F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > F30 DIYs and Coding Discussions > Updating idrive history with HU-ServiceManager
European Auto Source
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-13-2018, 02:20 PM   #1
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Updating idrive history with HU-ServiceManager

Has anyone done this ?

I've downloaded this from bmwtools.info and it seems to run up OK - it's a Java program

All instructions on the website are in Russian although Google Translate does a reasonable job

I've got EDIABAS 7.30 installed

Ideally before I try and connect to the car I'd like to know if anyone has step by step instructions in English or any other information I should be aware of

I know the service information will be wiped whenever the car goes into BMW but want to record intermediate oil changes I've done myself

I have a cable that works fine with esys

The car is a 2012 328i with CIC

Any advice welcomed
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 06:08 AM   #2
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Hi,

i just done it yesterday! It works great and it is simple to use.

1. Click on "Connect to HU" button. On bottom left it shoud say "Job Status OK".



2. Select date. You should change ";" with "/" and use european date format like DD/MM/YYYY. Then put in your milage.
Select dealer number. I entered 00000, becasue service has been done by independent dealer and still selected "BMW Dealer" because he works with BMW exclusivly.

3. Then select number of tasks that were performed. This will unlock service task selection.

4. After that, just click to "Write to HU" button and check that the "Job Status OK" is present.



5. Now check on your iDrive. Service listing should be on the bottom. If you want "proper" listing, you should delete all entries and write them one by one backwards.

I hope it helps!

Cheers,

BimmerSI
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 07:30 AM   #3
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Thanks. So i should enter most recent service first then work back ?

I'll give it a go
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 07:58 AM   #4
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

That is correct.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 08:21 AM   #5
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Should i enter mileage in miles or km. I know esys always deals in km
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 09:20 AM   #6
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Hmmm, i dont know. I put km since in europe km are used. I would say it shows just the number so put whatever you have.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 11:30 AM   #7
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Unfortunately I couldn't get it to connect, just get

28: IFH-0018 INITIALIZATION ERROR

I'm thinking I have a problem with my C:\EDIABAS\BIN\EDIABAS.INI file, I suspect my connection type is wrong

Would you be able to share your settings please ?

The same laptop and cable connects to esys fine so the hardware side of things should be OK
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 11:56 AM   #8
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Think I might have worked this out

Changed "Interface=STD:OBD" to "Interface=ENET" in ediabas.ini

Has connected OK and seems to work

However idrive display of service history has not changed

Does the car need to go to sleep and restart before I see the new service information ?

I'll check later on
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 12:33 PM   #9
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Check that you have all "prg" files in EDIABAS\ecu folder. There is list of it on original forum.

I copied HU-Service-Manager folder to EC-Apps folder but I guess that doesn't matter.

The change on idrive shoud be instant, no need to reboot. Mine showed up with ignition on and car running.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 12:52 PM   #10
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Just been out to have a look, car definitely hasn't taken the new service despite all messages appearing to be OK without error.

I have the ECU files for my car (CIC) so I don't think that's it

Will try again
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 01:09 PM   #11
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Tried again, this time I clicked on restart HU and after reboot the service was there

However it seems you need to input mileage in kms as I entered 40223 and the mileage is displayed as 24993

I'm assuming to get everything correct I need to click on 'Delete All Services in HU', click restart, Enter the services from the most recent back to the oldest using mileage in km, then click 'Write service to HU', once all services entered restart once again

Does that sound OK ? Perhaps CIC behaves differently to yours (I assume you have NBT)

Last edited by Sasquartch; 01-14-2018 at 01:14 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 01:40 PM   #12
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Ok, have tried once again and it works !

So the two points are that CIC needs to be restarted for services to take effect, and secondly mileage must be entered as km even for a UK car

Thanks BimmerSI you gave me the confidence to give it a go and now I have the non-BMW services recorded on my idrive
Appreciate 0
      01-14-2018, 01:47 PM   #13
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

Wow! Great news that you figured it out! Thank you for testing and explaining milage input. Good to know, so you don't have to redo it. It looks like HU reads in km and than converts to mls internaly.

I am novice at coding as well and I and nervous every time I connect to my car.

Once I did some basic codings to Connected Drive and I got CAS not responding measning no locking, ignition, windows up could be done... I managed to delete all faulty codes with ista+ and managed to start up the car with spare key. I am still trying to find out what caused that mess.
Appreciate 0
      01-17-2018, 05:27 PM   #14
a803sgo
Captain
161
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M-SPORT (F30)
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Worked a treat, only thing it won't do is that if you have service like this...



You'll either have to make them all late or on time, it won't let you have some yellow and some green on the same service even though there's an option to do it like this.

Appreciate 1
      01-18-2018, 05:28 AM   #15
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Tried on a friends 2016 car with NBT Evo and can confirm that changes appear in the iDrive immediately, with CIC you must restart HU before they appear
Appreciate 1
      01-18-2018, 04:08 PM   #16
a803sgo
Captain
161
Rep
608
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D M-SPORT (F30)
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kent, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
with CIC you must restart HU before they appear
Didn't have to on mine.
Appreciate 0
      02-13-2018, 08:49 AM   #17
joq3
Second Lieutenant
Sweden
51
Rep
261
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i F30 M/T -13
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerSI View Post
Hi,

i just done it yesterday! It works great and it is simple to use.

1. Click on "Connect to HU" button. On bottom left it shoud say "Job Status OK".



2. Select date. You should change ";" with "/" and use european date format like DD/MM/YYYY. Then put in your milage.
Select dealer number. I entered 00000, becasue service has been done by independent dealer and still selected "BMW Dealer" because he works with BMW exclusivly.

3. Then select number of tasks that were performed. This will unlock service task selection.

4. After that, just click to "Write to HU" button and check that the "Job Status OK" is present.



5. Now check on your iDrive. Service listing should be on the bottom. If you want "proper" listing, you should delete all entries and write them one by one backwards.

I hope it helps!

Cheers,

BimmerSI
Wow, this is fantastic news. I want to make sure I understand it correctly. But this means I can service my car myself and write to the cars service history?
I am not sure what you mean at 5. " If you want "proper" listing, you should delete all entries and write them one by one backwards.".
Does this mean I should remove my old listings and add everything back again? If I just add a service to my car, will it not be at the top, in the correct order?

Will this work fine on a 2013 328i with HU_ENTRY?

Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2018, 04:41 AM   #18
BimmerSI
Enlisted Member
15
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: F31 320d, F10 520d
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Slovenia

iTrader: (0)

You are right about the order. All service entries entered via HU Service Manager will be listed at the bottom, meaning it will not be displayed by cronological order. I don't mind that so I left it that way.

Also note that if your BMW dealer will connect car to their network it will delete all records made by HU Service Manager and left only ones that were made by BMW dealer.

I do not know about HU Entry and 2013 year model. On CIC it works but HU must be restarted.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2018, 03:05 PM   #19
CL53
Private
United Kingdom
16
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: 2013 320D
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone got a copy of the software?
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 07:32 AM   #20
Sasquartch
Captain
228
Rep
758
Posts

Drives: 328i Luxury auto
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Herts

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CL53 View Post
Has anyone got a copy of the software?
I have a zipped up copy of the Service Manager and EDIABAS files that I used

It's 80 MB or so

If you can provide a FTP site or Google Drive /Dropbox or something I'm sure I can send the files to you
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 07:54 AM   #21
Joshd63
Private First Class
United Kingdom
31
Rep
156
Posts

Drives: BMW 2015 F32 430d
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Stockton on Tees

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquartch View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CL53 View Post
Has anyone got a copy of the software?
I have a zipped up copy of the Service Manager and EDIABAS files that I used

It's 80 MB or so

If you can provide a FTP site or Google Drive /Dropbox or something I'm sure I can send the files to you
Hi

Is there any chance you could end me the file also if I give you a onedrive link?

Cheers
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2018, 08:30 AM   #22
producerlawson
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
95
Rep
505
Posts

Drives: 435i MS
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (0)

I used this early last year - works a treat if you know how to setup the serial com ports.

I personally found my E-Sys OBD cable didn't work - I had to get a K-DCAN serial to usb cable which enabled me to work. As others have said, it's all about editing the EDIABAS.INI file to match your pc serial port - sharing the file may not necessarily work as not everyone has the same hardware plugged in/ports in use.

Make sure you take a photo of your edits, as at the next service the dealer will wipe all entries and enter what they're given from the BMW server logs.
__________________
Current: F32 435i M Sport - Alpine White - MPE / Res delete & optional muffler straight pipe valve control, CF aero kit - CF M grille - 405 20" - 12&20mm Bimecc spacers
Previous: 2011 Ford Fiesta 1.25

Last edited by producerlawson; 07-17-2018 at 12:40 PM.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST