F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Help - Cruise Control no longer working
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2016, 05:03 PM   #1
Darkman10
New Member
Darkman10's Avatar
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Help - Cruise Control no longer working

Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to coding, as I've only had my car for a few months, at first I learned how to VO code, and then I started learning about flashing ECU's, and I decided to try it out the other day, just to upgrade the firmware, honestly I don't know what I was trying to accomplish. I flashed the BKOMBI and HU_ENTRY ECU's using the full 58.3 psdzdata I had downloaded earlier this week. Now, as far as I have noticed in the past few days, the only thing that doesn't work is my cruise control. Whenever I try to activate cruise control using the buttons on the steering wheel, it just hovers right over the 20MPH mark on the speedometer and when I try to set my cruise control, I get the "Cruise control cannot be activated" message, and I've even gotten a "cruise control malfunction" error to pop up a few times. I've gone back and tried flashing the ECU again, because I think its the BKOMBI ECU that's giving me this problem, but that, and a few other ECUs no longer show up in the TAL-Processing menu on ESYS.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, hopefully I can get my cruise control working again before I get pulled over for speeding. Thanks guys
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 05:35 PM   #2
mightycrown
Private First Class
3
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: f31 320d black sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkman10 View Post
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to coding, as I've only had my car for a few months, at first I learned how to VO code, and then I started learning about flashing ECU's, and I decided to try it out the other day, just to upgrade the firmware, honestly I don't know what I was trying to accomplish. I flashed the BKOMBI and HU_ENTRY ECU's using the full 58.3 psdzdata I had downloaded earlier this week. Now, as far as I have noticed in the past few days, the only thing that doesn't work is my cruise control. Whenever I try to activate cruise control using the buttons on the steering wheel, it just hovers right over the 20MPH mark on the speedometer and when I try to set my cruise control, I get the "Cruise control cannot be activated" message, and I've even gotten a "cruise control malfunction" error to pop up a few times. I've gone back and tried flashing the ECU again, because I think its the BKOMBI ECU that's giving me this problem, but that, and a few other ECUs no longer show up in the TAL-Processing menu on ESYS.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, hopefully I can get my cruise control working again before I get pulled over for speeding. Thanks guys
Good to know that i am not the only person messed it up
I think this has to do with firmware incompatibility. When I read error code with ISTA.,I got a flexray checksum error. Probably FEM module needs to be upgraded. I will try to upgrade those and let you know. Do you have any retrofitted stuff?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 05:37 PM   #3
Darkman10
New Member
Darkman10's Avatar
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

No, my car is completely stock, I only got into coding to enable Bluetooth audio, since it wasn't enabled from factory.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 05:39 PM   #4
mightycrown
Private First Class
3
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: f31 320d black sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Do you have access to ISTA? See if you get that error
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 05:42 PM   #5
Darkman10
New Member
Darkman10's Avatar
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

I'll check it out when I get home from work tonight. Where could I find a download for it?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 06:19 PM   #6
mightycrown
Private First Class
3
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: f31 320d black sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

You will find it over cartechnology.com
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 05:34 PM   #7
mightycrown
Private First Class
3
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: f31 320d black sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Just want to report back. You will have to flash fem rem femgw cus they are dependent with each other. I d recommend you to get ISTA, you need it to initialize some module and clear faulty code
Appreciate 1
      06-01-2016, 12:02 PM   #8
Darkman10
New Member
Darkman10's Avatar
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Awesome, I finally have my cruise control back, I'm having trouble installing ISTA though, but I'll do some more research about it to figure it out. Thanks mightycrown!
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 01:09 PM   #9
ttxuky
New Member
ttxuky's Avatar
Spain
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: bmw f30 316d
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Espaņa

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkman10 View Post
Awesome, I finally have my cruise control back, I'm having trouble installing ISTA though, but I'll do some more research about it to figure it out. Thanks mightycrown!
How do you get it working again cruise control? I retrofitted 6wa and is giving me the same problem!
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2016, 01:19 PM   #10
Darkman10
New Member
Darkman10's Avatar
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2014 F30
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

All I did was flash the fem body, rem, and femgw, and my cruise control started working again, for some reason my rear windows don't roll up automatically, but I haven't really had the time to figure out how to fix it.
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2016, 03:00 PM   #11
mightycrown
Private First Class
3
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: f31 320d black sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Norway

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkman10 View Post
All I did was flash the fem body, rem, and femgw, and my cruise control started working again, for some reason my rear windows don't roll up automatically, but I haven't really had the time to figure out how to fix it.
You gotta initialize fem. you can find the procedure in Ista
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.




f30post
f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST