F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Fuse box diagram
Extreme Powerhouse
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-19-2013, 02:29 AM   #1
Alex_jrs
Registered
4
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 435i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston tx

iTrader: (0)

Fuse box diagram

Hi I was wondering if any one had a fuse box diagram specifying which fuse is for what ...I know there is one in the trunk but all it is a small paper with pictures of things that I can't make out
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #2
regular_joe
Private First Class
regular_joe's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2014 320XI Modern Line
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario/toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex_jrs
Hi I was wondering if any one had a fuse box diagram specifying which fuse is for what ...I know there is one in the trunk but all it is a small paper with pictures of things that I can't make out
It would help stating which year, model, etc... I could give you a pdf of a Honda and it would have answered your question.
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 02:00 PM   #3
Alex_jrs
Registered
4
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2014 BMW 435i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Houston tx

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by regular_joe View Post
It would help stating which year, model, etc... I could give you a pdf of a Honda and it would have answered your question.
Sorry I posted this late last night guess I was more tired then I thought I'm looking for a 2014 BMW 435i coupe specifically the fuse for the instrument cluster
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 07:05 PM   #4
regular_joe
Private First Class
regular_joe's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
168
Posts

Drives: 2014 320XI Modern Line
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario/toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex_jrs View Post
Sorry I posted this late last night guess I was more tired then I thought I'm looking for a 2014 BMW 435i coupe specifically the fuse for the instrument cluster
i was unable to find one for you. looks like people just scan the one in the trunk then blow it up on the computer. no one has done it yet for the MY14 435i yet
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2013, 07:36 PM   #5
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Here you go... I used this to figure out how to switch the power for the main cigarette lighter. The front fuses are all two digits (<=70), as well as the rear quarter panel (>70) .. not all fuses are in the car.. depends on the model and options.
Attached Images
  
__________________

Last edited by Lost Horizon; 12-19-2013 at 07:52 PM.. Reason: clarification
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 07:17 PM   #6
Faszination
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: SaphirSchwarz 435i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lovely West LA

iTrader: (0)

Lost Horizon,
Can you tell me which fuse number is the cigarette lighter? I think mine has stopped working and I want to check the fuse.
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 08:57 PM   #7
Math
First Lieutenant
Math's Avatar
Belgium
7
Rep
328
Posts

Drives: BMW F21 116D
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: B

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
@Faszination cigarette lighter would be fuses 66, 69 and 162.
Guessing 162 is for the plug in the boot, so look at the other 2 under the bonnet for your cabin cigarette plug!
__________________

2012 - BMW F21 116D ED

Please check my amazing car rental website at http://www.bscc.eu!
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 09:08 PM   #8
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Math View Post
@Faszination cigarette lighter would be fuses 66, 69 and 162.
Guessing 162 is for the plug in the boot, so look at the other 2 under the bonnet for your cabin cigarette plug!
^ yuppers... wot he said...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2013, 10:01 PM   #9
Faszination
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: SaphirSchwarz 435i
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lovely West LA

iTrader: (0)

Thank you!!
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2014, 02:38 AM   #10
bimmer35
Captain
bimmer35's Avatar
United_States
73
Rep
606
Posts

Drives: E86 Z4M, F86 X6M
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: MA

iTrader: (7)

Does anyone know which one is an always on fuse? even when the car is shut off? Looking to install a dash cam with parking mode.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2014, 11:28 AM   #11
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

The lighter fuses are typically always on..
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 12:45 PM   #12
eyedoc
Enlisted Member
eyedoc's Avatar
Sweden
3
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 530d '14 F07
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I have found this little fuse diagram in my car (2013 F34 335) but obviously I am en idiot and can not find out which of all those small icons represents brake lights
Can anyone help me please with finding number of that fuse?
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 03:27 PM   #13
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Not sure what the diagram matrix is for the F30, but if you want to find out, pull the fuses that have the light icon that are in the trunk fusebox one at a time and see which one kills the brake lights.

Based on the F32 setup as an example in this thread, candidates would be 100, 161. Logically, 40 and 57 should be for the front lights, but...

Not sure what 153 represents, but it's only 5A. Not enough for filament brake amps.

So that's how I'd iterate my way to finding out.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 03:44 PM   #14
Mike_L
Banned
United_States
258
Rep
1,971
Posts

Drives: 2015 335xi GT M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New York City

iTrader: (2)

I hate these stupid charts and I've been saying it for years. Is it really that difficult for BMW to write out descriptions in the owners manual?
Appreciate 1
pdegene313.00

      12-01-2014, 04:57 PM   #15
exclusivo
Lieutenant Colonel
exclusivo's Avatar
99
Rep
1,873
Posts

Drives: race car
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: queens, ny

iTrader: (11)

I have my dashcam going to fuse 162 in the trunk. Since we're on the topic, How can I incorporate a fuse tap to make the install cleaner? Never used on before, right now i just stuck the wire into the slot and pushed the fuse in. If I use a fuse tap, would I need to put 2 fuses in the tap? one with the original fuse, and another for the cam?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 05:04 PM   #16
Mike_L
Banned
United_States
258
Rep
1,971
Posts

Drives: 2015 335xi GT M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New York City

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by exclusivo View Post
I have my dashcam going to fuse 162 in the trunk. Since we're on the topic, How can I incorporate a fuse tap to make the install cleaner? Never used on before, right now i just stuck the wire into the slot and pushed the fuse in. If I use a fuse tap, would I need to put 2 fuses in the tap? one with the original fuse, and another for the cam?
Thats the way the taps I have work. Two fuses, one for the original circuit, one for the offshoot.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 05:19 PM   #17
eyedoc
Enlisted Member
eyedoc's Avatar
Sweden
3
Rep
36
Posts

Drives: 530d '14 F07
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Horizon View Post
Not sure what the diagram matrix is for the F30, but if you want to find out, pull the fuses that have the light icon that are in the trunk fusebox one at a time and see which one kills the brake lights.

Based on the F32 setup as an example in this thread, candidates would be 100, 161. Logically, 40 and 57 should be for the front lights, but...

Not sure what 153 represents, but it's only 5A. Not enough for filament brake amps.

So that's how I'd iterate my way to finding out.
Thank You very much!! That's great idea! I'll try that way!
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 07:16 PM   #18
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L View Post
I hate these stupid charts and I've been saying it for years. Is it really that difficult for BMW to write out descriptions in the owners manual?
In how many languages tho ...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 07:20 PM   #19
Mike_L
Banned
United_States
258
Rep
1,971
Posts

Drives: 2015 335xi GT M-Sport MPPK
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New York City

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lost Horizon View Post
In how many languages tho ...
Does it matter? They do it with the owners manuals.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2014, 07:35 PM   #20
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L View Post
Does it matter? They do it with the owners manuals.
I was thinking of the placards in the car as they are inserted on the assembly line as a coordination problem.. but maybe they could at least do a cross reference online to explain the symbols .. I'm sure they must exist in the tech manuals tho.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2014, 10:27 AM   #21
exclusivo
Lieutenant Colonel
exclusivo's Avatar
99
Rep
1,873
Posts

Drives: race car
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: queens, ny

iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_L View Post
Thats the way the taps I have work. Two fuses, one for the original circuit, one for the offshoot.
How would I know what type of fuse to use for the offshoot? I guess the same as the original circuit, right?

TIA
__________________
Appreciate 0
      12-03-2014, 11:37 AM   #22
Lost Horizon
Captain
Lost Horizon's Avatar
Canada
24
Rep
633
Posts

Drives: 435 MPPK+1970 XKE OTS
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Victoria BC

iTrader: (0)

Look at what your dashcam draws for amps. (Prly not much ~ 0.2A +/-.). The smallest fuse you may be able to get will likely be more that 1A, so use that size. You don't want the fuse to be too big, else if the wire to the dashcam shorts out, it may overheat the wire without blowing, depending on the gauge of the wire you use.

The main branch, of course, stays the same size. Make sure the wire gauge to that circuit is big enough to handle the main fuse size.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST