F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Hard Drive
TAG Motorsports
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-10-2013, 06:21 PM   #1
martyp
Canada Eh!
 
Drives: 2012 F30
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Moncton, NB, Canada

Posts: 222
iTrader: (1)

Hard Drive

I was copying music on my hard drive in my garage with the engine not running and I could hear the hard drive, just like in my computer. It's funny they didn't use a flash based drive instead of a traditional hard drive ...
martyp is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2013, 06:33 PM   #2
claykin
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2014 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida

Posts: 1,801
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by martyp View Post
I was copying music on my hard drive in my garage with the engine not running and I could hear the hard drive, just like in my computer. It's funny they didn't use a flash based drive instead of a traditional hard drive ...
Yup. Cost. I expected NBT to use Flash/SSD, but nope, another rotational disk. Maybe next gen...
__________________
2014 335i MSport AW
claykin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2013, 07:27 PM   #3
DarkTrigger
Professional
 
DarkTrigger's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

Posts: 973
iTrader: (0)

The hard drive is useless. If you copy music to it, it sounds TERRIBLE. I just plug in one of those super short thumb drives with 64 Gb, which is plenty of storage space.
DarkTrigger is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2013, 10:44 PM   #4
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,629
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
I have not had any issues with sound quality.

I think it just copies the music as-is, it's not being transcoding or anything.

Are you importing fairly high bit-rate music?
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2013, 11:53 PM   #5
BMWrules7
Major
 
Drives: 2011 750Li, Alpine White
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston Area

Posts: 1,018
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogman
I have not had any issues with sound quality.

I think it just copies the music as-is, it's not being transcoding or anything.

Are you importing fairly high bit-rate music?
I think it takes CDROM and converts to mp3. You don't need to have a golden ear to hear it.
BMWrules7 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-10-2013, 11:55 PM   #6
DarkTrigger
Professional
 
DarkTrigger's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i MPPK
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: LB, SoCal

Posts: 973
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWrules7 View Post
I think it takes CDROM and converts to mp3. You don't need to have a golden ear to hear it.
I think it's a really low bitrate mp3. Because the ones I purchase online sound better than the cd converted mp3 that the car does...
DarkTrigger is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2013, 12:31 AM   #7
Dan_335i
Captain
 
Drives: 2014 335i EBII MSport
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: toronto

Posts: 840
iTrader: (0)

lol if hdd breaks
inb4 they use seagate
Dan_335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-11-2013, 01:52 AM   #8
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,629
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
I think they are Toshiba automotive-grade HDD's. They are made especially for the rigors of being in a car.

http://storage.toshiba.com/techdocs/...iveRelease.pdf
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2013, 01:09 PM   #9
ejholt
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Viper
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South China, ME

Posts: 244
iTrader: (0)

Anyway to find out what size drive is in your car?
ejholt is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2013, 01:44 PM   #10
ft1338
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: None
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: None

Posts: 226
iTrader: (0)

Maybe you can replace it with an SSD but they may have software checks to stop that.
ft1338 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2013, 02:31 AM   #11
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,629
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejholt View Post
Anyway to find out what size drive is in your car?
CIC (old) based systems have an 80GB drive.

The NBT (newer) based systems have a 200GB drive.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2013, 05:45 AM   #12
KT_F31_EBII
First Time Bimmer
 
KT_F31_EBII's Avatar
 
Drives: F31 328i M Sport EB II
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia

Posts: 522
iTrader: (0)

in Australia only comes with 20GB! not many people will use them unless they can have revolutionary ideas for future iOS/Android OS? then i may get the Real Racing 3 and use my real steering wheel and pedal to control the game! That would be awesome.
KT_F31_EBII is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2013, 11:00 AM   #13
jjrandorin
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2013 335i
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by KT_F31_EBII View Post
in Australia only comes with 20GB! not many people will use them unless they can have revolutionary ideas for future iOS/Android OS? then i may get the Real Racing 3 and use my real steering wheel and pedal to control the game! That would be awesome.
Pretty sure the 80gb drive only has roughly 20gb available, because of maps, idrive softwae etc...
jjrandorin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-19-2013, 11:29 AM   #14
Frogman
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Frogman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 F30 328i
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Southern California

Posts: 1,629
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2012 F30 328i  [4.63]
The CIC based nav system has an 80GB drive of which 12GB is available to you to load music on.

I think the new nav has a 200GB disk and 20GB free for music, but I'm not sure as I have the older CIC based system.
Frogman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 AM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST