Avatar
9
Rep
907
Posts

 
Drives: 335i BMW F30 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

That is not launch control lmao. There is no launch control on the F30.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 12:53 AM   #7
DarkTrigger
Professional
DarkTrigger's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
977
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by buildbright View Post
That is not launch control lmao. There is no launch control on the F30.
What is it then? Just a launching trick? The guy in motortrend (ignition ep. 5) did it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLZA8...layer_embedded

Last edited by DarkTrigger; 12-19-2012 at 01:01 AM.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 01:07 AM   #8
buildbright
Captain
buildbright's Avatar
9
Rep
907
Posts

 
Drives: 335i BMW F30 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL

iTrader: (0)

That's a standard Power or Torque Brake launch. Basic Automatic Drag Racing. If it was launch control the car would rev much higher usually to 4k+.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 01:11 AM   #9
DarkTrigger
Professional
DarkTrigger's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
977
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Just read up on it. Launch control is reserved for BMW DCT cars.

Cannot launch with a torque converter. Proper name was break torque launch. Most people had too much wheel spin at 2,000 rpm so they suggested 1,800 rpm.

So I guess I'm asking, what have people's experiences been break launching the car?
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 01:16 AM   #10
jdong
Lieutenant
8
Rep
503
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 BMW ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NorCal

iTrader: (0)

Brake torque launch. And it's untrue that it can't be done with a torque converter automatic. Old ZF 6HP's on Audis supported launch control. TCS off, sport mode, hold brake and floor it, release brake when ready.

I doubt the F30 does it and I'm not gonna try it on my own
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 01:49 AM   #11
RPM90
Major General
105
Rep
6,095
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Msport w/sport AT
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkTrigger View Post
Sorry if this has already been talked about but I haven't seen any recent discussion on it.

1) How is it done with the ZF auto. Just set it to sport plus, hold the break, rev. to 2k RPM, then let go of the break while smashing the gas pedal till it clicks?
2) Who's actually done it. How many miles did you have on your car when you first did it?
3) If you do it too many times will it void the warranty? Does the car log how many times you utilize launch control?

(Does the car even have enough power to lose traction while launching?)

I'd like to hear your general thoughts on it....
Our cars don't have "launch control". There isn't a program that is designed to maximize traction and acceleration as in cars that have an actual
"launch control".

What we can do is a simply tried and true old method of 'brake torquing' an automatic for a hard and fast launch.
Because our turbo engines provide big torque at low rpm using this technique gives a really nice launch.

Sport+, sport S/D trans mode, hold the brake, give throttle.
Right around 2000rpm release the brake and modulate the throttle. If you go full on WFO on the throttle you may just end up with a smoky launch but not very fast forward progression.
YES, the 335i has more than enough power to smoke the tires even with an AT using this technique.
You'll have to play around with launch rpm and controlling the throttle.
Remember to give decent cool down time so that the torque converter doesn't get over heated.

I've not launched a 328i so I can't comment on it.
But I'll bet there is plenty of torque to break the tires loose.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 11:36 AM   #12
DarkTrigger
Professional
DarkTrigger's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
977
Posts

 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPM90 View Post
Our cars don't have "launch control". There isn't a program that is designed to maximize traction and acceleration as in cars that have an actual
"launch control".

What we can do is a simply tried and true old method of 'brake torquing' an automatic for a hard and fast launch.
Because our turbo engines provide big torque at low rpm using this technique gives a really nice launch.

Sport+, sport S/D trans mode, hold the brake, give throttle.
Right around 2000rpm release the brake and modulate the throttle. If you go full on WFO on the throttle you may just end up with a smoky launch but not very fast forward progression.
YES, the 335i has more than enough power to smoke the tires even with an AT using this technique.
You'll have to play around with launch rpm and controlling the throttle.
Remember to give decent cool down time so that the torque converter doesn't get over heated.

I've not launched a 328i so I can't comment on it.
But I'll bet there is plenty of torque to break the tires loose.
Perfect, thank you, that's what I was looking for. I'll try it out.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2012, 11:42 AM   #13
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
England
90
Rep
2,572
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK

iTrader: (0)

Ta-daa! 1080p

__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 03:50 PM   #14
zofinger
First Lieutenant
zofinger's Avatar
England
3
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d MSport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

What option do you need to have to get the sport display on the screen? Just interested in knowing what I didn't tick!

Last edited by zofinger; 01-13-2013 at 03:57 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 04:07 PM   #15
SomeRandomer123
Colonel
SomeRandomer123's Avatar
England
90
Rep
2,572
Posts

 
Drives: F30 328i Luxury - Sport Auto
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lancashire, North West England, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by zofinger View Post
What option do you need to have to get the sport display on the screen? Just interested in knowing what I didn't tick!
Navigation Professional, as you can see from the larger screen than Navigation Business, or standard.
__________________

Gone: 2006 BMW E60 520d SE 6MT
Gone: 2009 BMW E90-LCI 330d SE 6MT
Current: 2012 F30 328i Luxury 8AT
My 328i initial thoughts + media!http://www.f30post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712673
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 04:29 PM   #16
zofinger
First Lieutenant
zofinger's Avatar
England
3
Rep
335
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335d MSport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Ta - much appreciated. It's amazing how much more info there's on this forum than chatting to any dealer. I'm not saying the sport display would have swayed me into investing in the Nav Professional but it's good to know!

Last edited by zofinger; 01-13-2013 at 04:38 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 05:23 PM   #17
JooFoo
Private
JooFoo's Avatar
1
Rep
51
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 335i Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

LOL, sort of a funny thread.

Reminds me the heavy boy-racer slant to these forums. Nothing against any of you boy racers, but please note that a "Launch Control Button" is NOT included in your F30*.

*GI JOE also sold separately.

Appreciate 0
      01-13-2013, 05:55 PM   #18
TreDirtyFive
Captain
United_States
21
Rep
918
Posts

 
Drives: 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (8)

Yes, No "launch control" on Torque converted cars....you need a Dual Clutch so the computer can slip it on launch. There is something similar to launch control on much more expensive torque converted cars such as lamborghini's but it isn't the same as it is more of an auto-brake stand simulation.
__________________
335 F30 MSport: N55.Tech.NAV.+
135 DCT:N55.Prem.Sports.NAV.IPod
X-335 E92: Prem.Sports.NAV.IPod
Audi A3: Sports.Tech.NAV.sways.DP.K2 Coils.Flash.etc
X-67 Baracuda Fastback: DragGears.Sway.etc.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2013, 03:33 PM   #19
MNBart
Private
1
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: F30 335ix Sport Line - Alpine
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis

iTrader: (0)

my old GTI had a DSG transmission and that's what we referred to the launch as. I have not tried it with my 335 yet but I think i'm going to try it out today. 3 degrees out, nice and cool

I'll make a video and post it up here later
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2013, 12:08 PM   #20
godfather87
Private
6
Rep
79
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 335ix
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada, Kitchener

iTrader: (0)

ummm how would u do a nice launch on the stick? i find if I'm trying to launch hard, soon as i let the clutch out fully the car lags for half a sec cuz the rpms dip. I may be launching at High rpms maybe thats why....its a 335xi if that makes a difference...
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2013, 12:27 PM   #21
Bradbury
Vroooooom!
Bradbury's Avatar
Norway
2
Rep
206
Posts

 
Drives: F20 120d
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Does the DSC interfere?
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2013, 05:08 PM   #22
Fastdriverinca999
E90 FastDriver
2
Rep
42
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i w/sport pack
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: california

iTrader: (0)

launching 6 speed

I had an E46 and this worked great. You may have to add 1 or 2,000 rpms for AWD.

Stop, turn all stability controls completely off (not recommended for safety reasons). Rev to 4,000 rpm, pop clutch.

Wheels will spin, revs will increase to 6,000 and then the car will shoot off like a rocket, leaving a nice strip of rubber.

Did it like 25 times (not in a row) on my e46 with no ill effects.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST