F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Reverse camera OEM style retrofit for $199 shipped - DIY Details
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-02-2019, 04:49 PM   #111
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Just finished installing the camera! It was actually really easy, and I'm a noob when it comes to wiring and stuff like that. Took me about 2 hours, the hardest part by far was hiding the extra wires and the additional module in the climate control area after everything was up and running.
Nice man. Yeah this thing is pretty awesome. Congrats on the install!
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2019, 06:29 PM   #112
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OC_F32 View Post
Nice man. Yeah this thing is pretty awesome. Congrats on the install!
Thanks man! I noticed in the camera settings the very first option looks like an "R" with a camera icon behind it but it's grayed out and can't be highlighted. Know what that is or its function? I'm assuming it's some type of recording feature?

Last edited by efrancis1409; 10-02-2019 at 06:32 PM.. Reason: Spelling error.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2019, 07:17 PM   #113
Urbz
Enlisted
Urbz's Avatar
United_States
8
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: 2016 F30 340i
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Virginia

iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2016 BMW 340i  [0.00]
Just purchased and installed mine. Thanks for the Free Shipping code!

Anyone know of there's any way to disable the the car icon on the right of the screen? Maybe some sort of dip switch combination? I don't have PDC so don't need it.
__________________
'07 E90 328i / Sparkling Graphite / Black and Aluminum Interior / 6MT / ZSP / Xenon / Logic7 / BMW Performance Exhaust / BMW Performance Short Shift Kit / Modified CDV / Euro Light Switch / Dos DRL Harness / V1 Fuse Box Hardwire / Blacklines / Darmstadt Military Sales
Appreciate 1
      10-02-2019, 08:16 PM   #114
330istocknot
First Lieutenant
118
Rep
361
Posts

Drives: 330chino
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: chino

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbz View Post
Just purchased and installed mine. Thanks for the Free Shipping code!

Anyone know of there's any way to disable the the car icon on the right of the screen? Maybe some sort of dip switch combination? I don't have PDC so don't need it.
I atually think the car looks cool haha, but nope, i feel like that part is straight from BMW, might need some coding for that.
Appreciate 1
Urbz8.00

      10-02-2019, 11:00 PM   #115
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

In case anyone was wondering here's the reverse camera with led reverse lights and led brake lights. Car originally had halogens installed.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/McLT9ZVJazmkgLZc7
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2019, 10:06 AM   #116
penet05
Private
14
Rep
82
Posts

Drives: 2014 X5 Sdrive35i, 2013 328i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

How does it work with the original PDC? Any issues?
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2019, 10:44 AM   #117
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbz View Post
Just purchased and installed mine. Thanks for the Free Shipping code!

Anyone know of there's any way to disable the the car icon on the right of the screen? Maybe some sort of dip switch combination? I don't have PDC so don't need it.
I emailed the seller and he stated that there is no way to remove the car icon to make the camera full screen.

I also searched and found this schematic for the dip switches:

[IMG]undefined[/IMG]
Appreciate 1
Urbz8.00

      10-03-2019, 10:50 AM   #118
jbb2388
Private
23
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2016 F30 340iX
Join Date: May 2019
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
In case anyone was wondering here's the reverse camera with led reverse lights and led brake lights. Car originally had halogens installed.
Where did you....or anybody else... pick up the LED brake and rev lights?
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2019, 10:51 AM   #119
jbb2388
Private
23
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2016 F30 340iX
Join Date: May 2019
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbz View Post
Thanks for the Free Shipping code!

Free shipping code? Did I miss that?
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2019, 11:08 AM   #120
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb2388 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbz View Post
Thanks for the Free Shipping code!

Free shipping code? Did I miss that?
OP shared that if you us code "free-shipping" you'll save $20. I used it, it works.
Appreciate 1
jbb238822.50

      10-03-2019, 11:21 AM   #121
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb2388 View Post
Where did you....or anybody else... pick up the LED brake and rev lights?
These are what I have in my car. Had them for a few months now no issues and are very bright but of course you'll need to code out the voltage check so the lights don't blink every few minutes.

CIIHON 1156 LED Turn Signal Light... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07G9B52NX?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

AUTOGINE 4 X Super Bright 9-30V... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DTBHHZR?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share
Appreciate 1
jbb238822.50

      10-03-2019, 03:30 PM   #122
jbb2388
Private
23
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2016 F30 340iX
Join Date: May 2019
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Thanks guys
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2019, 12:58 AM   #123
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC_F32 View Post
Nice man. Yeah this thing is pretty awesome. Congrats on the install!
Thanks man! I noticed in the camera settings the very first option looks like an "R" with a camera icon behind it but it's grayed out and can't be highlighted. Know what that is or its function? I'm assuming it's some type of recording feature?
My guess is that you can record video if you insert an sd card in the mmi's sd card slot. Not sure if I have an sd card laying around but if I do I may try it this weekend.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2019, 01:07 AM   #124
muniz_ri
Private
United_States
20
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMA 320I
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
My 8.8 screen will be arriving this week, i will update if it works with a 6.5 unit.
See the attached schematic...dip switches 1, 2, and 3 seem to adjust the screen size.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2019, 01:20 AM   #125
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by muniz_ri View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
My 8.8 screen will be arriving this week, i will update if it works with a 6.5 unit.
See the attached schematic...dip switches 1, 2, and 3 seem to adjust the screen size.
You're correct. 1,2,3 switches are used to set screen size. The sticker on my box indicates 1-ON/2-ON for for 8.8" but that setting leaves a slight white line on the right of my iDrive screen on the right side I'd the card image. 1-OFF/2-ON did the trick. No lines, looks good.

For those who choose to update these settings make sure you unplug the white cable before changing the dips. The changes will take affect after the unit is plugged back in.

Good luck.
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2019, 01:11 PM   #126
aps
Lieutenant
aps's Avatar
144
Rep
597
Posts

Drives: '13 F30 335i
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
This is the response they sent me when I sent them my vehicle info:

Hi, please choose iDrive CIC system with 6 pin LVDS plug.
If the existing screen on your car is 6.5 inch, please choose 6.5 inch screen
If the existing screen on your car is 8.8 inch, please choose 8.8 inch screen

Best regards,
CarNaviPlayer Support Team
www.carnaviplayer.com
did they end up getting it right on which plug you needed?

I didn't have time to pull the screen to check so i emailed them my VIN in the meantime and they sent me the same response - pick the 6 pin.
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2019, 02:23 PM   #127
sthor10
Private
sthor10's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: BMW F30 328
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aps View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sthor10 View Post
This is the response they sent me when I sent them my vehicle info:

Hi, please choose iDrive CIC system with 6 pin LVDS plug.
If the existing screen on your car is 6.5 inch, please choose 6.5 inch screen
If the existing screen on your car is 8.8 inch, please choose 8.8 inch screen

Best regards,
CarNaviPlayer Support Team
www.carnaviplayer.com
did they end up getting it right on which plug you needed?

I didn't have time to pull the screen to check so i emailed them my VIN in the meantime and they sent me the same response - pick the 6 pin.
Yes, they gave me the correct info on which unit to order.
Appreciate 1
aps143.50

      10-09-2019, 10:58 PM   #128
efrancis1409
New Member
United_States
6
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: BMW 328I F30
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330istocknot View Post
When you ordered it, did you select that you had an 8.8 inch screen or 6.5 that seems e made for 6.5

I got a 6.5 inch screen and it works great. I haven an 8.8 inch screen on the way here that i will be installing soon, ill let you know if this problem happens, if so, that means you might have ordered the 6.5 inch version not version.

Any update on the 8.8 screen? I actually just picked one up myself and was wondering if the split screen feature could be used somehow, along with this camera.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2019, 12:42 AM   #129
OC_F32
Private First Class
OC_F32's Avatar
92
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2015 428i
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by OC_F32 View Post
You're correct. 1,2,3 switches are used to set screen size. The sticker on my box indicates 1-ON/2-ON for for 8.8" but that setting leaves a slight white line on the right of my iDrive screen on the right side I'd the card image. 1-OFF/2-ON did the trick. No lines, looks good.

For those who choose to update these settings make sure you unplug the white cable before changing the dips. The changes will take affect after the unit is plugged back in.

Good luck.
So of the 8 switches only the first one needs to be switched off and the other switches stay on? I just ordered an 8.8 screen and what to make sure I get the settings right.
1-On, 2-On, 3-Off is what they recommended. 1-OFF, 2-On , 3-Off worked for me.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2019, 08:34 AM   #130
Chriske92
Private
19
Rep
92
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbb2388 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrancis1409 View Post
In case anyone was wondering here's the reverse camera with led reverse lights and led brake lights. Car originally had halogens installed.
Where did you....or anybody else... pick up the LED brake and rev lights?
For the led brake light i purchased these led bulbs from iJDMTOY. I didn't need to code thema at all and no flickering

For LED reverse bulbs i bought natgic, but very weird always the tight one doesnt want to work Tried other bulbs but also that didnt work
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2019, 09:18 PM   #131
Chrisf36
New Member
3
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW f36
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Staten island

iTrader: (0)

I just installed the same kit but I have navi and 8.i screen and the whole screen says no signal whether I'm in drive or not
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2019, 10:07 PM   #132
Palantir
Private
27
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: F30
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: TN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriske92 View Post
For the led brake light i purchased these led bulbs from iJDMTOY. I didn't need to code thema at all and no flickering

For LED reverse bulbs i bought natgic, but very weird always the tight one doesnt want to work Tried other bulbs but also that didnt work
I have these for a year now and they worked great. I got them just when they started selling them and there were no reviews. Took a chance but they turned out great. I have lasfit brand for the reverse lights-coded all checks off and designated all as LEDs. Lasfit turned out to be white but not as concentrated as I had hoped.
In your case, the one bulb that is not working might need the module to be reset. If you had faults too many times the module just turns off power to that circuit.

Last edited by Palantir; 10-12-2019 at 08:04 PM..
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.




f30post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST