F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Speed Limit Display
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-01-2013, 03:02 AM   #1
SaddleworthScot
New Member
 
Drives: 330d xDrive M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lancs

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Speed Limit Display

Does anyone know if you can retro-fit this? I have an F31 on order with Pro Nav, HUD and Visibility Pack and was wondering if the same camera for the high beam assist is used for reading the speed limits.
SaddleworthScot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 04:06 PM   #2
SaddleworthScot
New Member
 
Drives: 330d xDrive M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lancs

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Bump
SaddleworthScot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 04:14 PM   #3
Deyvy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 330D Finally. Love it!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester

Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

Is it too late to add it in?

I didn't think to spec it if it wasn't for my salesman suggesting I should.

Can't answer your question about the retrofit, but I would get on the phone asap to find out if you can still add it to your order. Well worth it with HUD.
__________________
330D M Sport Estoril Blue 19" + M Sport Brakes, Adaptive Suspension, HK Sound, HUD, Stop+Go, Vis Pack, New Pro Nav.

Last edited by Deyvy; 04-03-2013 at 04:21 PM.
Deyvy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2013, 02:04 AM   #4
Captain Cow Pat
Lieutenant
 
Captain Cow Pat's Avatar
 
Drives: VO F31 330d xDrive M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Hampshire, UK

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

I would think that if anything was down to coding, then this would be it. That camera on the back of the rear view mirror seems to be involved in so many activities.
__________________
Captain Cow Pat is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2013, 02:27 AM   #5
venkata
Lieutenant
 
venkata's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320D MSport EBII
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lancashire

Posts: 554
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Cow Pat View Post
I would think that if anything was down to coding, then this would be it. That camera on the back of the rear view mirror seems to be involved in so many activities.
you could be right, i read somewhere on the forums, this could be enabled through coding, but needed 2 prerequisites... Lane departure warning and Vis Pack (Camera)
__________________
Gone: E46 320D Sport | Silver Grey | Xenon | Heated Leather | Rain Sensors | M Sports package II
Driving: http://mybmw.co.uk/x1j0z7b7 | F30 320D ///M-Sport | EBII | Black Leather | Visibility Pack | Adaptive Suspension | Media Pro Pack | | Enhanced Bluetooth | BMW Apps | Sports Auto | Sun Protection Glass | EU6 BluePerformance Diesel | Black Performance Grill | Performance Spoiler |
venkata is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2013, 04:29 AM   #6
SaddleworthScot
New Member
 
Drives: 330d xDrive M Sport Touring
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lancs

Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by venkata View Post
you could be right, i read somewhere on the forums, this could be enabled through coding, but needed 2 prerequisites... Lane departure warning and Vis Pack (Camera)
I have vis pack but not lane departure, maybe it uses the lane departure camera. :
SaddleworthScot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2013, 12:02 PM   #7
Deyvy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 330D Finally. Love it!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester

Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

I have speed limit display and vis pack, but not lane departure.

Does that mean with coding I could get lane departure. I actually would not want it though.
__________________
330D M Sport Estoril Blue 19" + M Sport Brakes, Adaptive Suspension, HK Sound, HUD, Stop+Go, Vis Pack, New Pro Nav.
Deyvy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-04-2013, 12:21 PM   #8
NISFAN
Brigadier General
 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

Posts: 4,022
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deyvy View Post
I have speed limit display and vis pack, but not lane departure.

Does that mean with coding I could get lane departure. I actually would not want it though.
Lane departure uses a motor mounted in the steering wheel to produce the 'wake up you dozy sod' vibrations.
__________________
NISFAN is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 04:25 AM   #9
Jon D
Colonel
 
Jon D's Avatar
 
Drives: F12 640i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 2,575
iTrader: (0)

I have speed limit display on my F12, but it quite often shows the wrong figure, so I no longer rely on it.
I won't bother with it on my next car.
Jon D is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 04:59 AM   #10
NISFAN
Brigadier General
 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

Posts: 4,022
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon D View Post
I have speed limit display on my F12, but it quite often shows the wrong figure, so I no longer rely on it.
I won't bother with it on my next car.
Must be much better on the F30, mine changes about 2 seconds after going past a sign board, every time. It also picks up overhead variable speed limits very well............the only one it struggles with I would say, is those temporary 20mph limits past schools, as they are not regular sized displays. 220 well spent
__________________
NISFAN is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 05:08 AM   #11
ZigmundUK
Captain
 
Drives: F31 330d M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NCL - UK

Posts: 626
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NISFAN View Post
Must be much better on the F30, mine changes about 2 seconds after going past a sign board, every time. It also picks up overhead variable speed limits very well............the only one it struggles with I would say, is those temporary 20mph limits past schools, as they are not regular sized displays. 220 well spent
'temporary' ones? Do you mean the green bordered ones? Those aren't temporary - just a suggested limit. The actual limit there is 30.

Or do you mean the smaller repeaters it doesn't pick up so well. I think it's a great idea and would like it in future if it works well. tbh it would be great combined with an active cruise control that reset itself to that limit!!
__________________
Gone: E87 120d SE Auto (M47TU2D20) Sparkling Graphite
Running: E61 520d SE Auto (N47D20) Titanium Silver
Sprinting: F31 330d M Sport (N57D30A) Estoril Blue
ZigmundUK is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 06:59 AM   #12
NISFAN
Brigadier General
 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

Posts: 4,022
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZigmundUK View Post
'temporary' ones? Do you mean the green bordered ones? Those aren't temporary - just a suggested limit. The actual limit there is 30.

Or do you mean the smaller repeaters it doesn't pick up so well. I think it's a great idea and would like it in future if it works well. tbh it would be great combined with an active cruise control that reset itself to that limit!!
No I mean the occasional 20mph electronic signals that you get at Schools. The 30 unless signal displays type. They are quite small.

Would be good if the display was linked to CC
__________________
NISFAN is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 07:38 AM   #13
Jon D
Colonel
 
Jon D's Avatar
 
Drives: F12 640i
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Scotland

Posts: 2,575
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NISFAN View Post
Must be much better on the F30, mine changes about 2 seconds after going past a sign board, every time. It also picks up overhead variable speed limits very well............the only one it struggles with I would say, is those temporary 20mph limits past schools, as they are not regular sized displays. 220 well spent
That's exactly what mine does - most of the time. However I have noticed discrepancies on several occasions and that's why I no longer trust it.
Jon D is offline   Scotland
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 03:34 PM   #14
venkata
Lieutenant
 
venkata's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 320D MSport EBII
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Lancashire

Posts: 554
iTrader: (0)

Wonder if the discrepancies were because some data s also base on the sat nav?
__________________
Gone: E46 320D Sport | Silver Grey | Xenon | Heated Leather | Rain Sensors | M Sports package II
Driving: http://mybmw.co.uk/x1j0z7b7 | F30 320D ///M-Sport | EBII | Black Leather | Visibility Pack | Adaptive Suspension | Media Pro Pack | | Enhanced Bluetooth | BMW Apps | Sports Auto | Sun Protection Glass | EU6 BluePerformance Diesel | Black Performance Grill | Performance Spoiler |
venkata is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 04:11 PM   #15
mlepyro
M Performance
 
mlepyro's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 + F31 330d
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 535
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I agree it is excellent and very accurate. Even when you think it missed a sign it switches.

Mat
mlepyro is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 05:13 PM   #16
Deyvy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 330D Finally. Love it!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester

Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

Speed limit primarily goes off the road your on from the nav. But then the limit display will be overridden if the camera picks up a speed limit sign.
__________________
330D M Sport Estoril Blue 19" + M Sport Brakes, Adaptive Suspension, HK Sound, HUD, Stop+Go, Vis Pack, New Pro Nav.
Deyvy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-05-2013, 06:06 PM   #17
mlepyro
M Performance
 
mlepyro's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 + F31 330d
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 535
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Where have you been told that? I did wonder if it used the nav but have had a few things happen that ruled that out... however maybe its just coincidence.

Cheers

Mat
mlepyro is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2013, 12:20 PM   #18
Redbaron1973
Private
 
Redbaron1973's Avatar
 
Drives: F01 730D SE
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK

Posts: 80
iTrader: (0)

I have speed limit display with neither twinkly fairy lights pack or lane departure. Though assume the camera comes with all three.

SLD still works without nav (as i found when my nav failed) but you will get "gaps" where it hasnt seen a sign - it normally falls back to map data.
__________________
________________________________________________
730D SE Champagne Silver with Oyster/Black
Redbaron1973 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2013, 01:10 PM   #19
NISFAN
Brigadier General
 
NISFAN's Avatar
 
Drives: The best kind of F30 :)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bedford UK

Posts: 4,022
iTrader: (0)

As it picks up the UK's -National limit sign and display the correct speed (i.e. 60/70 on single/dual carriageways) I guess it must cross reference Nav data.
__________________
NISFAN is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2013, 01:15 PM   #20
mlepyro
M Performance
 
mlepyro's Avatar
 
Drives: F10 M5 + F31 330d
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 535
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Looked at BMW site earljer and yeah it appears it does use sat nav data.

I did think about the dual carriageway switch but thought the camera would be able to deduce that more accurately.

Mat
mlepyro is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2013, 03:13 PM   #21
Deyvy
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: F30 330D Finally. Love it!
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester

Posts: 302
iTrader: (0)

The sales guy told me when he suggested I specc it.
__________________
330D M Sport Estoril Blue 19" + M Sport Brakes, Adaptive Suspension, HK Sound, HUD, Stop+Go, Vis Pack, New Pro Nav.
Deyvy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-06-2013, 11:11 PM   #22
RobUK
Major
 
RobUK's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328i Lux' 8SAT, Red
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sussex, UK

Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Got Speed Limit Display on my MY12 F30 and it's pretty accurate. I do get some 'false alarms' with the No Overtaking sign popping up in a couple of locations, but put that down to bad satnav data.
__________________

2012 F30 328i Lux', 8SAT, Melbourne Red
RobUK is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST