F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > DIY 6.5 to 8.8 L7 display retrofit swap for 2014+ f2x f3x
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-10-2016, 07:36 AM   #23
Jdmdc5teg06
Private First Class
15
Rep
139
Posts

Drives: '15 328i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: FL

iTrader: (0)

You have to have factory nav for this to work correct? If you have HU_Entry it won't work?
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2016, 04:09 PM   #24
catharsis
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

code 609 instead of 606 - result

Anderw have you tried VO coding 609 to your car?

would be very interested to know the results
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2016, 07:14 AM   #25
TePee
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

@Jmdmc5teg06:
With HU Entry the 8,8" screen doesn't work. You need either new Radio Professional from 7/2014 on or Nav Business from 3/2014 on, both HU Entrynav.

@catharsis:
609 is Nav Professional which uses a completely different HU (NBT or NBT Evo). You can't just VO code it if you have HU Entrynav. I have tried to VO code 606 (Business Nav) and even this doesn't work.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2016, 07:30 AM   #26
1N54E92
Lieutenant Colonel
1N54E92's Avatar
United_States
52
Rep
1,999
Posts

Drives: BSM F30 M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mid-Atlantic, USA

iTrader: (4)

TePee, nice write up. appreciate it. Too bad mine is a 2013.
__________________
"Join the BMWCCA today! referral member # is 423910"

F30 328i M-Sport (current), F30 328i Luxury (retired), E92 335i Sports ( retired), E30 325 ( retired)
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2016, 11:12 AM   #27
catharsis
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
@catharsis:
609 is Nav Professional which uses a completely different HU (NBT or NBT Evo). You can't just VO code it if you have HU Entrynav. I have tried to VO code 606 (Business Nav) and even this doesn't work.
Well apparently at least in some markets 'nav professional' 609 is NOT NBT EVO but entrynav with extra bits.... I think this is true in the UK and some other places - and I had heard that vo coding an entrynav with 8.8 screen to 609 was successful in unlocking 609 features on another 'festive' site, so was looking to check.

have you first-hand knowledge of what you posted above?

just for the record my car is one of many with 606 business nav running on entrynav so I'm not 100% sure what you mean by "I have tried to code 606 and even this doesn't work"

What I'm really interested in trying to figure out (as it would be a great coding 'coup' if possible) is whether after adding an 8.8 screen and VO coding to 609 to 'unlock' 609 features, whether it would then be possible to change

HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display
and the resolution value

and thus change BACK to an 6.5. screen while retaining the 609 features :-)

even just doing a comparison of all of the before and after .ncd files might provide some interesting insights into how to unlock 'professional' features on the entrynav box.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2016, 01:24 PM   #28
TePee
Second Lieutenant
35
Rep
251
Posts

Drives: F34 LCI MY2019
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Home of BMW

iTrader: (0)

I don't know all markets but in F30 series I'm not aware of Entrynav based Nav Prof /609. Maybe in other series like F45 or so, but then it won't be the same I guess. But you just have to check online parts catalog to make sure. Instead of read or hear something

I have new Radio Prof which uses also Entrynav HU but without nav. Coding to 8,8" CID was no problem. But when I was trying to VO code 606 nav, it didn't work and the HU even lost its CAFD file.
So if you want to VO code 609 at Entrynav I can't imagine how it is supposed to work.

But if you are sceptical, just try it. Then you will see and have your first hand knowledge
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2016, 05:47 AM   #29
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
395
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

hello sorry to ask but i have just bought a 64 plate 435d. it has Business Nav but i want to upgrade to the 8.8 screen. how do i find out if my car has the HU_Champ2 or HU_entrynav
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2016, 09:36 AM   #30
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
395
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

teaston

this is another post aswell
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 12:58 AM   #31
jkishoret
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f30 2015 BMW 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys ... Can some one help me here .. i am also trying to upgrade my 6.5 inch screen to 8.8 in 2015 f30 328xi base model without business or professional navigation... got the 8.8 inch screen with part number 65509292248 and did the below 2 coding changes .. but its not working

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480

HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Is there any other coding changes i should do ? Or am I missing any hardware parts ?

Regards,
Kishore.
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 08:00 AM   #32
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkishoret View Post
Hi Guys ... Can some one help me here .. i am also trying to upgrade my 6.5 inch screen to 8.8 in 2015 f30 328xi base model without business or professional navigation... got the 8.8 inch screen with part number 65509292248 and did the below 2 coding changes .. but its not working

HU_NBT > 3000 HMI > DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION = 8.8_1280x480

HU_NBT > 3001 EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE = breites_display

Is there any other coding changes i should do ? Or am I missing any hardware parts ?

Regards,
Kishore.
You probably got the older non-LCI screen. If you have LCI (which I assume you have, given your car is 2015), the screen you need is 65509387453:

Here's the link for the older screen (see the "Superseded by" note)

Last edited by MarkoSK; 08-20-2016 at 08:13 AM.. Reason: Fixed typo and link
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 10:16 AM   #33
jkishoret
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f30 2015 BMW 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks marko and everyone contributed to this thread ... I could successfully upgrade to 8.8 .... One thing I was missing earlier was that the display from my head unit was going through Bimmertech mmi HD unit to 8.8 and there is one toggle switch I should put to off for 8.8 to work.

Only problem I see now is the display brightness... Its dim and have blue tint ... My 6.5 display was so sharp bright and crisp ... Any reasons for this?
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 05:53 PM   #34
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
395
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

hello i want to give this upgrade a try but i have a few questions.

what is LCI and how do i know if i have LCI or not? my car is a 64 plate 435d

65509292248 is the part number on here. i have checked Ebay and here is a link to one. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1621638321...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
when checking the pictures i can see the 9292248 as the part number but where is the 6550 part in front of it?
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2016, 05:55 PM   #35
Smee
Colonel
Smee's Avatar
395
Rep
2,024
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F83
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Norfolk

iTrader: (0)

i see this part number alot

Part No. BM 9292248 02 9 is that the same as 65509292248
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2016, 08:24 PM   #36
Postie6e
New Member
Panama
9
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2018 X5/MPPK MPE Msport 35i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Panama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkishoret View Post
Thanks marko and everyone contributed to this thread ... I could successfully upgrade to 8.8 .... One thing I was missing earlier was that the display from my head unit was going through Bimmertech mmi HD unit to 8.8 and there is one toggle switch I should put to off for 8.8 to work.

Only problem I see now is the display brightness... Its dim and have blue tint ... My 6.5 display was so sharp bright and crisp ... Any reasons for this?
I do have the same problem after swapping to the 8.8. The screen seems to be dimmer and has a blueish tint compared to the 6.5. I have full brightness on the display menu and on the left control panel. Seems it lacking brightness at day, but at night is ok. I just got used to it...
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2016, 09:29 PM   #37
jkishoret
Enlisted Member
4
Rep
43
Posts

Drives: f30 2015 BMW 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2016
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postie6e View Post
I do have the same problem after swapping to the 8.8. The screen seems to be dimmer and has a blueish tint compared to the 6.5. I have full brightness on the display menu and on the left control panel. Seems it lacking brightness at day, but at night is ok. I just got used to it...
The main reason for me to upgrade to 8.8 is to enjoy the Apple TV ... i have bimmer-tech smartview HD ... but after looking at the display brightness little disappointed.

One more hint to you ... whats the resolution you have set ? are u using 8.8_1280 by xxx as said in this forum ? reason i am asking is .. after watching few videos i felt very disappointed with this resolution ... so as a try i used 10.25_1600x600 resolution and it feels way better.

trying to see if there is any temperature related FDL ... so brightness can be increased ... let me know if you come across any.
Appreciate 0
      09-19-2016, 05:16 PM   #38
catharsis
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: e60
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TePee View Post
I don't know all markets but in F30 series I'm not aware of Entrynav based Nav Prof /609. Maybe in other series like F45 or so, but then it won't be the same I guess. But you just have to check online parts catalog to make sure. Instead of read or hear something

I have new Radio Prof which uses also Entrynav HU but without nav. Coding to 8,8" CID was no problem. But when I was trying to VO code 606 nav, it didn't work and the HU even lost its CAFD file.
So if you want to VO code 609 at Entrynav I can't imagine how it is supposed to work.

But if you are sceptical, just try it. Then you will see and have your first hand knowledge
So, based upon first hand knowledge...

Coding 609 instead of 606 appears to have worked for me in terms of resetting the screen resolution to drive the 8.8 screen (model 9292248, so pre-LCI screens WILL work in LCI cars).

However not all of the features so 'unlocked' appear to work.

Specifically nothing which involves 'local storage' such as 'music collection' or 'voice memo' seems to work correctly.

I'm not sure which other features are supposed to be '609-only' but I'm happy to check out anything anyone specifically wants investigated.
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2016, 05:30 PM   #39
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by Postie6e View Post
I do have the same problem after swapping to the 8.8. The screen seems to be dimmer and has a blueish tint compared to the 6.5. I have full brightness on the display menu and on the left control panel. Seems it lacking brightness at day, but at night is ok. I just got used to it...
I may have figured out the problem with the blue tint. I have an F34 without nav and I've tried both the pre-LCI and LCI screen:

Pre-LCI screen (part no. 9292248):

Name:  DSC_0718.JPG
Views: 8177
Size:  204.5 KB

LCI screen (part no. 9387453):

Name:  DSC_0719.JPG
Views: 7665
Size:  188.8 KB

As you can see:
- both screens work ,
- the pre-LCI screen has a blue tint whereas the LCI one doesn't

EDIT: As a side note - my F34 with a 6.5" screen had the DISPLAY_SIZE_RESOLUTION value set to "10.25_1280x480" by default... and the 6.5" screen worked okay . The 8.8" screen also works okay without having to change this setting, so all you really need to change is EXBOX > DISPLAY_VARIANTE -> "breites_display"

Last edited by MarkoSK; 09-23-2016 at 06:21 PM.. Reason: Added more text
Appreciate 1
      09-20-2016, 07:38 PM   #40
FeelinBlessed
Lieutenant
FeelinBlessed's Avatar
221
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i AW MPPSK/Track
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW  [0.00]
dang can't find any good ones on ebay...
Appreciate 0
      09-20-2016, 08:26 PM   #41
Anderw
Brigadier General
Anderw's Avatar
United_States
516
Rep
3,108
Posts

Drives: F80 m3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: FL

iTrader: (12)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeelinBlessed
dang can't find any good ones on ebay...
Gotta try and search a few different ways part number , 2 series nav screen , partial part number etc... also eBay.uk and ebay.de may be a good place to look. Other members have gotten sellers of full nav kits to separate the screen from the head unit and controller and get it cheap that way also!

Don't give up there are plenty out there !
Appreciate 1
      09-20-2016, 11:47 PM   #42
FeelinBlessed
Lieutenant
FeelinBlessed's Avatar
221
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i AW MPPSK/Track
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW  [0.00]
Is this the right lci screen model?
Attached Images
 
__________________
///MPPSK///MP FRONT SPLITTER///MP KIDNEY GRILLS///CF MIRRORS///CF SPOILER///CF TIPS///HUPER OPTIK 20%///NBT///AC SCHNITZER///M4 437M///ZMP///ZTR///iND///
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2016, 06:40 AM   #43
MarkoSK
Lieutenant
79
Rep
478
Posts

Drives: BMW 3 GT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeelinBlessed View Post
Is this the right lci screen model?
That's the LCI model (part no. 9387453). It worked in my car. What model and build date do you have?

Last edited by MarkoSK; 09-21-2016 at 07:47 AM.. Reason: Fixed typo
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2016, 10:01 AM   #44
FeelinBlessed
Lieutenant
FeelinBlessed's Avatar
221
Rep
419
Posts

Drives: 2017 340i AW MPPSK/Track
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkoSK
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeelinBlessed View Post
Is this the right lci screen model?
That's the LCI model (part no. 9387453). It worked in my car. What model and build date do you have?
I have the 17' 340i with the 6.5" screen
__________________
///MPPSK///MP FRONT SPLITTER///MP KIDNEY GRILLS///CF MIRRORS///CF SPOILER///CF TIPS///HUPER OPTIK 20%///NBT///AC SCHNITZER///M4 437M///ZMP///ZTR///iND///
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST